We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agios Stefanos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kapetanios Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks self catering holiday in these apartments. What can we say, it was fantastic and we will definately be returning. The apartments are basic but exceptionally clean. The maid came into the apartments every day to do general cleaning and changed the bedding and towels every other day. The staff (Dom and Yannis) made us very welcome and couldn't do enough for us. Going in September was the ideal place to relax and the weather was hot!!!! The resort its self was lovely and there was no overcrowding on the beaches, plenty of room between the sunbeds. There is plenty of choice to eat and I can honestly say we never had a bad meal. The Little Prince, Beachcomber and Zorbas are definatley worth a visit. Then maybe a visit to Condors to end your night with a little entertainment. Overall it was a fabulous resort/holiday and we will defiantley be going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jennie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 142 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend booked the Kapetanios quite late on a cheap deal through Thomas Cook so we were expecting basic but we weren't worried as-long as it was clean and we had air con.

Well we arrived in Corfu (flight went very smooth) hopped on the transfer coach went through some resorts such as Sidari that we were very glad we weren't staying at (very British crowd; egg & chips, karaoke, go-carts etc) and we finally got to Agios Stafanos (or San Stef as most people call it) it did take ages on the coach due to the route the tour operator choose (about just over 2 hours transfer from the airport) but we were so pleased when we arrived.

There is an old block as-well as two new blocks and sods law we were in the old block; yes it was very dated and our balcony looked over the apartment owners house but it was spotlessly clean and our air con and safety deposit box for the week only cost 45 euro which we thought was very reasonable. There were a couple of issues with our room the shower (usual Greek style with a curtain that doesn't fit and that floods the whole bathroom) went from hot to cold to blasting out to next to no water, there wasn't very much lighting in the bedroom (especially by the dressing table) so I had to make sure I put my make up on before the sunset so I could see what I was doing and the wooden slates on the beds weren't attached so my boyfriend sat down and almost went through the bed as the slates slide out. But all that said it was fine on the plus side we'd only paid for a studio and we got an apartment.

The owner and Yiannis and Dominic who work the bar are lovely and can't do enough for you they really made us feel at home (Dominic used to work in a coffee bar and makes fantastic frappe, cappuccino & black coffees). The pool area is big with plenty of sunbeds (fabric ones not those hard plastic things), it has big trees so there's shady and sunny areas and again the pool is really clean. The food at Kapetanios was really good and great value for money (the homemade burger is huge!) we vegged around the pool during the day and eat lunch at the Kapetanios for the whole week (very lazy I know).

Cost wise the hotel and the area were extremely cheap we came back with euros left over; on average an evening meal in town (two starters, two mains, half a litre of the local wine and a big bottle of water) was 30 euro.

Restaurants we tried over our 7 night stay; Ozzie Oil, Minstrals, Beachcombers Bistro, 2 Star, Olympia and Zorbas. We would definitely recommend Ozzie Oil (food is a fusion of Ozzie & Greek cooking and is absolutely delicious) but you will need to book as it gets really busy (just pop in and see the owner to book a table), Olympic was also really good (local sausage is fab), Beachcombers Bistro was nice (if a little pretentious) but good food, Minstrels was ok but I wouldn't recommend 2 Star or Zorbas (food was average nothing special).

Bar wise we mainly went to Bar 38 Yiannis behind the bar is lovely and a real laugh ... then we tended to go back to Kapetanios and drink in the hotel bar with other guests and Yiannis (good times).

We went to the beach which is huge with fine soft sand though the sea does get a bit rough; we were advised to be careful of the under current as this can get a bit strong and a couple of people had drowned this season. In relation to the beach you will hear Kapetanios referred to being up "cardiac hill" it's a tiny hill and you're in town in no-time unless you have health or walking problems you'll have no issues with the hill (little tip if you're going to the beach look out for the sign for Havana Beach Bar on the way down the hill you can cut down to the beach this way save walking all the way into town).

We had a great holiday at Kapetanios we normally hire a car and go out exploring but we were happy to just relax around the hotel pool reading and swimming (which isn't like us) and i think says a lot about what a nice place the hotel is. We met some lovely people at the hotel who have been coming year after year and that also speaks volumes. We have been travelling to the Greek Islands for years and have stayed in various accommodation but we would highly recommend Kapetanios!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Gem2523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

we stayed at the kapetanios apartments in august. The bar staff Dominik and Yanni are so friendly and welcoming on the first day on arriving and throughout our holiday. The apartments were spotless and the maids cleaned them every day. 50 yards down the road we looked forward to watching the sunset every evening. there are plenty of restaurants all serving delious food. Our favourite were Olympia with friendly waiters at your service and the Barras bar which also had friendly waiters. The beach was a soft sandy beach with plenty of sunlougers. Definately going back next year.

Room Tip: High floors have panaramic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank macs300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

The first night of staying here I fell in love with the scenary , it was a lovely quiet hotel which gave good looks on the city, the bar staff (Dominic in the morning) and (Yanis in the evening) were absoulutly brilliant there is nothing they wouldn't do for you! Have a lovely coca cola zero in the bar whilst listening to Dominic singing and making you feel welcome and have a lovely time during the night to early hrs of the morning whilst Yanis looks after you in the hotel like his own , air conditioning is 35 euro's per week which was a bit of a misunderstanding during half way through the holiday as we wasn't told it would cost this much but things were sorted out during the week , the maids (cleaners) bar staff are absoulutly brilliant and treat u with the respect that people normally treat each and ever other like , am still here for the last night in Room 6 (03/09/12). The neighbours we have are a amazing set of people and will respect you like there own , the only let down is the steep hill which caused problems when we 1st got here as I have had a hip operation and the way the manager re acted to the price of the A/C but overall the room is very spacious and homely , the other let down is the shower sink on the floor! The amount of water that nearly floods out your bathroom is unberleavable , overall the people here are lovely and places to check out in Agios Stefanos are the Condor, sidari , palacastrista and the aqua land waterpark not forgetting the Yellow Sumberiene, definetly a place to come and enjoy a lovely summer good luck people who plan to stay here next season! Enjoy..

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martin 1997 + Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Most of the reviews have this spot on. We've travelled a lot to greece and this was one of the best places we've stayed. We went here as ourkids are getting a bit older and we wanted somewhere a bit more busy and this was perfect. Apartment we had was big and kept spotlessly clean. We stayed in the older block up the hill. Air con was €10 per night for two units, which was cheaper than other places we've stayed. It was pretty quiet at night considering it was the busy season.

Dominic and yiannis at the bar were both stars and genuinely nice people. One surprise was therange of food and the quality at the bar, which was very good. Pool was immaculate and enough sun beds to go around.

One top tip. If you go to the san stefanos supermarket to stock up (it's the white one down the main drag), they will deliver up the hill for free. If you'v walked up the hill carrying six bottles of water, this is a good thing!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
8  Thank jools&alison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Returned on 14th August after 2 weeks at the very nice Kapetanios Apartments.

I'm going to keep it short as most of the other reviews sum up what a great place to stay this is to stay with many returning families / friends year after year.

Situated up a bit of a hill, but no probs as long as your quite mobile, but the views of Agios Stephanos are really nice.

5 minutes walk down to the nearest supermaket and another minute or two to the only ATM in the resort at the Thomas Bay Hotel, the next available is 3KM away at Avilotes, which is a real nice walk if your up to it.

We had Rooms 13 and 14 in the new block, very well equiped, very modern bathroom, Room 14 really spacious with large balcony, The New Block is much brighter compared to the older parts of the apartments, but saying that, we had a room in the older part for the final day and it was very nice, again very large..

Dominic was so friendly during the day and was on the go all the time, what a very hard working, genuine, friendly and honest guy.

Yannis was the same during the evenings and always had a smile whatever time it was, again, true gentleman.

The place is spotless, nothing out of place and the staff were always on hand to lend some helpful advice on eating out or places to go around the area.

Overall we had a fantastic time and would definately recommend to people intending to go to Kapetanios Apartments.

Room Tip: New Block Rooms 11-16 are brighter and more modern. Older Rooms are a spacious and more traditional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank PTTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a wonderful holiday staying at the Kapetanios Apts. It was clean, the staff were helpful and friendly and the bar snacks were good. The views were lovely and the hill was fine for anyone who is able bodied. The pool area was great and never too crowded. The beach was nearby and is fabulous; spacious, with soft sand, warm, shallow water and sometimes good waves. Even though we were there in August it was never too busy. We visited several restaurants in Agios Stefanos (a short walk away from the hotel) and the service and food was great in all of them. If you want a peaceful, relaxing holiday in a pretty location I would highly recommend these apartments.

Room Tip: Apartment 18 had good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NuggetsNSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Stefanos
0.1 mi away
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
Delfino Blu Boutique Hotel
#1 of 4 in Agios Stefanos
644 reviews
0.1 mi away
Terezas Hotel
Terezas Hotel
#1 of 14 in Agios Stefanos
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Perros Hotel
Perros Hotel
#3 of 7 in Agios Stefanos
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vicky Apartments
Vicky Apartments
#85 of 771 in Corfu
117 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pictures Suites
Pictures Suites
#4 of 7 in Agios Stefanos
32 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sugar & Almond - Luxury Apartments
Sugar & Almond - Luxury Apartmen...
#5 of 14 in Agios Stefanos
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapetanios Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Apartments

Address: Agios Stefanos, Avliotes, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Avliotes > Agios Stefanos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Agios Stefanos
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Kapetanios Apartments Hotel Agios Stefanos Nw
Kapetanios Apartments Corfu/Agios Stefanos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing