We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as expected or advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Painted Boat Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Madeira Park
Certificate of Excellence
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not as expected or advertised”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We decided to stay after assurance from the agent that we would have a quiet and peaceful place. First night was good as there was no guests around us. Next day was completely opposite. The 'wedding' started to arrive on Thursday and we had one group check into the room above us and they started preparing for a dinner party. This resort is built paper thin and you can hear everything! We even had the guests sweep the outside deck on top of us while we sat outside. A complaint did nothing about the party, but we did get moved to another building on site. This room had more of the wedding check in above us, with kids, and with kids from other families joining them.
Like a Christmas gift with pretty paper on the box and a lump of coal inside. Noisy, very noisy! Not only will we never go back, we will spread the word to anyone who plans to visit the 'Sunshine Coast'. Too bad as it is an amazing place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hockey_guy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Painted Boat Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Painted Boat. We would like to assure guests that we take all feedback very seriously. We would like to sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us on site. We would encourage you to contact our Lodge Manager to further discuss your concerns (pbmanager@crmr.com).
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Painted Boat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    61
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
128
146
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just came back from a weekend here attending my cousin's wedding. As a venue for smallish weddings it is spectacular. The villas are very roomy, and fully furnished with all you could need if you wanted to eat in, including a BBQ on every deck. Lots of privacy if you are traveling with a few people as the 2 bedrooms are quite physically separated. ( I was there with my sister who tends to snore, and I didn't hear a thing!) Master bedroom has huge ensuite. Fireplace in the living room.

With respect to the facilities at the resort: We made use of the kayak rentals and spent a lovely few hours touring around. Maps are provided to show you safer areas to paddle (not too much current). We saw seals, deer, heron and lots of starfish in the shallow waters. They also rent paddle boards. There is a pool with a fantastic view, and the spa was very relaxing: if you opt for any of the spa treatments the spa garden experience is thrown in for free (usually $40 on its own, it has a sauna, hot pool with jets and heated waterfall, glacial showers and salt pool). The service throughout was excellent: very friendly, very prompt. The restaurant also features a great chef so I would recommend eating there. It does not however serve breakfast so you either have to head to the nearby village (only a couple minutes walk) to get supplies from the grocery store, or eat at a couple of cafes that are in the village, or arrange for a breakfast basket form the resort (but the latter is a bit pricey). There is also a fisherman's wharf just near the village where you can buy fresh prawns and crab right off the boat. My one quibble is that they had contradictory information in the villa on hours/pricing of some of the services: in the binder they have in the villa the spa treatments had one price but the separate spa pamphlet also in the villa had different ones, but really that was the ONLY thing I could pick at. I would say that it is definitely more affordable if you are traveling in a larger group. It was a bit pricey for just 2 of us, but a real treat!

Room Tip: Unit 22, one of the larger ones has the perfect view onto the marina and into the bay, but might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libgirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This review is a long time coming and I apologise to the staff of the Painted Boat for not lauding their praises earlier!

To cut a very long story short, my fiance (who is Tanzanian) and I (Aussie who now calls Tanzania home) decided to get married in Vancouver in April this year as at the time that was the most central location for us and our immediate families.

My fiance, of course, did the bulk of the planning and found what seemed like the perfect place for the ceremony - the Painted Boat Resort on the Sunshine Coast just outside of Vancouver.

After averting a near disaster when it looked as though my fiances father wasn't going to make it from Tanzania, the ceremony went ahead a day later than planned with more than a little help from the management and staff of the resort who were awesome!

Overall experience was outstanding with the location hard to beat and the great food and staff the icing on the (wedding) cake!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoom_Photo_Safaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Painted Boat Resort, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent wedding at Painted Boat. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate the last minute changes. We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Painted Boat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Everything about this resort is amazing!
Condo: We had a group of 8 and had plenty of room in our condo (#13) The condo's are very well equipped with plenty of kitchen space and all the necessary kitchen tools. There is also lots of storage for the groceries that can be purchased a short 5 minute walk away. The beds in the Master and Guest bedroom are super comfortable! There were also 3 hide-a-beds which made the sleeping arrangements easy for our large group. The condo below us was having an party after the wedding and we didnt even hear them at all. We also had a very large gathering (30+ people) in one condo and there was plenty of room to set up tables on the patio to eat outdoors.
Restaurant: The meal prepared for the wedding was excellent. The restaurant staff was super helpful and very accomodating to our every request.
Resort: The resort is nicely situated with a great view of the water and mountains. The buildings are all within walking distance of the infinity pool and hot tub (which are great) Kayak and bike rentals are available right from the main office and are reasonably priced. The kayaking is great with many amazing sights from the water.

Room Tip: Everything about this place was great! It was my first visit to the Sunshine Coast but already can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heebs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Beautiful property, with GREAT suites!!! The suites have everything you could possibly need or want and are decorated so perfectly. Having a pool was icing on the cake for this luxury accommodation. We also liked being close enough to Madeira Park, to get groceries to have our own BBQ dinner on our private deck!!!

Room Tip: Probably the best spa I have ever been too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoelleWeidner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Rented a 2 bedroom condo overlooking the harbour for 3 days. Great size apartment with 2 large bedrooms both with large ensuites. Good quality beds with good quality linen. TV in lounge and bedroom. Plenty of storage room. Comfortable seating both inside and on the deck. Free wi fi. Deck had large barbeque which was fun to cook on. Kitchen large- with all you need. The apts. are srviced if you wish. Resort has pool and hot tub. Restaurant also within resort but did not try as shops 5 mins away. Check in quite slow and rooms not ready until 4pmw whcih is quite late. Downside of stay .........people above us were noisy and the sound travelled!!! This was bad luck but be aware if you stay !!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

On the way to Painted Boat, I struck a reef in my 45' boat. Needless to say, I was very depressed. Ryan (the GM) referred me to a diver who took pictures and noticed several important items.......the damage was not as I thought. The ride home was going to be very long as we would only be using one engine. Ryan found us airplane rides for several of the family (2 kids under 4) which we did not use but he went out of his way to accommodate our needs.
The room was wonderful, wanted to stay 2 nights but with the boat problem we headed home the next day. We definately will come back and can't thank enough to the Painted Boat staff for their help in our trials.
thanks again,
Jim Morley

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Painted Boat Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Painted Boat. Thank for your kind words Jim, we are grateful you chose the Painted Boat for a stop on your vacation. As a Resort we strive for excellence on all fronts. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Manager for Painted Boat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Park
0.5 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
10.4 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
7.0 mi away
Ruby Lake Resort
Ruby Lake Resort
#4 of 4 in Madeira Park
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
803 reviews
10.4 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
1.3 mi away
Pender Harbour Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Boat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Boat Resort

Property: Painted Boat Resort
Address: PO BOX 153 | 12849 Lagoon Road, Madeira Park, British Columbia V0N 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Madeira Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Madeira Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Painted Boat Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted Boat Resort & Marina is the premier resort on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. Located two hours from Vancouver /Horseshoe Bay via BC Ferries and Highway 1, the Resort features 31 west-coast inspired, 2-bedroom/two bath villas on the oceanfront, each complete with a kitchen, patio and barbecue. Painted Boat offers an infinity pool(open seasonally), hot tub, fresh regional cuisine at The Lagoon Restaurant (open seasonally), a fitness center, and on-site kayak rentals. The Resort is home to the only full service luxury spa and wellness garden - open year round - on the Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Painted Boat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Boat Hotel Madeira Park
Painted Boat Resort Madeira Park, Sunshine Coast, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing