We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hotel & Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ermones
Certificate of Excellence
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel & Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We have just got back from a week staying at this hotel.

The hotel is built into the side of the mountain, which meant 223 steps to the pool or restaurant. Having said this, we knew that would be the case so didn't mind the exercise. The lift was broken, but they had cars available to collect and drop you off if needed. The rooms were clean and very nice, and we had a beautiful sea view. Mosquito spray is a must, having felt like I've been 'eaten alive'.

The pool was very nice and quiet, although the wasps drove us crazy, they didn't seem prone to stinging (except on one occasion).

Dinner and breakfast were superb. The choice was brilliant and cooked to a really high standard, with a few themed nights so you didn't get bored. Men do have to wear trousers to dinner which is worth knowing before you go. All the staff are really friendly, and really made you feel welcome.

The location isn't great..... you really need to hire a car if you want to get out if the resort, which is what we did. We got 3 days for the price of 2 so it was worth doing,

We probably wouldn't class this hotel as a 5*, more realistically it is a 4*. Overall we felt we got real value for money and would consider going back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank K12ST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    421
    136
    45
    39
See reviews for
100
1,211
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel and had a lovely week after our cruise. When we first arrived at the hotel my first thought was 'my god it's hilly' but after we were quickly checked in and then taken by buggy to our room this thought went out of the window as our room was superb. It was modern, clean, spacious and had the biggest balcony we have ever had on holiday. Plus the bonus of fantastic views of the mountains and sea, heaven. After the tiny cabin on our cruise this was luxurious.

Yes walking up the hill was hard work, but if you didn't want to do this the hotel were quick to send transport for you.

Food was of very good quality and loads of choice. Staff on the dining room were very pleasant and worked hard to provide an excellent service. Bar food was also great and for a hotel was good value for money, the only downside is that the drinks were pricy, but as we had a fridge in our room we were able to buy some drinks from the local shop and enjoy on our fantastic balcony.

As we had come from a cruise we did not think the entertainment would be as good as the cruise, but was we wrong! We expected a piano player and some background music, but were surprised by the excellent acts at the hotel, especially Mark Stratford and Paula Borrell. Mark and Paula are a UK duo and Mark sings and plays the guitar and Paula plays the saxophone and flute. They did 3 evening sets and each set had a different theme plus a daytime session around the pool which was lovely, there's nothing better than laying in the sun with fantastic, live mellow music playing. They also did the gala night in the dining room on a Thursday night and again great live music whilst eating dinner. There was also some local acts on during the week which we enjoyed, but not as much as Mark and Paula.

The only downside with this hotel, apart from the hills, is that it felt a little remote and not much outside. We normally like to walk around and try other places to eat and drink, but there is very little outside this hotel and we found this disappointing. We did go on a walk with Thompson's to a local winery and this took about 45 minutes to walk to, but was worth it as the owner of the winery was very informative and allowed us access to the whole wine making process plus how they make their olive oil. We had been to a winery the week before whilst on our cruise to Santorini and this tour in Ermones was much better and as a bonus was free!! We also went with friends on a tour of the island in a car they had hired, and this was a fantastic day and something I would recommended as Corfu is a beautiful island with lots of little bays and harbours just waiting to be discovered, so make sure you take your driving license.

So if you want a bit of luxury, time to chill out and don't mind a bit of uphill walking then this hotel is perfect.

Room Tip: From what we could see all rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAshkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just got back from Grand Med,had a most wonderful and relaxing time,before we went I read some of the reviews on Tripadvisor,I was a bit wary of the place before I got there,but I needn't had been,the staff ,food and the room was marvellous .Yes the lift down to the beach was broken,but you just had to phone for the bellboy and a car was sent to take and bring you back,I cannot emphasise enough the friendliness of all the staff and a special mention of the maitre d Vengelis,I hope I have spelt is name right.Yes there were some wasps,but if you didn't lash at them they didn't bother us.Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: Try and get in the main building ,the bungalows are all on the hillside,but if your fit and healthy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 107royp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We travelled to the hotel last August and wanted to say how fantastic we found our time there. During the holiday we got engaged at the Hotels secret garden restaurant which was amazing, a truly unforgettable night! The beach was great and the cable car was fine and worked every day without fail! The food and choices of food were great and we enjoyed the theme nights too! The entertainment duo of DnA were first class and we booked them for our wedding! Fabulous hotel for a relaxing holiday with great facilities and fantastic staff! The guys n the golf buggies were great fun!
Thanks for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoozies123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

After reading some of the reviews on trip advisor we were apprehensive about our trip. I can honestly say this is one of the best holidays we have been on. We upgraded to a private pool and it was well worth the extra. As many people have said the hotel is set on a hill. We were in the 400's and walked for our breakfast and dinner every day. We are 65 and 66 and are very proud we are fit enough to do this. The food is plentiful and I could not believe that there were some negative comments. I personally did get a bit fed up with the salad buffet but just started having soup. The choice for hot dishes was extensive as was the breakfast selection. The staff were very friendly as were the other guests. The weather was excellent as well. I thought at first I would miss shops but this was not the case. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels over the world and I believe for Europe this hotel is up there with the rest. One of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evelynKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just returned from a one week stay at this lovely hotel. As our holiday was to celebrate our anniversary, we were upgraded to a sea view room - 112 - fantastic view over the bay -and from our balcony we could see the sun both rise and set again. Food selection and quality very good and although there was some repetition - there were many options to actually choose something different each day. Eleni and Erika the restaurant hostesses were both very charming.
Although the funicular was out of action - the hotel did their best to transport guests both and up and down the hill. We didnt take advantage of this as we enjoyed the exercise as we did our walk to Vatos.
We did hire a car for 3 days and visited Paleokastritis - lovely little coastal town and we also went on Nautilus boat trip - well worth the 5 euros end of season price! We also drove the north coast route to Kassiopi - again a cute little place worth a visit. If you like sandy beaches, we recommend Glylfada - which is just 5 km away from the resort - but you do need transport to get there. Lovely clean sandy beach, lovely clear sea and its warmer than the hotel pool!
And yes, there were wasps - but they were tolerable. Just make sure you take some insect repellant and they wont bother you too much.

Room Tip: The best view must surely be from room 151 - its in the main building - so easy access to reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeetNJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Really enjoyed our week at this hotel. We stayed at the start of October and due to this the hotel was very quite and peaceful which is exactly what we wanted.

The room we had was excellent with a huge bed and nice bathroom flat screen TV and a great view of the mountain opposite.

We stayed half board and the food was buffet style and of a high quality, choice was good although as with any restaurant you eat at be it A La Carte, Buffet or whatever your going to get a little fed up after eating there everyday!!!!

Service was good and we never wanted for anything really and all our needs were met with a smile.

Drinks at the bar are a little pricey but to be fair there no more than you would pay in a nice bar in England, and besides your on holiday treat yourself!!!!!

The bottom line is for the price we paid we got an excellent deal, and were very pleased.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigRoobyBooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ermones
0.2 mi away
Philoxenia
Philoxenia
#1 of 4 in Ermones
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
10.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,021 reviews
5.6 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
12.2 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica

Property: SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica
Address: Ermones 49100, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Ermones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ermones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Also Known As:
Grand Mediterraneo Hotel Ermones
Grand Mediterraneo Resort And Spa
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa By Atlantica Corfu/Ermones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing