We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Island”
Review of Marina Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Golden Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marina Apartments
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Me & my wife have just returned from a weeks holiday in Thassos staying at the Marina Apartments 30/06/2013 - 7/072013 . This was our second time on the island but our first time at this accommodation . The rooms are very basic as is most accommodation in Greece so if your used to Greece this wont be a surprise if its your first time you may be surprised but don't worry it's the norm . The rooms are kept spotless you have a small tv a room safe at a cost of €10.00 per week , a fridge (ours came with a freezer that worked) kettle toastie maker a twin electric hob and small sink cupboards and all utensils required. The appliances where a little old but served their purpose . The bathroom was again very Greek and basic but spotless . We had a ground floor room that opened up onto a small patio with table and chairs beyond that a well kept garden, there is Wi-Fi at a cost tho free around bars/cafe's around the resort . As hot as it was our room kept supprisingly cool , due I guess to it being a ground floor room, so much that we didn't need the aircon that you had to pay for . Across the road was the small pool and bar along with a games room and Internet cafe type room ,this is all part of the Marina . All the staff are fantastically friendly and welcoming . My only little gripe is it can be a little noisy in the evening due to its location and if you want a quite evening o/s your room you can be distracted by music from the bar over the road .

The island is lovely and very traditional with plenty of mini markets to get provisions and lots of lovely places to eat , I can honestly say we did not have one bad meal and they where all very reasonably priced I don't think we paid over €25.00 for a meal often having five + dishes . On the main beach you have sun loungers which are free when purchasing a drink from the relevant bar/taverna which is a good idea IMO . It's worth hiring a car to explore the island and see some of the villages inland or visit some of the other beaches .We used a company called Postos which is run by an English couple and where the cheapest we found while offering all the same cover as the larger rental companies .

All in all , basic clean and relativly well equipted apartments with wonderful staff on a lovely island !

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bury-c&r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
There are newer reviews for Marina Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 54 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed at the Marina Apartments in early May 2013. From the start the holiday was relaxing,everything went really smoothly from arriving on the main land, getting to the ferry port and then our onward journey. There was no hanging around waiting for transport, the journey from the airport to the ferry port took about 15 minutes. We had a 15 minute wait until the ferry was due to sail, so popped into a local supermarket to get some refreshments. Once on the ferry, you know that you have 'arrived'. It was so nice to just sit back and take it all in, the scenery was beautiful and we had already begun to chill out. On arrival in Thassos, we got back on the coach and had approx a 20 minute journey to Golden Beach. On the way, you take in the mountains and the greenery and the pretty villages, then you look down towards Golden Beach as you begin your descent, the view is breath taking. On arrival at the Marina, we were welcomed by Dimitrious, the owner, and shown our apartment. It was typically greek, wooden furniture and white walls, very clean, plenty of room for our clothes, a small kitchen area and a shower room - everything we needed. If you like beaches, this is the perfect resort on the island as it seems that the best ones are here. We hired a car for 3 days (Avis were much better value than the Europcar - Europcar is the one the rep recommends, but this could be because one of the Thomson reps also works for Europcar!!! We visited Potos, and had a nice walk around, we liked it there, it had some nice shops and hotels and a nice port area - but the beaches were not as good as Golden Beach. We stoped at Aliki beach, which was a small cove with a few tavernas - nice place to go for lunch, then we went to Paradise Beach - I am not sure where it got its name from, but as we walked down to it, we were met by a huge pile of rubbish waiting to be collected by the dustbin men, we found a spot on the beach some way away from this, but there was loads of flies, so we didnt stay long. Im not saying it is always like this, we must have just gone at the wrong time. Thassos town is lovely, we had a lovely walk around and did a bit of shopping. Well worth hiring a car so that you get to see some of the island. As for eating out, there are some very reasonable restaurants in Golden Beach, we usually like to try a different one each night, but to be honest, we tried Finikas on the first night which is just around the corner and we went back 4 times - it was lovely! If you love Greek food as we do - this is the place to go. Every night they have a 'special' menu, and for 9 euro you get a three course meal with a glass of wine. One night we ventured into Skala Potamias for a meal, we went to a seafront restaurant called Flisvos, but were disappointed. the food wasnt half a s good as what we had been having, and was double the price! However, each to their own - remember this is only my opinion. Panagias village is a nice place to visit, walk up the winding streets and see the heart shape cut into a tree trunk and the fountain, or just stop for a coffee and take it all in. We will definately be returning to Golden Beach, hopefully later this year, if only to enjoy once again Arianna's (Finikas) hospitality and great food.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Green2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here in May 13 and really loved Thassos. Studios are spacious and bright, nice balcony however small bathroom and hard beds. Pool is small but adequate and sunbeds pool bar was perfect. Not too expensive at pool bar for drinks and bar staff are fantastic Angie and Aarron. Location is the best too compared to other apartments 2 mins to beach and right next to some great restaurants. Skala potomia not too far for more options and busier nightlife. Train trip from marina apts is great too and only 11 euros. Must try the Vigli restaurant and Finikas. Overall amazing Hol and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xxamyxx2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I went to the Marina apts in early August 2012.. we went into a Thomson shop in Solihull for a look and the manager recommended Thassos.. we have been to Greece many times previously and knew studios etc were basic and we always self cater... the rooms are just a base for us. The Marina is a lovely place set in two blocks. we were in the block across the road from the small but useful pool...As I said the rooms are basic but I think they are just great as we don't spend much time in them anyway but it's typically Greek.. cleaned regularly and linen changed regularly too.... we hired a car, unusual for us, for a day and went round the island.. it was well worth it... seeing all the lovely coves, the monastery in the hills... what a beautiful island it is... Golden beach is fabulous... the sea is like getting into a bath at that time of year... you can wade out for some way... there are lots of bars and eating places along the beach and sunbeds free as long as you buy a drink from the bar they are outside.... Panagia and Scala Potamia are definitely worth visiting locally.. there is a 'train' ride to and from Potamia in the evenings from outside the Marina apts but it can be reached on foot easily.... everything we needed was in the room but as stated plenty of food places around and we eat in a different place usually... staff are welcoming especially the Thomson rep and her partner (I think Dennis) who helped behind the bar.... great holiday and worth every penny and I can't understand people who moan about the room sizes, facilities etc.... research first.. if you want luxury don't go to Greek islands.. if you want a brilliant relaxing holiday then do go and sample the culture... and the food I found to be fantastic... we always say we will try somewhere different every time...however we are returning to Thassos at the end of May this year to the Emerald apts... yes we have heard about the hill..lol... it is too beautiful an island to miss.. the ferry transfer really gets you in the mood as well.... all in all a wonderful holiday.... would we go again ...We are..!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brummiehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just a week back from a wonderful week in the Marina. It could not be better placed for a beach lover. The weather was unseasonably warm and the beach with golden sands and warm sea made it like being in the Caribbean. Our room had a view of the mountain range and was spotlessly clean. The only drawback in 306 was the bath area which consisted of a strange sit-down bath with shower in it. It was very difficult to get in and out of as it was right next to the toilet. Would have been impossible for anyone with a disability. I had a look in other apartments and they seemed to have walk in showers. Local Tavernas were excellent. We didn't have a bad meal and the fish was amazing. The bar staff were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the quiz and pool party with its iconic DJ! Would definitely return to the Marina. Didn't explore a lot of the island this time, only Thassos Town and know there's a lot more to see. Even the ferry journey was good though we didn't manage to see the dolphins.

Room Tip: Facing the mountains.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faith011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

slightly disappointed on arrival as given a ground floor 1 bed apt but it soon become our home! our terrace was lovely & friendly overlooking the gardens, not much of a view but very safe for the children. The apartment was cleaned to an excellent standard & the sheets & towels changed almost daily by Lally, our fantastic cleaner who we wanted to take home! there was no noise interruptions at night from the bar across the road even though there is a quiz night once a week & a pool party.The bar is run by the ever so friendly George during the day & at night by the lovely Angie, couldnt have wished for more friendly people! There is a fabulous train which can take you to Skala Potamia for a more livelier evening for a small cost. Also, take advantage of the train to the 4 village tour on a saturday, well worth the money & narrated by George who is very knowledgable on the local history. Our favourite tavernas were Finikas & Playa de Orla, for drinks, Stefanos, a hotel called Enavelion is a nice change, bit more upmarket without the price tag. Also recommend eating up in Potamia, a real greek experience, not to be missed!!!

Room Tip: can only speak from experience, our children are 5 & 7, room 101 on the ground floor was so very...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Went as a group of 3 girls and couldnt have asked for a better, more relaxing holiday. We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted by one of the bar staff. We were made to feel very welcome straight away and had our luggage carried up to the room for us!. The pool bar offers a great range of drinks, snacks and seating areas. One good thing about this island is you can drink the tap water! The maid service is absolutely fantastic! they came in everyday apart from sundays but the room was spotless once they had finished! We were a little sceptical about coming due to looking at the pictures online however I feel the travel agents we booked it through do it no justice! The room included a small kitchen areas equipped with a kettle, sandwich maker, cutlery/plates and a fridge/freezer which was extremely handy! We spent 14 nights here and loved every minute of it. The train service the hotel runs is extremely useful, although it does return back to the hotel quite early however Skala Potamia is within walking distance from the hotel. Hiring a car is recommended as there are some fantastic views and villages to been seen! I would return here however i would say it is more of a couples or family holiday! Thank you to the staff!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SHC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Golden Beach
0.0 mi away
Studios Marina
Studios Marina
#6 of 10 in Golden Beach
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Golden Beach
Princess Golden Beach
#4 of 10 in Golden Beach
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Emerald
Hotel Emerald
#2 of 3 in Chrissi Ammoudia
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Makryammos Bungalows
Makryammos Bungalows
#13 of 89 in Thasos
411 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Pegasus
Hotel Pegasus
#4 of 17 in Thassos Town (Limenas)
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
Enavlion Hotel Batagianni
#2 of 10 in Golden Beach
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Apartments

Address: Chrisi Amoudia Panagia Thassos, Golden Beach 64004, Greece
Location: Greece > Northeast Aegean Islands > Thasos > Golden Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Golden Beach
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
7/30/08 Md ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing