We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault”
Review of Nostos Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golden Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nostos Studios
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Nostos excellent very roomy clean and george always had time to speak bar could have been used a bit more .Golden beach very good especially near the alexandra where an elderly greek gentleman would keep you the beds you liked.Did not like the campsite in the middle of the beach but that is probably just me it can easily be avoided and does not spoil holiday at all.A must is car hire booked through potos we found ok but have read some unfavourable reports recentley. Visiting thassos again this year but going to zafira studios skala rachoni the reports are excellent. Will let you know later in year so if you are thinking of going to thassos dont just get up and go.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MEHOLMANMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 115 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Nostos Studios for 2 weeks and enjoyed every minute apart from the weather which was very mixed, from sunshine to thunderstorms! Although this didn't bother us too much as we got out and about walking and exploring the area.
One of the walks was from Golden Beach to Thassos Town by the coastal path, which we can highly recommend as it is a straight forward walk following the track with the sea to your right all the way! The track also takes you past a marble quarry and onto Vathi beach, which looks like it is marble sand!
Another lovely walk is up to Potamia and across to Panagia. If you're not feeling energetic there is also the local bus which will take you to both villages.
The Nostos rooms are cleaned every day and are kept spotless. The towels are lovely and fluffy and the best we have had whilst holidaying in Greece. The views from the rooms are fantastic, you can look to the right for a mountain view or to the left for a sea view...spoilt for choice! Our balcony got the early morning sun and in the evening it was shaded. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony having breakfast whilst taking in the views.
The gardens surrounding the Nostos are very well maintained, due to the hard work every day by George and Thanasis. The seating area around the bar is very relaxing to enjoy a drink, whether it be after a hard days walking or at the beach or in the evening. Try one of George's frappies as he makes the best we have tasted.
There are some lovely restaurants to try in the area, and more too in Skala Potamia. We enjoyed Finikas, try their seafood pasta and the roast lamb. Another very special place we found was Sotiris which is the last restaurant on Golden Beach before the jetty, near the steps upto Vigli. The food is freshly prepared so enjoy the atmosphere while waiting. The 'courgette balls' are the best we have tasted, and the 'sousoukakia' (meatballs) are amazing....ask for them in tomato sauce. Say hello to Demitri if you go, he is very helpful when you are choosing your meal from swopping chips for oven potatoes etc...
Nearing the end of our holiday we went on the Zeus boat trip, which was very relaxing. The meal we had for lunch on board the boat was very tasty, pork steak with potatoes, rice and salad, served with bread & wine.Very good value.
We will return to Thassos and would definately stay again at the Nostos, one of the best rooms we have had in the many Greek Islands we have visited.
Thanks again George and family for a fantastic 2 weeks, we're missing the island already! xx

Room Tip: All rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

just returned from thassos, our first visit and staying at the nostos. The apartments were lovely, views spectacular and gardens lovely and cared for by george. lm always happy when theres a toaster, as l luv my tea and toast whilst sat out on the balcony just looking at the views, as long as the rooms are clean and comfortable, which they were then lm happy! Although the apartments seemed full and lots of people on the beach during the day everybody just seemed to disappear at night! There was always the two same places to eat that were always full, finikes being one of them but then most of the bars were empty and only a few people out and about. Practically every night after me and hubby had eaten we'd go and find somewhere for a drink as there were plenty of bars to choose from but it would be just him and me. Although l don't like rowdy places it felt like a ghost town at times. Maybe we had come too early in the year, 1st 2 weeks of june for the place to have some atmosphere. Weather wasn't great, lots of rain and cloud but when the sun came out it was quick march to the beach. When we did have cloudy days, we enjoyed lots of walks, scala potamia and also a slow walk to potamia was very lovely and a bus trip to thassos town was worth it too. All in all we had a lovely time at the nostos and thassos and can understand why people go back but with so many other beautiful greek islands to explore that's what we'll carry on doing. Julie and Keith. Manchester

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Visited Nostos again for the third time. Very good accommodation. i would highly recommend it. Staff were excellent, friendly, nothing was too much for them to make sure your stay was good. Very quiet. Nice garden with tropical plants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked this in a last minute deal in May 2011 as a friend had highly recommended Thassos for a quiet, peaceful unspoilt Greek island.

The studios are quite stunning in terms of setting. The gardens are just beautiful and so well looked after with a small ball area and some scattered seating around with incredible views of mountains and olive groves in the distance. Just beautiful! The owners could easily have made the gardens smaller and added more apartments instead (as many of the other hotels/studios in the area had done). Nostos is the last apartment/hotel before you leave the resort so we walked past them all at one point or another and I reckon Nostos is the most idyllic, prettiest setting of them all.

There is no pool so there were no families while we stayed there which was a bonus for us as we were looking for a quiet place and I suspect the lack of pool had a lot to do with it. The beach was less than ten minutes walk down a picturesque, quiet road that becomes a path with a scattering of tavernas on the way. The whole place really had a very quiet, chilled vibe to it.

There are around 10 or 15 tavernas in total on the resort, spread out over a fair distance so it is definitely not overdeveloped - and only one of them was trying the whole 'karaoke' thing (hopefully that won't catch on).

Inside the studios they are basic but absolutely fine, cleaned regularly and all the apartments have great views of the gardens and the mountains beyond. I think some of the higher ones have sea views but the view from our balcony didn't but the view we did have beautiful none the less.

The family that run the studios are great, friendly, chatty but not obstrusive. The bar was great for a post dinner drink, there were usually one or two other couples around, again friendly but not obtrusive. Quiet music playing in the background but not loud enough to be heard from the apartment.

The apartments are set back from the road but it is such a quiet road I don't think I remember any traffic at all.

Late May was a great time to visit as everything was open but there were no crowds. The air smelt like honey in the forests and apart from one cloudy morning it was nice and hot. Golden beach itself is all clear waters, calm, moutainous pine clad backdrops. In all the whole holiday took my breath away - its just beautiful there and I would definitely recommend Nostos or Thassos for a quiet, unspoilt, laid back break.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudiniusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed at the Nostos 9th-23rd September and had a wonderful time. Studios are quiet and 10 mins walk from the fab golden beach. Lots of great tavernas within easy walking distance. Enjoyed catching the bus to Thassos Town and seeing the classical sights. Many other guests had visited Thassos and Nostos Studios many times but make even us newcomers welcome. George and team kept the gardens well kept and studios spotless.

Room Tip: Second floor book a room with double and single and these are the largest rooms for just a little ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eveshamgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was our first time to Thassos and we stayed here from 23rd-30th september.Lovely clean studios with a nice balcony and beautiful well kept garden with plenty of seating areas.Location was perfect...within easy walking distance of lovely beaches and restaurants (our favourite was Finikas!) Daily fresh bread van was a bonus!! Would love to come back but not in september as there were hundreds of wasps. Would definately recommend these studios!!!

Room Tip: Higher room balcony has a view of the sea in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Beach
0.2 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Fedra
Hotel Fedra
#7 of 10 in Golden Beach
14 reviews
11.1 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
159 reviews
0.3 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 10 in Golden Beach
169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
Blue Sea Beach Hotel
#9 of 10 in Skala Potamias
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nostos Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nostos Studios

Address: Golden Beach 64004, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Price Range: $37 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away-from-it-all holidays probably don't come much more charming than here at the "Nostos Studios". Located on the edge of the resort of Golden Beach and surrounded by attractive, well-groomed gardens and olive groves, they offer a tranquil setting and spectacular scenery while they are within easy strolling distance (300 meters) of the beach and the resort center. The studios which are in two blocks, are spacious, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean with a well-equipped kitchen unit. Each studio has A/C and Television in them. There is also a bar in the garden serving drinks all day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nostos Studios Hotel Golden Beach
Nostos Apartments Thásos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing