We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Great Holiday”
Review of Nostos Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golden Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nostos Studios
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“3rd Great Holiday”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Arrived at Nostos Studios 1/09/13 less my luggage courtesy of Thomsons. It was our 3rd visit so we did know the staff and what to expect. I borrowed some trunks and a couple of tops from Thanassis until my luggage arrived on the evening of the 3/09/13.
Typical Greek studios, fairly basic, surrounded by a lovely garden. What makes the place though are the people who run it, many visitors return year after year. We shall return in a couple of years to revisit the place and people, and if you want a chill out holiday in a pleasant village with glorious beaches, you could'nt do much better than this.
Malcolm Wilson, Sheffield

Room Tip: Room 5 and the one directly above it, and the 2 similar appartments in the second block are more sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeordiefromSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    15
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
80
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We were a little apprehensive about this holiday with neither myself nor my husband having been before, especially when we found out we had to get a ferry from the mainland across!!! But having read Delboy's review, we found ourselves really looking forward to it.
We can only agree with the other reviewers in terms of how lovely the studios were, both the staff and grounds were fantastic.
We loved the fact that the bread man turned up round about 9.00am each morning to sell his pies, breads, etc.
We loved the balcony to sit on for breakfast every morning and after we'd come back from the beach.
We loved the bar in the gardens which was always busy (but never loud) from 10.00pm when fellow holidaymakers returned from their evening meals at the local tavernas.
We loved the fact it only took a 10-15 minute walk to find a lovely selection of tavernas to eat in and also walk to the beach.
The reason I only rated it 4 star was because of my preference to stay somewhere with a swimming pool, and the studios didn't have one. HOWEVER, before you all shout out "but you should have known there was no pool!" - that was my fault - I didn't check whether it had a pool or not (wrongly assuming most places do!) - but the beach was lovely, the sea warm, so it made a change not being round a pool. But we did use the pool at the Marina Studios one afternoon!
The studios are ideal for couples, families with older children (teenagers) as there is no kids club and you would need to spend most of your time on the beach when not out and about. Would we go again? Probably not, but that's because the world is a very large place so lots more places to visit. I would recommend the studios to people though, no doubt about that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandudno
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

It is hard to see how anyone can find fault with Nostos Studios, Golden Beach or Thassos. We have had many holidays in Greece on small islands, large islands and the mainland both on our own and with our children. Thassos is different, we loved the short flight and easy transfer, we loved the studio, it was spotlessly clean and had a lovely balcony overlooking the beautiful garden and the mountains, we loved that George was there when we woke up in the mornings, we loved that there were no TV's in the rooms and no English newspapers in the resort, we loved having breakfast/ lunch on the balcony with a large tomato from the garden and pastries from the 'bread van/man', we loved that you could drink the water, we loved every meal we ate, the food was the best we have ever had in Greece, so fresh and lots of fish, we loved walking through the olive grove and then the camp site to the beach, we loved walking along the beach to our sunbeds where for 5 euros/2 drinks we could stay all day and swim in the beautiful sea, some days calm and some days rough, we loved the train ride to the villages which prompted us to walk one evening to Potamia and have dinner in the taverna in the square, it was good fun walking back in the dark, we loved that you could walk to the left and eat at quieter tavernas by the sea and to the right to tavernas that were busier and also had the waves lapping even closer to the tables. We had a lovely relaxing holiday and would happily return again!

Room Tip: We would have loved a top floor room, but these are allocated to the many return visitors. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank goodviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gomersal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have all done it, found a fantastic holiday destination in Greece. Great beach, excellent accommodation, nice people, delicious food. You return home, check it out on trip advisor and find all like minded, normal people seem to agree with you, everyone!
Then all of a sudden you get one! Someone who can’t enjoy their holiday because they are looking for issues.
I have visited Thassos every year for the last 16 years has it changed? Of course it has. I didn’t think any one was stupid enough to think anywhere in the world is the same place as it was 16 years ago.
A little more traffic, slightly more building work, new hotel here and there. Alas gone are the donkeys laden with their wares treading the paths. Although I fear the sound of their hooves passing the Nostos would drive our honest friend into a rage!
Thassos though, still, remains a very traditional, unspoiled, Greek island, which has kept its identity unlike many Greek destinations which have sold their soul to commercialism.
On the subject of The Nostos. The gardens are gorgeous, picture perfect and the rooms are spotlessly clean.
I did learn one thing however from our honest reviewer. As we are usually at the beach during the day, I never knew the staff at The Nostos were busy cleaning, maintaining and generally working very hard to keep the apartments/ gardens immaculate!!! When are they supposed to undertake this work without inconveniencing our honest reviewer?
In all my time since I first travelled to Thassos I have never heard one bad comment about any member of the family that own the Nostos. That was until, Honest Reviewer, in the minority of one put finger to keyboard!
With reference to the grumpy maintenance man, I have yet to meet anyone who does not like Thanassis, great company, friendly, charming and very funny, but grumpy? Never in a million years. As I said before there's always one!
To anyone using Trip Advisor to find the perfect, traditional Greek holiday, peaceful surroundings, spotlessly clean accommodation, owners where nothing is too much trouble, great beach, fantastic tavernas, and good value for money. You will adore the Nostos Studios.
If, however you are looking for the kind of idyllic, peace and quiet, with not even a bird chirping, crickets sounding or over zealous gardeners, to bother you they say the area around Chernobyl is nice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Jack01274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Returning to Thassos for the fourth time ( last visit 16yrs ago) we expected the Thassos magic,particularly after reading the reviews of the Nostos. Our accommodation was run with military precision to such a degree that we felt at times we were in the way. Trying to relax in the garden during the day was tricky due to the over zealous Gardner who enjoyed using power tools to manage his beautiful garden. At times we felt as though we were intruders rather than guests. The road in front of the Nostos is busy during summer so taking in the solitude of the landscape was intermittent at best. However, George, the owner was a lovely man unlike his grumpy handyman. The resort beach is still outstanding if a little busy. Restaurant food is excellent too. Next time our return visit will include close scrutiny of location. It seems that the influx of other Europeans with their fast cars is taking its toll on this idyll.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jac1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

A return visit to Thassos and the Nostos. (3rd visit).
It is lovely to return and be welcomed like a friend; not just by Geoge, Thanassis and Vangelis at Nostos but by some of the restaurant and shop owners too. Met some interesting people whilst making use of the bar for pre and post meal drinks in the gardens which are as beautiful and well maintained as ever. You can learn so much about Greek culture just chatting at the bar.
Perfectly situated for walking to restaurants and the beach. So many to choose from one is spoilt for choice. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. If something you need is not provided in the room you just ask and it is usually possible to provide and without fuss. Highly recommend. We will return again and this time may even go independently of Thomson.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56grandma56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just returned back from 2 glorious weeks from Golden Beach and the wonderful Nostos Studios. This was our first visit to the Island and the Nostos and what a good choice we made. George is a lovely man, and his gardens are stunning. Sitting in the bar in his beautiful garden before your evening meal was tranquil. The studios are kept very clean and are more than adequate for what you need. We had room number 9 which had a view of the sea and mountains and the lovely gardens. Thank you George for a wonderful 2 weeks and hopefully it won't be long before we return.

Jackie

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Beach
0.2 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 10 in Golden Beach
158 reviews
3.3 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#9 of 89 in Thasos
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Kipos
Hotel Kipos
#11 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
30 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#4 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
132 reviews
11.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nostos Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Studios

Property: Nostos Studios
Address: Golden Beach 64004, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away-from-it-all holidays probably don't come much more charming than here at the "Nostos Studios". Located on the edge of the resort of Golden Beach and surrounded by attractive, well-groomed gardens and olive groves, they offer a tranquil setting and spectacular scenery while they are within easy strolling distance (300 meters) of the beach and the resort center. The studios which are in two blocks, are spacious, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean with a well-equipped kitchen unit. Each studio has A/C and Television in them. There is also a bar in the garden serving drinks all day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nostos Studios Hotel Golden Beach
Nostos Apartments Thásos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing