We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, romantic setting for the perfect honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ermones
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Relaxing, romantic setting for the perfect honeymoon”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Mediterraneo hotel from 25.05.12 to 01.06.12.

We booked this hotel for our honeymoon having read the reviews and read carefully the setting and facilities this hotel had to offer. We booked a sea view room and thought that the price seemed very reasonable for a 5 star hotel.

The transfer was quick about 25 mins from airport to the hotel and we were greeted with a glass of champagne on our arrival. We were then driven to our room by the porters and showed around our room. There was a fridge and free water, a safe and aircon. We were advised not to put the key card next to your phones and bank cards as this can make them stop working, which may be what happened to a previous reviewer who was having problems.

The room was very clean, modern and spacious with a large balcoony as all the rooms have as standard. Plently of room for sunbathing, lying down, which I did on occasions. The bed was massive and confortable and the bathroom had a seperate bath which was a nice treat and seperate shower, water was powerful and hot, no broken tiles or any problems with our room.

Room 370, 2 levels down from reception. The view was beautiful overlooking the sea and mountains, each room is like an apartment in a way meaning that you can see the roofs of the others on the level below but this did not at all hinder the fantastic view. We used our balcony everyday and took great pleasure from the view in the day and evening.

The lift was fully glass and large you can see lovely views down to the beach from it and its a ride in itself! It can be slow depending on which way its going when you catch it but no more than 5 to 10 mins for a round trip and as your on holiday and the views from the lift are so good I dont really see what the rush is to get off.

Sometimes the lift had already gone when we got there so we did walk up the steps to the reception, particulary for breakfast. If you take it slow its fine and having eaten our own body weights it was good to get a little well needed excersise! You can ring reception at any time and a buggy will collect you so there is no problem if you have disabilities etc. its much easier to go down hill down the steps and we did this most nights.

We have read a few previous reviews regarding paying for the safe in the room and we have to say that we used it constantly and were not charged, so i dont know if this has now been changed but there was no mention anywhere of this being an extra cost.

The pool/bar area/ resturant was lovely, wonderfull views from the pool and so relaxing. As couples only it was truely tranquil and i spent many an hour taking in the wonderfull sea and mountain views whilst taking a dip, sipping on a beer or relaxing in the sunshine.

The staff were extremely helpful and pleasent, the males may appear a little brusk but this is just their manner and they are more than friendly and helpful.

The reception staff and especailly Erika the sporting coordinater are very kind and nothing is too much trouble. We also enjoyed the little games by the poolside that you could do whilst sat on your lounger, such as higher or lower where you had the chance to win a cocktail and bowls and table tennis if you wanted a bit of activity. We used the table tennis and tennis courts as this was also at no extra charge.

We were suprised by the little extras which made the holiday so special, free crisps, fruit, biscuits, cheese and chocolates which came free when you bought drinks. It was a lovely touch and we sometimes had to decline as we had eaten way too much free snacks already! One night, The chefs bought out some donut balls for the guests and on the managers cocktail night we had free champagne and cake which was lovely.

We decided to visit the vertigo al a carte resturant for our last night, as a guest of the hotel you got 20% off the food bill. We splashed out on the champagne which is expensive but the food was good value and very nice. Again free apetizers were bought out and we were waited on well, when the evening got a little colder I was offered a pashmina for my shoulders which again was a lovely touch, a very special and romantic evening with stunning views.

If you have the local beer and wine the prices are reasonable and the wine is good and we enjoyed the local mythos beer. If you have imported spirts the prices are more expensive, but there are lots of options to suite all tastes. We had iced coffee in the day and the shop outside the hotel offers coke and all soft drinks and alcohol at very reasonable prices.

There is a shop in the hotel which is small but you can get the odd essential there, the one con of our entire stay was the lady in the shop who we found to be grumpy and rude even though we tried our best to be friendly.

When we were there we did hear one couple complaining that it wasnt a 5 star in their opinion, their case was due to there being no tea and coffee in the room, which I have to agree is a shame, so please remember to bring some with you, you can get milk at the shop.

They also comented on the lack of sun lounger cushions, which again would have been nice but wasn't an issue for us in anyway. They mentioned there was only one shower outside by the pool, which was not an issue for us and i hardly saw anyone using it anyway and never the people who were complaining! Also they would like a pool bar. I personally dont think that the pool is big enough for one and it would spoil the look of the pool area and the bar is right by the pool so again not a problem to us. I can only think that the couple had not read the facilities of the hotel properly before they booked. In our opinion this hotel exceeded our expectations and we would class this hotel as 5 star.

We also hired a pedlo from the beach wich was very reasonable 10 euros for 2 hours, we were directed to a cave on the left of the bay and a little secluded beach on the right. we went to both and moored up on the secluded beach with was wonderful, we read our books and sunbathed before returning. You cannot get to this from land so you have it all to yourself, well worth it and we would recomend this.

We really enjoyed our holiday, it was one of the best, if not the best hotel we have been to. The views are amazing and the atmosphere is tranquil and romantic. We felt completely relaxed and my husband has already been looking to see when we can return!

If you want a relaxing holiday in a beautiful area, not too secluded but not tacky or rowdy either then this hotel is for you. Your holiday is what you make of it and if you are looking for faults you will surely find them at this hotel or at the ritz! but we cannot complain and would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Mowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    443
    138
    46
    38
See reviews for
107
1,274
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stayed 1st week in May. This is an adult only hotel, but on arrival there were a number of children here as the hotel they were due to stay at hadn’t opened yet, same for some all-inclusive guests, but they were only here for a few days.
The hotel is built on levels into the side of a steep hill. There is a cable car, but didn’t work until our last day (and it broke down), but this wasn’t a problem as the hotel arranged for golf buggies to take guests either to the main hotel building or down to the beach (still steps/ramp to get to the beach). There were a lot of elderly guests here and some with walking difficulties who complained about the position of the hotel (they hadn’t done any research beforehand)
The views from our room were lovely and at times all you could hear was the sea and the birds singing. As this was the beginning of the season the little supermarket at the entrance to the hotel only sold a few drinks and crisps. There is nothing in Ermones except a few smaller hotels which when we arrived were closed, but as the week went on work was in progress in regards to re-opening, was interesting to see how slowly pools fill up with water!! It was quite refreshing not to see any postcards etc. on sale.
The beach is pretty and there are 2 very good tavernas and the hotel has a beach bar. Again for guests with walking difficulties there is either a steep ramp or steps to get to the beach.
The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble. The one exception to this was the reception staff, we paid 20euros for the safety deposit box, but it took 3 requests to have it unlocked so we could use it. The air conditioning in our room didn’t work, after telling reception 4 times and the Thomson rep we gave up!!!
Only one thing that I would comment on to the hotel was that the walk ways between some of the levels weren't very nice. You walk out of your room to be meet by a very high wall.
I would recommend taking a set of clothing an extra size up as the food is very good, very fresh and with a good choice.
We took the local bus which stops outside reception to Corfu for 2euros, well worth the trip. We also walked up to the village of Vatos which was lovely and if you make it up to the very top you are rewarded with stunning views, you could see Corfu town on a clear day. But go early in the day as it’s very hot and tiring.
Evening entertainment was a young couple singing the same old oldies, but they were a nice couple.
Would certainly recommend the hotel to anyone, but maybe a bit quiet for some younger guests as there really isn’t much to do here except relax and relax a bit more.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Just returned today from the best holiday at the Grand Mediterraneo......we stayed in room 454 which had a private pool overlooking the sea and mountain. Room was very clean and had everything we needed,,,,,wine and fruit on arrival....and a bottle of water everyday. We did have an uphill walk to the restaurant......but if we didnt feel up to the walk it wasnt a problem as we just rang reception and they sent one of the golf buggys to pick us up. All the staff at this hotel are lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them,,,,they do their best to make sure your holiday is enjoyable. Food is fresh and a good variety....couldnt find any fault about this hotel.....yes it is a bit out of the way and not a lot in Ermones but if you read about the hotel and read the reviews you will discover this before you go.....we did the Simply Corfu excursion which was very interesting.....a full day trip well worth the money.......If you are wanting a first class hotel in a quiet picturesque location.....this is the one for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dekjan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed here for a week in May 2012 . We had a fantastic holiday and thought the hotel was excellent . Did some research before we went so kind of knew what to expect . Stayed in room 313 , very modern , flat screen tv on wall , seperate bath and shower , spacious , balcony with great views . Booked in half board , food was fantastic , always plenty of choice . Had a bottle of the house red wine and still water with evening meals - 20 Euro's . Most nights we would make our way down to the two taverna's on the beach as the drinks were very reasonably priced - about 3 Euro's for a large beer or large glass of wine , we ordered two bacardi and coke's in the hotel bar one night and that came to 17 Euro's , one of few negative's about our stay .
The hotel staff , in particular the restaurant staff were extremely helpful , polite and professional .The Hotel is built into the side of a steep hill so walking up and down can be hard going depending on age , fitness etc , however there is a hotel cable car that runs constantly between the hotel and beach below , 3 stops between . The Hotel will also arrange for you to be collected by one of the bell boy's in one of the golf type buggy's if requested , this is a free service . I used the safe in the room , self expanatory , and was not charged for it on departure , maybe the trick is to not to tell reception you are going to use it . Previous reviews have mentioned lots of wasps in the area , we did not see any , apparently July and august they could be a problem , also no children in the hotel during our stay . The beach is small but pleasant , we use the light brown sunbeds when we were there and were not charged for them , think the hotel might own them . Buses into Corfu town run from the front of Hotel , cost about 2 euros and take about 25 mins . From Corfu town you can get connections to elsewhere . Car and scooter hire are available outside hotel gates as well as a shop selling most things . The two taverna's on the beach are well worth visiting if you want lunch or evening meal . A very enjoyable holiday and recommended .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SJC0967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Wonderfull staff and very pleasant and friendly. Arrived Monday, 9-00pm and shown room 407, dull aspect, with view of pebble covered roof which obscured the sea view expected, just oppressive, moved the next morning to higher room level 203, much brighter.
Check in had revealed 20euro charge for use of the safe, very annoying.
Restaurant choice very good with gluten free dishes well explained, Excellent service, house wine err, satisfactory but expensive, so did not explore the wine list further, Met a couple who also changed from room 407, that says something! but were ushered from the restaurant during our conversation towards end of the evening, and saw this happen to other guests on nights where the staff needed to complete their tasks in time on their hours to prevent any extra cost to the hotel
Day 3 wednesday evening, food poisoning took hold, exceedingly ill, subsided by friday when my wife took ill too, we had not eaten anywhere else! So relieved to recover, and dubious in not expecting this in a 5 star, that we did not report this until we met a Thompson rep at the airport.
Sunbed reservation by towel was evident with odd rules/timing for use of them.
Room had a kettle but the tea/coffee/ milk caddy was empty, just as we needed a reviving cuppa, reception suggested paying for these ourselves from the mini market in reception, very odd for 5 star!
Funicular exciting and slow.
The minibar was not stocked! reception said use room service for which we did not want to wait, or pay extra for!
Beach a little scruffy!
Checkout 11-00am! another bad rule, not suitable when your airport departure is 20-00pm
Asked for room extension and was offered one of the other rooms to change swimwear into travel attire, why not let us keep our room? I deem it not good business to charge an additional 30Euro, so instead had to suffer inconvenience of changing in the reception toilet, which I am afraid was not fresh!.
I expected this hotel to be as a 5 star and chose to holiday to Corfu to help the Greek economy as I have taken a holiday in Greece twice each year for the last two years.
There is a point where receiving value for money and suffering cost cutting causes the choice to be made to take a holiday elswhere

Room Tip: Try to select a room which does not have a roof in front of it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days staying at the Atlantica Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa and this was our third year so we obviously have no complaints! We find the hotel excellent in every way and all the staff we encountered were delightful and went out of their way to help. We would particularly like to highlight Eleni who hosts the restaurant, Mickey in charge of the Bell boys, Erika the events animator and also the resident band Encore, Cheryl and Nat, they were all exceptional.

We met the manager on a few occasions and he was charming and was genuinely interested in feedback from the guests.

Any golfers could do no better than stay at this hotel and enjoy the wonderful golf course only 5 minutes away.
Jim & Dinah Marshall

Room Tip: Personally we prefer to be in the main hotel area as it could be a nuisance waiting for the funicula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcr_marshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Grand Meditteraneo in Ermones Bay is a truly spectacular holiday complex spread over a hillside overlooking a small but perfectly formed bay. The spacious well kept rooms are set away from the main building in small terraced blocks of four or five giving the impression of an intimate Greek village. The room seclusion, balcony views and quiet are very welcome but there is one downside, transport to and from the rooms is by a bookable golf cart, which means a wait or by the unreliable but picturesque cable car. If you not in the peak of health insist on a room in the 1 or 2 hundreds which have lift access and are walkable. The restaurant and pool areas are in the main building, the food was first rate and varied but drinks a little on the expensive side. The views from the pool area are truly magnificent and the staff here as in the rest of the resort are helpful, friendly and attentive. Downside? - £20 for the in room safe!

Room Tip: All rooms have fabulous views - but those closer to the main building (100's, 200's) enjoy m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eternaloptimist14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ermones
10.6 mi away
MarBella Corfu Hotel
MarBella Corfu Hotel
#1 of 5 in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
2,169 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grecotel Eva Palace
Grecotel Eva Palace
#1 of 3 in Kommeno Bay
1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
6.4 mi away
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
Corfu Mare Boutique Hotel
#3 of 10 in Corfu Town
475 reviews
12.3 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica

Property: SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica
Address: Ermones 49100, Greece (Formerly Atlantica Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Ermones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ermones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica 4*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa by Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mediterraneo Hotel Ermones
Grand Mediterraneo Resort And Spa
SENSIMAR Grand Mediterraneo Resort & Spa By Atlantica Corfu/Ermones

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing