We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly B&B with wonderful view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island View Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island View Villa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Golden Beach
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Friendly B&B with wonderful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was a late booking with Thomson and we were pleased to find a locally owned small B&B that only accepts adult bookings. Family run, it is kept spotlessly clean and the welcoming owners will do whatever they can to help you have a good time. The hotel is up a gentle hill about 10 minutes stroll from the beach and tavernas - this gives it the most fabulous view that we loved.The walk helps you digest the wonderful meals available in town and prevented me from putting on too much weight in a week!

This is a small Greek island, it is quiet and friendly, almost as though you have stepped back 20 years in time. Go for a peaceful, pleasant break, not for riotous nightlife. We had a brilliant time and if we were in the habit of returning to hotels, this would be high on the list (many others do return regularly)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAMandS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had such a lovely holiday, best thing about this hotel is the views - absolutely stunning. All of the rooms face the view as does the breakfast area/garden. They all also have balconies/terraces. The owners are very sweet and helpful, very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast is from 8:30-10 and they have a bar with toasties/salads available through until the evening (closed for a few hours in the afternoon).

Travelled with Thompson as a package and the rate is fantastic for what you get from the hotel. It's such a bonus to have breakfast included and a great way to start the day overlooking the views. Breakfast was a buffet of toast, eggs, jams, cheese, ham, yoghurt, fruit, granola, tea & coffee, juices.

The room was small but perfectly formed, all nice and clean, maid came once a day and towels replenished once during the week. Hair dryer, fridge, safe and TV were in the room. I think there was air-con which you can pay for if you want it but we didn't need it.

10-15 minute walk down the the beach and tavernas, the beach is gorgeous and very large. The walk isn't as bad as some people have made out, it's not like you're in any hurry, just take it easy and have a nice stroll! We walked all the way along the beach but the nicest end of it was definitely ours as it gets a bit rocky down the other end. Apparently it was the first week of the season when we went so not all of the shops/bars/tavernas were open yet but that was fine as there were enough for us and they all have so much variation. It was very quiet when we went which suited us perfectly. There are some watersport activities on offer further down the beach and there's lots of other things to explore on the island. We took a boat trip excursion from Thompson which was such good fun and a chance to see even more beautiful sights, they took us to a couple of other secluded beaches which really was paradise, swimming in crystal clear turquoise waters and white sand.

Weather was sunny and hot mostly with one cloudy day which we used to walk to a nearby town through the hills.

I've recommended the Blue Bay and Thassos to all of my friends/family who want to get away from their past paced life. Thank you Blue Bay!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annamorwenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

A last minute decision and what a brilliant one. This hotel is perfect. Superb view, lovely owners who can't do enough for you but will leave you alone happily if that is what you want. Plenty of places to eat in the resort with fantastic food.

Great walks to nearby towns, if you want to be bothered. Sure, the walk to and from the hotel is a bit steep in places and I wouldn't recommend it if you struggle walking much but it's SO worthwhile.

And that's all I'm putting. I felt I wanted to write a review because it is so beautiful but I don't really want many people to find this gift of a place as we want to go back and find it the same! I will keep my raving about the hotel to my close circle. Selfish, I know.

Room Tip: All rooms sea-facing with balconies so doesn't matter which on you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Racychick_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Alyson and Barry, Wakefield

First time to Thassos, we have spent many holidays in Greece, however not many will match this, the hotel is picture perfect, the people were lovely and friendly. what stunning views in such a stunning location. Plenty to do locally with a very good beech, really good food at reasonable prices, plenty of places to visit. The pace is up to you, from relaxing days to tour the whole island, but the hotel is a must, peaceful, relaxing, wonderful people who can't do enough to help, you need to book well in advance as its usually fully booked, not surprisingly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 577Barry_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

The most lovely location for a quiet holiday. Revisited after some 16 years. Little changed except the access road is much improved. The owners are the same and are always keen to help.

Went with Thompson and the transfer was well organised. I suggest that a car is of great benefit not only because the walk to and from the beach can be a chore in the heat, but it gives an opportunity to access the many lovely villages of Thassos, both on the coast and inland. We were lucky in that the hire rates had just come down (end of season) and the car was delivered to and collected from the hotel. The driving on Thassos is easy (compared with some other Greek islands!).

Aliki, Maries, Tripiti and Potos/ San Antonio beach are a must, together with some of the quieter bays to the north of the Island.

Overall highly recommended.

No need to recommend restaurants as the all have something to offer and half the fun is finding your own, but do look out the terrace restaurant at the Enavlion hotel, you might not otherwise come across it as it is back from the front. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pacraggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just got back yesterday. The hotel is locatated between Golden beach and Limeneria. 2 minutes to Paradise Beach, 10 minutes to Aliki which are the best beaches. We had the chance to see all around the island.
The girl named Vaso was very helpful and nice. She answered all our questions and helped us on every issue. The owner of the hotel was also a very nice lady. Also the price was really good!!
The owner has another hotel in Limenas called Captain's Beach Apartments. Very good location, very clean and nice also.

Thank you for cherished us a great holiday. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EsenCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Just returned from 2 weeks here, terrific location and views from our room.
Friendly helpful owners, helped us with our greek!
Arranged packed lunches for us and an evening snack on occasions.
Rooms lovely, clean, plenty of fresh towels and hot water for showers in the evening.
Amused most mornings by 4 very cute, playful kittens in the garden!
A lovely relaxing place to stay.
Hired a car for a few days to explore, traffic light, no roundabouts or traffic lights!
Eating out, plenty of choice but our favourite was at Enavlion, great staff, service and food. 5 star treatment at 3 star prices.

Room Tip: All have sea room, ask for a high room if you don't mind extra steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SylMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Beach
0.6 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 11 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
12.0 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
0.7 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 11 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#11 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
11.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#19 of 90 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
12.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Villa

Property: Island View Villa
Address: | on the outer edge of Skala Panagia, Golden Beach 64004, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Golden Beach
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island View Villa welcomes you in a unique setting of peace and relaxation.Feel free and allow your senses to embrace everything that the sea, the sand and the sun has to offer.Our completely renovated rooms are designed to blend harmoniously with the beautiful landscape and give you the best quality of sleep that you all deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Island View Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing