We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel George, Thassos's little gem !”
Review of Hotel George

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Golden Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel George
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hotel George, Thassos's little gem !”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Although well traveled, this was our first time to a Greek Island and boy was it good !! Thassos is a beautiful lush green island, fringed with stunning turquoise sea's. We are a working couple in our 40's so we were after : A relaxed atmosphere, with no fuss, somewhere we could totaly unwind and Hotel George fitted the bill exactly.
With only 10 rooms, you get a very personal and friendly service, plus the benifits of no crowds or noise, so lounging on the sunbeds in the dapple shade of Olive & Fruit trees reading a good book was absolute bliss ! The Hotel itself is immaculate & pristinely clean. Our room had everything we needed, a comfortable bed, tv, wardrobe, balcony with table and chairs and en suite shower room with toilet and sink, along with the use of a shared fridge/freezer.
Our Hosts were Stavros & Karen who were just wonderful, very helpful and informative. In the mornings you get a enjoyable and varied breakfast, which changes from day to day, anything from duck eggs to Greek yoghurt with Greek honey, fruit juice, fresh bread & coffee and a great starter to any day. In the evenings there is a well stocked bar manned by Stavros, which has a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Stavros is a very entertaining character and we loved listening to his humorous tales.
The Hotel is idealy located, being just a short walk to the beautiful sandy beach, various restaurants, shops & taverna's. Our favourite places to eat were Finika's, Playa D'ora & Viglas, the food was just superb and very good value for money.
Other things we can vouch for are the buses, scooter hire (which was a fantastic way to see the island) and the local wine :) We also have a love of ancient stone monuments and history and so we were spoilt for choice with places like Aliki, the Odean in Thassos old town, in fact the old town is just littered with ruins, the more you look the more you find.
Places we would thoroughly recommend visiting are the mountain village of Panagia, truely wonderful and the Secret large rock pool at Giola (Astris) which although difficult to find, is well worth the extra effort, as it is truely stunning and you can swim in it !

So, to sum up:
Location = Brilliant, Service and hospitality = Brilliant, Cleanliness = Brilliant, Relaxed atmosphere = Brilliant.

We had a long needed holiday that ticked all the boxes, after 2 weeks, we didn't want to leave and would definately holiday there again. We'd like to say the BIGGEST of Thank you's to Stavros and Karen for making our time there just perfect, on a scale of 1 to 10 you get an 11 !

Dave & Jane

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pinx32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenStavros, Owner at Hotel George, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Just a note about the grounds around the hotel - as this reviewer describes, the hotel is set in an olive grove. I have taken umbrage about previous remarks about the unkempt appearance of the hotel grounds and feel this reviewer has hit the nail on the head - the hotel is not in formal cultivated gardens which would involve a flagrant waste of water to maintain and not have a typically Greek flavour, but are in a well run olive grove. We derive a proportion of our income from olives and the hotel ground has numerous olive trees all of which have a trench and bank round them for water collection. This makes in impossible to mow the grass and keep an English style lawn - but we don't want to. Within the very grass grow wild fennel, thyme, mint, chamomile, chicory, purslane and a variety of ferns, dandelions and thistles which we harvest and eat. Amongst the olives are fruit trees :pear, yellow and purple plum, nectarine, loquat, fig, cherry, sour cherry, apricot, pomegranate. There is a large vegetable garden with tomatoes, potato, pumpkin, carrot, parsley, onion and more. To come to the George is to see how Greeks really manage the land - flowers are a frivolous waste of land - the soil is worked. Of course the way the Greeks traditionally work the land without invasive chemicals mean the grove is carpeted with wild flowers - celandine, shepherds needle, storksbill, anemone, grape hyacinth, scarlet pimpernel, bladder campion........and the air is throbbing with chaffinches, treecreepers, swallows, swifts, humming bird, poplar, death'shead and convulvulus hawkmoths, cicadas, locusts, grasshoppers, geckos, lizards, tree frogs, toads, a family of hedgehogs, pinemartens, nightingales, tawny and long eared owls, bats, a whole colony of sparrows nesting in the eaves, buzzards and hawks overhead and so many butterflies!
I don't call this unkempt - I call this a haven.
(Keen vegetable gardeners may be interested to ask Stavros how he gardens - it has to be quite different here due to lack of water.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rugby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

With the numbers of reviews recently written it is obvious that the Hotel George has a very loyal following many of whom may be blinded by their loyalty. However they may not be willing to see any faults and would continuing staying here whatever. One point straight away is the owners Stavros and Karen are fabulous and are well worthy of the loyalty shown to them. It is doubtful if anyone else was running this hotel whether it would still receive all the rave reviews. During our holiday here the majority of the guests were return visitors. However this was our first stay at this hotel and we must comment as we found. Lets start with the downside. Even by the broadest steps of imagination the bedrooms are incredibly small. The breakfast is very basic and limited. The addition of the availabilty of cereal each morning would be a cheap and signifent improvement (a point already picked up by several previous reviewers). Also a piece of fresh fruit at least twice a week would help. The hotel is on the only round in and out of the village centre so an element of traffic noise is unavoidable. The grounds could do with a bit of a tidy up especially where the well worn sun loungers are located. The postives are Karen and Stavros the hotels real selling point. The room and hotel are spotlessly clean. The bathroom is a good size. A nice balcony. A large fridge is available for use by the guests on both floors.An excellent free book exchange library.The bar in the evenings is very sociable and well run. The addition of draught beer would be nice (again already highlighted). For this reason e actually went for a drink of draught beer elsewhere most evening before returning to the hotel which was a loss of income to the owners. The safe deposit box cost 6 euros aweek which we thought was very reasonable. The air conditioning was expensive but we understand the need to levy the cost for this facility. On a personal note despite our comments about a couple of shortcomings we would like to thank Stavros and Karen for making our stay a pleasurable one and would like to wish them every success for the future. We do not know how the hotel would survive if Thomsons pulled out as the are now the only British Tour company to offer package holidays to Golden Beach. Would we return here possibly. Best Tavernas were Sortiris, Finikas and the Captains Table in Skala Potamia. Vigilis is worth consideration on the live entertainment evenings. There is no cash machine machine in Golden Beach the nearest beimg over a 2 mile walk away on the road out of Skala Potamia.

Room Tip: A top fllor room is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wonderfulwatsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenStavros, Owner at Hotel George, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
I find this review quite astonishing - the 'wonderfulwatsons' are implying that our regular customers are rather stupid, and are 'blindly' incapable of noticing faults with the hotel. The faults then are listed as - small rooms, no draft beer, and no cornflakes and 'well worn sun loungers' which are in fact only 2 years old - hardly dreadful failings.

Let me deal with 2 of our heinous crimes - draft beer. No we don't sell it for 2 reasons - draft beer is an easy way for a proprietor to cheat you. Many, if not most, bars put any old cheap beer in the barrel and claim it is Amstel, or Mythos or whatever you asked , and paid for. This is so widespread that you will notice that reputable bars, such as ours, won't serve it so there can be no question of us cheating the guests and make a big production of bringing you your bottle and opening it front of you so you can see that you have received exactly what you have paid for. You must have noticed this - they even do it with soft drinks, the practice of sneakily substituting generic drinks for brand names is so widepread.
In addition, we get colder nights in May and September and October when literally for weeks no one buys beer, but instead buy coffee, brandy and liquer coffee. So we would be left with half a barrel of wasted beer at the end of the season. This is a business decision to do with profit and loss which is not yours to make, but the bar owner. You cannot expect us to stock something which would cost us money, rather than earn it.

Which leads me on to the contentious cornflakes issue - and who would have thought people could get so het up about cornflakes? We could buy a sack of cheap cornflakes, and boxes of long life milk and it would all be economical, but taste so horrible that you would be back on Tripadvisor complaining about it. Or I could buy Kellogs cornflakes - at 2euro per 250g box (imported goods are costly here) and fresh milk at 1.35 euro per litre. So I would need 6 boxes a day at 12 euro (unless I stand over people and smack their hands for taking too much) and 7 litres of milk at 10 euro, so that is 22 euro per day just for cornflakes - in addition to our existing breakfast costs. Add to that an initial outlay of 90 euro for spoons and bowls. Now you tell me how I can possibly afford this on 12 pounds per room per night that I get from Thomson? Can you seriously expect me to effectively lose the income from 2 rooms (we only have 10 to start with) to provide cornflakes???

Breakfast currently regularly includes water melon, which is in season, and fresh duck and chicken eggs laid literally the day before by our own flock of free range poultry (it would be much more economical for us to give shop eggs and sell ours locally, but we like to please the guests who often have never tasted duck eggs before, or had such fresh eggs which taste much better, and have orangey yellow yolks).

Lastly, some of our rooms are small - this is common in hotels that are 'room only' ; larger rooms come in self catering apartments where there is added kitchen space.

The Watson's concern that we would be unlikely to survive without Thomson is misplaced. Thomson maybe the only English tour company on the island, but the English are only a minority of the island's tourists. We have German, Chekoslovakian, Hungarian and Romanian companies clamouring for our hotel.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but again I find it sad that these subjects are broached on Tripadvisor, when they could easily have been discussed, and resolved or explained in person during your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Like many other reviewers, we absolutely loved the George Hotel. Our room was small (but not tiny, perfectly fine) and spotlessly clean, with a television, hairdryer and a balcony with fantastic views across the mountains and to the bay. Perfect.
We chose to hire aircon @ 5Euros a night - it wasn't that hot but I'm a fussy so and so and worried about not being able to sleep because of either mosquitoes or traffic noise, neither of which were an issue. The owners, Stavros and Karen were just the best hosts so friendly and really made our stay special. Sorry, but for those who moan - really, what do you want? This is incredible value for money - if you want a myriad of choices for breakfast or draught beer then pay for a 4 star. This is a lovely small family run hotel in Greece, not a Holiday Inn!
Thassos is a beautiful island, very green and unspoilt. The area around the George is relatively uncommercialised, but with enough tavernas and places to eat. The beach is fab, miles of golden sand and crystal clear water - if you enjoy snorkelling head to the end near Vigli restaurant. Just a few places accept credit cards and the only cash machine is in the neighbouring resort of Skala Potamia, but it's only about 30-40 minutes walk across the beach or road and offers a different choice of places to eat.
Thank you Stavros and Karen, we had a smashing holiday and I hope that your wonderful Hotel continues just as it is.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ErmintrudeMook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This was our third stay here and our fifth in the lovely resort of Golden Beach. The George Hotel does exactly what it says on the tin that is Small and Friendly. The rooms are small but very clean and the bathroom was nearly half the size of the bedroom. A nicee balcony which got the sun in the afternoons.We always asked for and get a top floor room which suits us. The Trip Advisor reviews was a point of discussion in the bar and this prompted me to write my first review. Everyone is entitled to their opinion but considering how much thomsons pay the hospitable owners Karen an Stavros they give good value for money. The hotel has been enhanced this year by making it an Adult only. we are a firm believers in hotels either being classified as Child Friendly or Adult only this way guests know exactly what to expect and provided the tour company and the hotel keep this concept we will return for further holidays here.There are so many good points about this basic hotel we will not document them but we are sure readers will get our drift. The are two small points that for us at very little extra cost to the owners that would improve it. Firstly cereal being made available at breakfast ,just Corn Flakes would do. It could be done on a help yourself basis so the guests who did not want it would not have it, therefore saving any waste. We really enjoy our bowl of ceral most mornings at home. Secondly as somone else has mentioned Draught beer should be made available at the bar and unless for resons we do not know making it not a viable proposition we hope this is in place for next year. We shall be interested to see if Karen can find time to issue a response on this site to these two minor issues. An excellent holiday, Thanks to Stavros and Karen who go out of they way to be helpful. You will learn more about the local history of Thassos from them than on any organised tour.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BankerBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenStavros, Owner at Hotel George, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Just a note about adding cornflakes to the breakfast: Our contract with Thomson states that we should provide a 'continental breakfast' which the Cambridge dictionary defines as 'a simple morning meal consisting of fruit juice, coffee, and bread with butter and jam'. We provide this, then out of our own pocket add on an egg or ham and cheese or yoghurt and honey and where possible seasonal fruit, such as water melon, figs, cherries, grapes. So we are already out of pocket on breakfast expenses and if you want more for breakfast you really ought to to take it up with Thomson - either pay for 4 or 5 star accommodation (you have paid for 2 star at the George), or somehow get Thomson to pay us more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Our holiday all round exceeded our expectations. The George Hotel is a 10 room family run for adult guests over 16 only. The rooms themselves, as others reviewers highlighted ,are very small but the bathroom with plenty of hot water, is a good size as is the nice balcony. There is a television and hairdryer in each room which is kept spotlessly clean. If you wanted air conditioning (which we didn't) it could be hired daily at 5 Euros a day. Safe deposit boxes were available at 6 euros a week or 9 euros for a fortnight. Breakfast was very reasonable with an unlimited supply of tea or coffee. A bit of fruit each day would have improved it enormously. We did not get any fruit during our stay except tinned peaches twice.The bar was the place to go in the evenings after returning from our evening meal where Stavros and Karen talked to the guests with some amusing stories. All the guests seemed to socialise except for 2 who were aloof and better than thought they were better than everyone else. One small point that was a negative was the fact the did not sell draught beer which was a disappointment as we do not like the bottled stuff. Maybe this may be changed once the owners have read this review. We will certainly stay here again provided they maintain the no children policy. Remember to take sufficient euros with you as the nearest cash machine is over 2 miles away and most restaurants do not accept credit cards. The best tavernas for us was Sortiris and Finikas but would not go to Federas again where the service was impersonal and after our meal one of us had a bad stomach upset. It is also worth going to the Captains Table in Skala Potamis which is about a 20 minute steady walk. Car hire which is reasonably priced (if not taken out via Thomsons) is recommended for a day or two to explore the island. The nearest Chemist is in Pangnia a taxi ride or local bus service is needed to get there

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank brummielinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

I didn't know about this site until a couple of weeks ago, and decided to have a look, having returned from holiday just yesterday. I'm quite amazed at some of the comments. Perhaps it all depends what you're looking for. We have stayed ay the George three times and wouldn't care if we never went anywhere else. Karen and Stavros are the most friendly and helpful people we've met anywhere in Greece, and we've certainly been given 'extras' at breakfast (the cherries are wonderful - and I don't usually like them!). You'll learn more about life and history on the island by talking with Karen and Stavros than you will from any book, and their tales are peppered with laughter. The rooms are more than adequate for us, and we've never seen cleaner. I think on this trip we only met one couple who hadn't stayed there before, which speaks for itself. We didn't use the air conditioning - in fact we were still sleeping with a blanket on the bed, albeit with the door open, and we were very comfortable. Our concern is that more people will get to know about it and make it more difficult to book! However, if you want a truly relaxing holiday, with wonderful people, wonderful food all around, and to feel like part of the family, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank d_hully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon
Level Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We have just returned from George Hotel Golden Beach (dont mix this up with other hotels). We thoroughly enjoyed our week in room 2. Very very clean hotel with great people looking after us. Breakfast was basic but we really enjoyed it and more than we have for breakfast at home! Rooms not small if you keep things tidy - Stavros and Karen do a great job on the very little money they receive from the tour operator. Well done to you both anyone complains about the George are just moaning for the sake of it. Great to have a shower mat to save from slipping and the fridge on the landing was a good point as well.

Helen & David Brown

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yassos9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Beach
0.0 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 10 in Golden Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.0 mi away
Island View Villa
Island View Villa
#5 of 10 in Golden Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fedra
Hotel Fedra
#7 of 10 in Golden Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#18 of 89 in Thasos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel George

Property: Hotel George
Address: Chrissi Ammoudia, Golden Beach 64002, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
George Hotel Golden Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing