We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shacky start then loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I wont dwell on the shacky start. All I will say is the first time we stayed at the Alexander Golden there was a terrible manageress, two girls in the next room who wanted to sunbath from 6am and be in bed before 9pm with the windows open and not expect others to sit on their patio's talking and a breakfast chef that served my wife and I eighteen boiled eggs all under cooked one breakfast. However after the Thompson rep intervened this was swiftly sorted out.

Now to the good part. The Alexander Golden is a beautiful hotel located right on the beach more or less in the centre of Golden Beach. The public areas were spotless and the pool immaculate apart from the hundreds of baby frogs that greated you each morning on your way to breakfast which we found amusing but some found annoying. We went in 2010 and again in 2011, in 2011 there was a new manageress. Both the rooms we had were excellant, the staff were friendly and only to keen to help in anyway they could. We only ate in the hotel at breakfast time but this was a buffet style that had something to suit everybody, and the hotel bar or the piano bar were great to relax in in the evenings. The beach is lovelly as were the sun beds, with the added bonus of a little pond full of wild Terrapins that made a great distraction when sun bathing got boring.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GordonStalybridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 384 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our first time in Thassos and we loved the island.

We had a private transfer which was fantastic and meant we got to the ferry port quickly and could enjoy a Mythos before the ferry journey and then were whisked off to our hotel without making numerous stops on the way. The ferry trip was great - a lovely start to our holiday. We were very impressed by the efficient way the Thomson reps handled the transfers. Cathy, our rep in the hotel, is very knowledgeable about the island and Golden Beach in particular and gave us a lot of very useful information.

We highly recommend hiring a jeep for a couple of days, this is more than enough time to explore the whole island and there are lots of lovely places to visit. We especially loved Agios Ioannis Beach which was very quiet with crystal clear water. The Europcar rep was fantastic and highlighted the best places to visit. Thassos Town is worth a visit in the evening and is 15 minutes in a taxi for 18 Euro or 2 Euro for the bus which takes around 40 minutes. If you go in the evening you will have to have a taxi back as the last bus leaves Thassos Town at 6pm.

The hotel is in a perfect location on Golden Beach. Hotel food is lovely but make sure you visit the local restaurants, there are plenty nearby, favourites are Playa D'Oro, Finikas, Enavlion, Captains, Krambousa and Akrigioli.

The area where the hotel is situated is very quiet which suited us perfectly but there are a number of bars at either end of Golden Beach if you wish.

The Golden Boutique is gorgeous. Rooms are cleaned twice a day and are very comfortable.
No children are allowed (a major feature for us!!) so it is very peaceful, perfect for a completely chill-out holiday. The pool areas are beautiful and never busy, one of the pools has a jacuzzi which was very nice at the end of a hot day.

All staff members are fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. They have very successfully created an atmosphere of quiet and calm. A minor problem with our door was resolved very promptly by a cheerful maintenance man.

Breakfast was wonderful with a huge selection of hot and cold food and available from 8-12. We stayed for 2 weeks and ate something different every day.

The hotel has a section of the beach reserved for guests and there is never a problem getting sunbeds, beach towels are supplied by the hotel. A buzzer on the umbrella meant we didn't have to move from the beach to order a drink - thank you to Gregory and Liam for looking after us. We looked forward to 4pm every day when Gregory appeared with ice cold flannels - fantastic!!

I was very surprised that one of your reviewers mentioned noise - simply not true!!! If you are after peace and quiet, this is the place for you!!

Be aware that there is only 1 ATM on this side of the island which is about a 40 minute walk away and is sometimes empty, there are plenty of ATMs in Thassos Town. The hotel changes sterling and travellers cheques as does one of the supermarkets. Not all of the restaurants take credit cards so make sure you always have cash.

We had a wonderful holiday and will definitely visit Thassos and the Golden Boutique Hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank scotsheather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We came back home relaxed and really satisfied after two weeks of amazing holidays . Perfect location,home like atmosphere created by the fantastic, friendly staff. The maisonette was as comfortable as we had expected. The only little problem was a small wardrobe. I am writing about it because I think it can be changed to make the others stop complaining. The food was really delicious and it was a pleasure to be served by Gregory ,Liam and Katarina. We also want to praise Tasos who makes the best Mojito in the world! Corrina thanks for everything !!! Konstantina thanks to You this hotel is a special place!!! We will surely come back some day and we reccomend this hotel to all people who want to forget about everyday rush. Perfect place! We will never forget Gregory bringing wet tissues to refresh the face on the beach!!! Something incredible! Agnieszka & Wojtek from Poland.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asza62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This is the second time at this Hotel. Fantastic location. Very clean and very quiet. Breakfast is fantastic, you name it, they have it. Do NOT go for half board. There are plenty of places to eat out nearby, and they are good value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NellyBuryLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Have just returned from 2weeks at Alexandra Golden and have to say it was absolutely amazing. As other reviewers have said the service is excellent, nothing is too much trouble. The reception staff were friendly & helpful, Liam & Gregory who served dinner every night were polite and efficient, and Liam was a star during the day answering the bells requesting drinks from sunbeds on the beach!
The room was a good size with sea view & decent furniture on balcony. Be warned that some seaview rooms should actually be named sea facing as if on ground floor you couldnt see the sea! A/C & safe included in price, as someone else said the wardrobe not long enough to hang dresses but that is a minor point. The pools are stunning and very quiet as most people went to beach where there was a gentle breeze. Private area of beach with beds & parasols and hotel provide beach towels which are changed daily. This makes it easier to spot people who are not guests trying to take the beds!
We were lucky enough to have the Thomson 1p a night deal for half board and I have to say the food was fantastic, 5* quality although there was probably too much of it. Five courses every night and the menu was not repeated the whole time we were there!
There are plenty of tavernas within about 10 min walk, we preferred to go right rather than left as it was more typical of Greece. Prices very reasonable too.
The transfers were very well organised and went like a dream, all in all a fabulous place fully deserving its 5* rating. Difficult to beat, we will be back!

Room Tip: Not all seaview rooms can see the sea, especially ground floor ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holidayqueen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Having travelled extensively, and stayed in other Hotels classified as 5*, this one really hits the mark. I have one very minor complaint and that is that the Wardrobe was not long enough to hold dresses. That done with, this hotel is fantastic, the service is second to none and all of the staff that we encountered did everything possible to make our stay really enjoyable. The rooms and grounds are lovely and clean, as are the Pool areas. The Beach was very clean and much longer than I expected. The selection of foods for Breakfast is unbelievable and the Dinners were lovely. Dont expect the usual dull offerings for DInner - this hotel offers exceptionally good food, beautifully presented and served. The area does not have a buzzing night life, but there are manyTavernas at either end of the Beach. We are already booking for another week next year and I can't wait !!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sue55Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We went to Thasos for a wedding, after research on trip advisor, we decided to stay at the Alexandria Golden-Thasos Boutique Hotel, which is located on the Golden Beach, unquestionably the best beach on the island. Whilst we heard many a sob story from other guests at the wedding, of so called 5 star hotels on the island, which are merely so by claim. Constant complaints of poor service, neglect of maintenance, mini bars standing on three legs, towel changing only once in three days, poor mobile phone reception, expensive wi-fi, with coverage only in certain points, when u lean out of the window and stand on one leg. The bad economic situation showed its signs, by hotels cutting corners in every aspect, couple that with corruption that somehow earned these hotels a 5 star status, and you have yourself a “lovely holiday”.

Therefore, we were delighted even more so, that we chose the Alexandria Golden-Thasos Boutique Hotel, we paid not much more, but got back tenfold in amazing service, stunning unique rooms, pools with floating beds, awesome private beach, food second to none, top service, great atmosphere created by attentive warm welcoming staff, who were very willing to accommodate, even organized us a car rental within five minutes at around 10pm, not to mention the elaborate breakfast up to noon.

The hotel is not like your standard 5 star hotel, nestled beautifully on the foot of the surrounding mountain range, stunning design, every detail taken care of, from the” look” to the service and everything in between.

We loved our stay and would definitely recommend to anyone who happens to land on this not too touristic island to choose this awesome hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hidden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Beach
11 mi away
Alexandra Beach Thassos Spa Resort
3.7 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#11 of 89 in Thasos
424 reviews
0.4 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#3 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
159 reviews
10.5 mi away
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
Ilio Mare Beach Hotel
#15 of 89 in Thasos
408 reviews
11.2 mi away
Atrium Hotel Thassos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel

Address: Golden Beach 64004, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Golden Beach
Price Range: $131 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxury boutique Adults Only Hotel combine modern architecture with minimal aesthetics aiming at the ultimate comfort and relaxation being one of the best Thassos hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alexandra Golden Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Golden Boutique Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing