We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a nice setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nafsika Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nafsika Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a nice setting”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Having recently returned from a 7 night stay with my mum, we can both say we had a very enjoyable time. Although we have visited Greek islands many times before, this was our first time in Corfu. San Stefanos was recommended to us via friends and we were not disappointed.

The rooms are basic but clean and have everything you need being half-board. A fridge would have been a nice but it wasn't a problem. There was plenty of storage space for clothes, which I have found to be a problem in the past when staying abroad. We purchased air con (35E) which we found was a must. The pool area was well kept and we never had a problem finding sunbeds.

Being half-board for the first time we weren't sure what to expect but we were pleasantly surprised. With a good choice of starters and mains it was sometimes hard to decide what to choose. We ate evening meals outside the hotel twice just for the simple reason we wanted a bit of variety from trying different restaurants. The food at the Nafsika was great and varied and we were always full after meals. Since returning my mum has even used Theodora's moussaka recipe from the Nafsika website and rustled one up!

San Stefanos itself is nice and relaxed and never busy busy like some resorts. The beach is lovely and a good place to chill out. Make sure you visit the homemade ice cream shop and Yianni's for a cheap and tasty gyro!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xhaveheartx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    43
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
56
127
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have just had 14 nights with my partner. It was our 4th time here. As always, had a good holiday-relaxing ,quiet and the half-board food is excellent.You are served outdoors in the taverna with view of the sea. All staff are very hard-working and helpful. On this trip,we got ourselves into a difficult situation of our own making and the manager, Spiros, saved the day by personally going out of his way in a big way to help us.Big thank you for your kindness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solongmaryanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just returned today from a very enjoyable 11-day holiday at the Nafsika Hotel.This resort is ideal for a relaxing, chilled holiday away from the madness of Kavos and similar resorts and is reflected by the transfer time from the airport (around 2 hours), but it's a small inconvenience really, given the laid-back feel of the Hotel and the whole resort.
There is plenty of nightlife in San Stephanos itself, however the Nafsika is conveniently removed from this, just a short walk away if you want the sanctuary of some peace and quiet at night.
I don't want to regurgitate what Tori159 and LizClipo have already said about the Hotel itself, (as their reviews are spot on), but I would however like to repeat the praise regarding customer service for the Nafsika. Stefanos, Nico and Christo were the epitome of politeness and Stephanos' energy and enthusiasm (every single morning!) was infectious and made us smile, particularly helping me with my dodgy Greek pronounciations - Ευχαριστώ from the couple in δωμάτιο πέντε!
A special mention must be made for the owner Spiros however. Despite arriving on our first night at 3.30 am he was waiting in reception to help with our luggage and escort us to our room and gave us as thorough an introduction to the facilities/services at the Hotel, as you could hope for given the hour! Throughout our stay, he was most helpful and accommodating with our requests, however on our last day was when he really stood out. We were due to leave the Hotel for the Airport at around 1.00 am and despite checking with Thomson!!! about check-out times and being told that we had our room right up until departure that night, we discovered that we had to vacate by mid-day. Naturally, we were very upset indeed to find we would be without our own room for over 12 hours, but Spiros explained that he had incoming guests and was unable to let us have a late check-out. He however took ownership of the matter and sorted out an appartment for us to use that evening and made the Thomson rep's efforts to sort something out look pretty feeble to be fair.
This was not the Hotel's fault and we had specifically checked this matter out with the Travel Agent, but Spiros assured us, that "AS HIS GUESTS", it was his problem. True to his word, he sorted it out and as we departed even helped us with our luggage to the Coach and waved us off!
The Nafsika is advertised as a 2 Star Hotel (but we have stayed at much worse alleged 3/4 star ones), there is no TV or Fridge in the room, the resort is some distance from the Airport, the bedding and towels are not changed every day (but rooms are made up daily), there is a small supplement for cooked breakfasts and there is only one choice! of dessert on the half-board menu (other than tea/coffee), however, the cleanliness, friendliness, peace and tranquility and value for money of our holiday, plus superb customer service, far outweighed these gripes that some detractors seem to harp on about on this site.
Would thoroughly recommend this Hotel, as would the vast majority of guests who have stayed here, including some who are making return visits after 25 years plus!!! Spiros and his team must be doing something right then.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5 on the first floor and had a wonderful sea-view, plus the most wonderful sunsets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have recently returned from 2 relaxing weeks in San Stefanos at The Nafsika Hotel. Firstly, let me say, what a wonderful resort and what a wonderful Hotel. San Stefanos itself is friendly and relaxed, with plenty of small shops with some local olive wood products and plenty of traditional taverna's to keep you occupied. The beach is superb,with plenty of space, it is spotlessly clean and is easily accessible.

Now, on to the Hotel. In a wonderful location, opposite the beach the views over the sea are stunning, which perfectly compliments the relaxed family atmosphere that the Nafsika provides.

Accommodation: As with most accommodation in Greece, rooms are fairly basic and simple, but are spotlessly clean and fresh. All rooms have an ensuite shower room with either twin or a double bed. Unlike most places in Greece the beds have 2 very comfortable pillows which was a nice bonus. The only slight downside is the lack of fridge but this wasn't particularly a big issue for us. All rooms offer a balcony space, some of which look over the gardens and some of which offer a gorgeous sea view. Air con, is a must, and comes at a small extra cost on a per week basis. Overall the rooms are clean, airy and simple. Just what is wanted after a long day on the beach.

The pool area of the Hotel is very peaceful with plenty of sunbeds and space enough for everyone. With plenty of bookshelves within the hotel, there is no shortage of books to keep you occupied whilst enjoying the sun! The bar offers a huge range of options for lunch and is open for you to purchase drinks throughout the day. If you are to eat here at lunch times I highly recommend the pasta, which is freshly cooked, has gorgeous flavours and is only 5E for a big bowl.

Food: With the half board package, you are entitled to a continental breakfast (with extras available a small cost) and a wonderful 3 course evening meal. All the food is wonderfully fresh and carefully prepared, offering an absolute Greek experience. With a variety of meals from Mussels, Steak, Stuffed Vegetables and the wonderful Mousakka, made from Theodorra's own recipe, you will certainly leave every meal feeling full with tasty and authentic Greek food.

Drink: Just briefly, the bar offers virtually any drink you could want, from freshly squeezed orange juice to a pint of mythos to a tequila sunrise cocktail. The bar is comfortable with a pool table and plenty of seating areas, to watch the world go buy.

Staff: What can I say, other than PERFECT! All of the staff at the Nafsika are friendly, welcoming and work incredibly hard to make your stay the best it can be. Stefanos in the morning, is so bright and friendly and cannot do enough for you. He really is a star! Spiros, Nikos and Chris, work their socks off in the evening and really build up a relationship with the guests. Patricia, who tends the bar in the evening, again is a true asset to the Nafsika, creating a warm and inviting atmosphere in which to enjoy a cocktail or to! Patricia also runs her own Hairdressing Salon across the road from the hotel. I would highly recommend her to anyone looking for a simple cut to a full restyle. The haircut she gave me was the best I'd ever had and I am not the only one to say so!

Overall, We had a perfect stay at The Nafsika hotel and would recommend it to everyone. What more could you want? Fantastic staff, great food, comfortable rooms and a perfect location. Wish I was back there now!!!

Other thing to see/do...
- Get a Hair cut at Patricia's!
- Try out the natural clay mask right at the end of the beach
- Snorkelling around the old harbour
- The new ice cream shop at the top of the village (Wonderful home made ice cream!)
- For one night try Beachcombers restaurant across the road, The fresh fish is wonderful and the sunset is legendry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tori159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just arrived back from the Nafsika Hotel in San Stefanos after 14 nights with Thompson on a half board basis.

On arrival to the hotel, we were shown to our rooms and helped with our luggage. We travelled as a group of 6, 3 adult couples. 2 couples had sea view rooms (twin beds) and myself and my partner had a hillside view (double bed). I do not feel that I missed out with the hillside view as the view was still pleasant, and had the advantage of shade in the afternoons.

The rooms were comfortably furnished, with a kettle in the rooms- however no fridge. Although this would make a nice addition to the rooms, it is common in Greece to use evaporated milk, and the branded "noy noy" is available in the local supermarket (3-5 minute walk), however i would recommend the "light" to avoid a more creamy tea!
There is no TV in the rooms, however I didnt feel I missed out on this.
Beds were very comfortable and nobody had trouble sleeping, and 2 pillows per person made it all the better!
Air Conditioning is available at an extra cost, however I would highly to get this as it allows a cool room without the risk of insect bites. Mosquitos in the local area are pretty vicious, and would highly recommend bringing insect repellant, we used the medium Jungle Formula each night to keep them away- everyone smells of Deet so it isnt much of an issue. A safe draw is available for a fee of £5 a week and £15 deposit, and is big enough for passports, money and tickets.

So after your room, the other important point, Food.
Staying half board, this entitled you to a simple breakfast and 3 course evening meal.
Breakfast consisted of a pot of tea or coffee, a glass of orange juice drink, 2 pieces of toast and a piece of cake/ small croissant. It is possible to add extras onto this breakfast if you prefer at a small cost- for example 2 rashers of bacon and 2 eggs was an extra 2.50EU or a bowl of Greek yoghurt and honey again at 2.50EU. We did have extras most mornings but we know others that just had the basic breakfast.
The evening meal is from a half board menu not the full menu however we didn't find this too restrictive as it was a 2 week rotation. There is 4 choices for starters and 4 choices for main course, Tea, Coffee and a desert was available as well. There were items on the menu that were at an extra fee, mainly items such as steak. Our Favorite meals included Theodora's Moussaka and the Greek Pork Stew- The best pork I have ever tasted! All food was very tasty and often found the food in large portions.

The staff of the Nafsika are all so so friendly and helpful and cannot find fault with them. Stephanos is always so happy in the mornings and really makes your day, and the evening team work so hard! Spiros does everything he can to help make your stay special and we saw that he is very good with children.

The pool and surrounding area is always clean and tidy, and we never had problems finding a sunbed. The pool is a great way to cool off and the beach is just across the road. The pool is very deep at the one end and would be worth taking armbands for any children that cannot swim. The beach stays shallow for quite a way, but is quite cold! One end (The other end from the Nafsika end) has an area for the Nudist beach. Snorkelling in the bay was possible when it was calm wand many species of fish were seen around the old harbor area.

Other wildlife locally were the terrapins the the stream, along with frogs and dragonflies. There is a variety of bird life if that is your thing, with Scops Owls, Swallows (both European and Red-Rumped) and House Martins all common, and we have seen Red Backed, Lesser Grey and Woodchat shrikes all identified. We have also seen an unidentified Eagle and Falcons to add into the mix.

There are numerous trips available for those that are interested, trips to Albania, Parga and Paxos, Paleo, Corfu Town were readily available. We booked our trip with San Stefanos Travel which is next door but one to the supermarket.

To sum up the holiday at the Nafsika, I couldnt have dreamed of a better holiday. Instantly relaxed, Good Food, Good Hospitality and Good company. Cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank LizClipo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and myself together with another couple spent two weeks in July at the Nafsika and have had a marvellous time. The weather was perfect, the hotel is in a wonderful setting 20 yards from the beach and the food was amazing. The waiters Nicos, Chris and Stephanos could not do enough for you, they were wonderful. The rooms could do with a little decorating and the shower is ... interesting, do you get hot water or cold!! but it doesn't matter as the whole place is really lovely. Would definately recommend and return. Would recommend you pay the extra for a sea view. Don't forget to take something to ward off the mosquito's!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room then air conditioning is not needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DameDiddleum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at The Nafsika Hotel for 10 nights from 21st June to the 1st July and we were treated like we were royalty.
Nothing seemed to much to Speros or the rest of the guys working at the Nafsika and by the end of the holiday we felt like family.
The hotel is in a brilliant setting - 20 metres from the beach, has the most perfect (and quiet) swimming pool, serves absolutely fabulous food and has the most wonderful people staying. One couple we met had stayed there 27 times!!!
This was easily the most relaxing holiday I've ever been on but did manage to do plenty of walking and sightseeing around the local area. The local Corfu brewery been 15 mins walk away.
Quite simply, a fantastic holiday at a fantastic hotel, in a fantastic resort run by fantastic people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ScottnCherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Stefanos
0.3 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thomas Bay
Thomas Bay
#3 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
330 reviews
6.9 mi away
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
Akrotiri Beach Hotel
#1 of 13 in Paleokastritsa
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
Philoxenia Hotel Corfu
#1 of 4 in Ermones
683 reviews
13.7 mi away
Kontokali Bay Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Tria Adelphia
Tria Adelphia
#2 of 8 in Arillas
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nafsika Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nafsika Hotel

Property: Nafsika Hotel
Address: Agios Stefanos Beach | Avliotes, Agios Stefanos 490 81, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Stefanos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Agios Stefanos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you choose to stay at Hotel Nafsika you're choosing to stay in a charming, family-run hotel that enjoys a wonderful location. But that's not all. It also offers up a locally renowned Greek taverna (restaurant) and a level of service that will make you feel like a member of the family in no time at all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Nafsika Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nafsika Hotel Corfu/Agios Stefanos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing