We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Place for Two”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Omeath, Cooley Peninsula, County Louth

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Philip M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Two”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed here last year: June 9th-16th. It was outstanding value, we had a great welcome and Helen took genuine care in making sure we were happy and enjoying ourselves.
We had looked initially at Carlingford but found it very expensive; beforehand I had some reservations about Omeath, mainly because it wasn't Carlingford, but its location was brilliant and being nearer to Newry meant the journeys out to The Mourne Mountains and others which meant we needed to go through Newry were shorter - and Carlingford is just down the road.
When we go back we will try to book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very high spec of the house
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of Ferryhill Cottage. As you say the cottage is actually very well placed for access to Newry and the Mournes, and it takes only 10 minutes to get on to the north/south motorway which opens up access to all of the east side of Ireland. Its great to get such positive feedback from my visitors, and hopefully I can welcome you back someday soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan...
Gorey, Ireland
1 review
“Wonderful in every way”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This has to be one of the most relaxing and pleasant self-catering cottages I've ever stayed in. The house itself was perfect - not only was it wonderfully intimate, quiet and comfortable, but it was carefully stocked with everything needed for a relaxing stay. The owners thought of everything! But its location is also excellent: nestled on the hillside, the views are wonderful, just up the road is the Flagstaff viewpoint with its stunning views of the surrounding countryside, there's a fine pub/restaurant less than five minutes' walk away, while with the car the historic village of Carlingford with its fine restaurants is ten minutes away, and Newry is a couple of minutes away for the shops. But from here one can explore the Cooleys, the Mournes, the countryside of Down and Armagh, and because the motorway is just across the mountain (a ten minute drive) it's a great base for heading to Belfast, County Meath, or even Dublin. I can't recommend this cottage highly enough: I'd love to go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holly1968
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage,wonderful setting,great value for money,considerate owner”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Cottage is cozy, modern, clean, has all the mod cons. I stayed with my husband&our dog, we all had a great time. The cottage is surrounded by wonderful scenery.Beautiful mountainous woods to the back&a great view of a lough at the front.
I would recommend this cottage if you are looking for somewhere to chill out&recharge your batteries or as a base to come home to in the evening after calling to the towns&cites that are so excessible.
Extremely happy :-)

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karenokia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Such a cosy ,warm,secret,romantic hideaway.”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

On entering this cottage we knew that we had chosen a beautiful, luxurious getaway. The kitchen was excellent in its layout, everything that you used at home was here and of high quality. WE loved the woodburner fire in the spacious living room, the sofa very comfy when we had a games night. Shower in bathroom was powerful, very refreshing at any time of the day!!!The bed was like falling into a cloud at the end of a shopping trip in Newry, Carlingford, We look forward to returning to Ferryhill cottage, thanks to Helen for directions. Also recommend the pub at the end of the road, yummy food&friendly staff!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the property
Liked least: The early morning wake up call by the rooster, too early
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DONYOUNG...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic,Enjoyable,Rural,Romantic,Yummy,Hideaway,Idyllic,Luxurious,Lovely.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

From the moment we walked into the cottage,we knew that we had chosen our holiday home well. Everything that u wanted at home was here and much more.My partner really liked the layout of the kitchen.At night it was really cosy to have the fire lit.When you woke in the morning there was a sight of hens running about with horses in the field at the side of the cottage,then there was sheep in field behind cottage, felt like we were on a farm but noneof the hard work or smells.Will be booking again very soon, thanks to Helen for her help in recommending places to dine out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location provided a very quiet rural place but within distance to other amentities
Liked least: The laneway upto the cottage was very steep,but in the car didnt matter much
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nemo50
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very special!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Perfect in every way!
Full of character but with all modern appliances and the most wonderful view. Comfy and homely, spotlessly clean and full of atmosphere! Complete privacy at the back with a view of the hills behind and the ever changing beautiful skies.
Near Sainsburys in The Quays, Newry and also near a wonderful pub with great grub and beautiful garden, 2 mins down the road by foot.
From the cottage you can see Narrow Water Castle and the green fields of County Down.
Simply wonderful and the nicest host Helen!! Perfect for two people!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing