We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews don't lie ...great hotel to stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

When you read the reviews of this hotel you get the impression that it is paradise and by Greek standards it is. It's a lovely hotel, which is spotless and the service from the waiters, chefs, maids and reception staff is second to none. The quality of the food is also excellent. As it was our honeymoon, we were upgraded to a grand suite for 4 nights with its own pool and then moved to a bungalow with its own plunge pool for the rest of our holiday, all for no extra charge. Very nice touch by the management so thank you. Having no kids screaming around the place also made the place relaxed and gave it a touch of poshness, if I dare say it. Not a lot to do in the hotel at night other than to sit and drink a few cocktails and chat to other guests, an occasional guest singer/piano player which was nice, but then there are also some nearby tavernas etc to go and entertain yourself at.

Outside of the hotel is okay but not the best Greek experience in my opinion. Going left or right to the resort took you to the tavernas and beaches, but some areas had a touch of holiday park feel in places, eg: dodgem rides and stalls in Skala Potamia. Also a fenced off camp site about 400yds away never impacted on our holiday experience but may put some off. It was full of Romanians and Bulgarians when we were there, followed by a bikers weekend festival at the end of our stay, which to be fair was the first time they had one of those on the island, but best be aware if it is to be repeated in the future..

The island itself is lovely and green and fairly low key. Didn't seem to have the mad buzz about it like some other Greek islands! We hired a car for a few days to get around and stopped off at some remote beaches to have a swim etc. We also caught the local bus to the island's capital to do a bit of shopping and see some mountain villages as it passed through etc (2 euros each way...bargain). Singing with the local school kids on the bus was fun! The trips on offer were good fun too and gave you a chance to experience the island also, eg; Zeus boat trip and the Jeep safari.

I have travelled around Greece a lot and I would say that if you want luxury, peace, quiet, excellent service and cuisine, then this hotel is hard to beat. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jaffafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 384 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the Alexandra Golden Boutique 16-23 September and celebrated a wedding anniversary while we were there. It is certainly not a cheap option - the price is similar to a week in the Caribbean really at approximately £1,000 - but it is a lovely hotel with great staff and you do feel genuinely spoilt when staying there.

The Thomson taxi transfers are very good, well organised and get your holiday off to a good start. Reception at the hotel excellent, smiling faces and any query sorted out. The hotel itself is immaculate, quite designer style and spacious - we loved the set up.

Our room was number 308 with full sea view, worth requesting rooms 307 - 312 (?) if you have booked a basic Junior Suite - which reminds me the suite is actually a largish hotel room, nicely done, but only a room not a suite. Thes rooms come with a good sized balcony for sitting out on and get full sun from early morning to early/mid afternoon.

We went half board as we were not sure how many tavernas would be open in late season, there were some but Thassos is definitely winding down for the winter by the third week in September. We were happy with our choice of half board as the food was terrific, although large portions. Some people did skip a course as the 5 courses could be daunting for some. Overall the half board option was extremely good value for money.

Breakfast served until 12 noon - wonderful, no need to rush.

Beach is great by the hotel, nice sand, lots of loungers and all very relaxing. A buzzer by your lounger to press for drinks orders which are then brought down to the beach for you - talk about being pampered.

One minor niggle - the shower flooding the bathroom floor, just needs a better screen or the existing screen made watertight. If the management are reading this, please look at this over the winter, it would make all the difference. The bed was also a bit hard for me but not for my husband - apparently the Greeks like a firm bed.

Yes there are wasps about in September, they are smaller ones and less angry than the wasps at home, but if you have a phobia about them you would have a problem.

Finally we will return, this hotel ticked most of the boxes for us, and we went home wishing we could have stayed another week.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank White-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at the Alexandra Golden Beach Hotel from 9th-16th Sept .We had a brilliant week- everything was perfect. The staff were friendly & very helpful-nothing was too much trouble.We stayed in a standard junior suite (room) with a balcony overlooking the sea.Very efficient air-conditioning,spotlessly clean-the maid service was excellent, rooms are cleaned daily, with a change of towels/linen. We stayed Bed & Breakfast and had two evening meals in the hotel-the rest of the time we ate in local tavernas/cafes- food was very good & reasonably priced. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent,it's available from 8am-12noon,which was great.Wide choice of hot & cold foods for every taste,including freshly cooked pancakes. A la Carte menu in the evening was good-food was excellent & prices for wines/drinks were hotel prices.
The hotel has private sunbeds/umbrellas on the beach for use by residents-waiter service at the push of a button! We were certainly well looked after .
Golden Beach is a beautiful spot with the Ipsarion mountains in the background- enjoyed a dip in the sea-water is clear with waves breaking -lovely.
We hired a car for a couple of days & toured the island-it really is a beautiful,peaceful island.
Plenty of good places to eat locally. Recommend Playa D'Oro(10 min walk from hotel) very popular.also in Scala Potamia ( 15-20 mins walk) we recommend Korali's- the owner was very welcoming & the food was special- with a complimentary dessert .
We had a wonderful time here- a perfect way to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have best seaviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rita w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel from the 9th to the 16th September. The hotel is small, quiet and provided an exceptional service and excellent friendly staff. There is just a short walk down to the beach, which is lovely and great for swimming as the water is calm and there is very little shingle. The gym is very small, with only one treadmill - so be warned if you tend to keep fit. The pools were very nice but very cold, due to the time of year. Plenty of sun beds every day on the beach and by the pool, so no need to panic.

Things to note here are the following:

The rooms are small and this is where the hotel loses it's 5* rating in my opinion. The wardrobe is annoying, as people have said before, you cannot hang up anything long. The bathroom was poor, there was a bath with a shower over it, having said this there were no taps to run a bath. I used the shower head to fill the bath up one night, it took ages and then the plug was stuck so we couldn't empty the bath and had to call maintenance. The next night my husband accidently pushed the plug in again so we had to make another call for maintenance. The shower also leaked, so each night the floor was sopping wet, there was a small drain in the bathroom, so I guess this was supposed to be a wet room, which I really don't like, especially when the floor is dirty. The rooms were cleaned once a day but in the evening housekeeping would turn the bed down and replace towels, which included beach towels.

Be warned if you want to visit Thassos at this time of year..... the resort was swarming with wasps, not just one or two but lots and they wouldn't leave people alone. It was impossible to eat outside and very difficult to sunbathe in peace during the day, by the pool and on the beach.. They burn coffee in the hotel to keep the wasps away but you have to ask them to do this, they didn't just offer it. We were told the worst time for wasps is the beginning of August and through September, but this was also one of the worst years for wasps - just something to bear in mind.

There were plenty of restaurants although a lot of the food on the menus was quite the same. We ate at the hotel a couple of nights and the food was very nice. Breakfast at the hotel was nice, quite a good choice, but you couldn't eat outside because of the wasps, there were also a few on the food.

The ferry transfer is ok, just beware when getting on and off it is a free for all with passengers and vehicles all trying to board at the same time.

The weather was ok, but there was definitely an end of season feel to the place, we had a couple of cloudy days and the evening were cold and windy.

Th Zeus boat trip is not great, you sit and fish for an hour, they then take you to a really horrible beach with a deserted hotel on it. You get food on board which is ok but quite basic, then there is more swimming afterwards. I guess the fact that the day was so cold didn't help, it probably would have been better if it was warmer. I wouldn't recommend this trip though.

On the Friday and Saturday, at the campsite there was an annual motor bike meeting. The noise was horrific, with bikes constantly going up and down the resort and riders performing 'wheelies' at very fast speeds, which was very dangerous. What surprised me was that no one said anything and even the owners of the restaurants allowed the bikers to make so much noise in front of the restaurants in the evenings. It was very difficult to enjoy a meal and I am sure some people stayed away from some of the affected restaurants for that reason. There was also a heavy metal concert on both nights which was really loud. So if you hate bikes, don't go here at this time of the year.

So all in all not the best, we won't be going back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Alexandra and were once again not dissapointed. We had a wonderful time yet again! The hotel, location, food accomodation absolutely superb.
Special thanks to all the staff who are excellent, friendly, helpful and can't do enough for you and really made our holiday perfect.
The standard of cleanliness is fantastic and there is everything you need always plenty of toiletries, clean towels, sheets etc.
We will definately be back again:))

Room Tip: Block 3 has the best views overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anon186377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

In July my husband and I had a truly excellent two weeks in this fantastic hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful in every aspect, including anticipating our request for an umbrella when it looked like it might rain one evening! The hotel and area is very clean and well attended to. The food is exceptional, my only concern being the weight I put on whilst enjoying this truly fantastic food. The private beach is soft sand and one of the best I have been to. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small and special hotel catering to adults only. Polly Cala to the staff.

Room Tip: We had a first floor sea view room which had a good view and was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have just returned from a brilliant 2 week holiday at this hotel.As we were celebrating our golden wedding during our stay, we had emailed the hotel to ask for a quiet upstairs room. We were delighted therefore to be told on our arrival that they had upgraded us to a junior villa with its own plunge pool and sunbeds on its terrace. Thank you management, very generous.

I will mention the only downside first - wasps. They are everywhere - on the beach, on the terraces, in the restaurant and surrounding the villas. Guests could not sit on the restaurant terrace for breakfast because of them - some of them were really persistent. Apparently there are more than usual this year. According to the staff they will die down during September but so will the good weather and the weather was good - blue skies and sunshine from 7 in the morning to 7 at night.

Our typical day started with a stroll down to the beach at about 8 at which time we could have our pick of the free sunbeds down there. They started to fill up about 9 to half past but never really got completely full. A little while sunbathing followed by a walk down the beach and it was time for breakfast. Fresh fruit followed by ham/cheese/tomato followed by bacon and egg etc followed by pancakes or other savouries - more than enough to see you through until night time. Breakfast is available until 12 noon by the way.

Back to the beach for some serious sunbathing or reading ( there is quite a substantial library of spare books in the reception) with an occasional drink from one of the waiters - perfect.

We didn't go on any of the tours so cannot comment but the ones who went seemed to enjoy them.

The evening meals were fantastic but really too much. Soup followed by a starter with a side salad followed by a main course followed by a dessert. I don't think we managed to finish all courses any day. Drinks are hotel prices ( bottle of wine typically 15 to 20 euros, spirits 8 or 9 euros, beer 3 or 4 euros) Ptices in nearby tavernas were about two thirds of these prices so most people tended to wander outside after the meal. There are a few tavernas down the main street facing the hotel but not many bars serving drinks only. The vast majority of bars and tavernas are in nearby Skala Potamia which is about 10 minutes walk to the start of it and another 20 minutes to the far end. I would suggest you take a torch if you think you will be doing this as part of the walk can be rather dark on the way back. Worth a try though.

Staff in the hotel were all very friendly with service being very good. Slight delays in clearing tables but normally only when all guests decide to arrive at once.

Ferry trip an experience - I wouldn't want to try to park my car within literally inches of others as they do. A nice way to start and also to round off the holiday.

Would I recommend it - most certainly - but if we went again we would book for bed and breakfast only unless we could get a special deal as we did this year - no reflection on the food because this was great but we enjoy eating out in different tavernas.

Room Tip: Rooms 307 to 312 have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DASONIA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Beach
11 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
3.7 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#12 of 89 in Thasos
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
159 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#15 of 89 in Thasos
408 reviews
11.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel

Address: Golden Beach 64004, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Price Range: $131 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury boutique Adults Only Hotel combine modern architecture with minimal aesthetics aiming at the ultimate comfort and relaxation being one of the best Thassos hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Golden Boutique Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing