We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough time made easy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Painted Boat Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Madeira Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

On the way to Painted Boat, I struck a reef in my 45' boat. Needless to say, I was very depressed. Ryan (the GM) referred me to a diver who took pictures and noticed several important items.......the damage was not as I thought. The ride home was going to be very long as we would only be using one engine. Ryan found us airplane rides for several of the family (2 kids under 4) which we did not use but he went out of his way to accommodate our needs.
The room was wonderful, wanted to stay 2 nights but with the boat problem we headed home the next day. We definately will come back and can't thank enough to the Painted Boat staff for their help in our trials.
thanks again,
Jim Morley

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, General Manager at Painted Boat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Painted Boat. Thank for your kind words Jim, we are grateful you chose the Painted Boat for a stop on your vacation. As a Resort we strive for excellence on all fronts. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Manager for Painted Boat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 422 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here for only 1 night (Unit #20) to attend a wedding nearby at The Rockwater Secret Cove Resort (besides their exclusive tent-house suites, they do even compare to The Painted Boat!!). The 4 of us shared an "Inside suite" for $352/night on the wedding rate. The unit had 2 bedrooms (1 King with full bathroom plus soaker tub & 1 Double/queen with adjacent bathroom). Big kitchen with dining area and a cozy sitting area overlooking the marina. Washer and dryer. Big BBQ on balcony. Plenty of closet and storage space. This would be an ideal place to spend a week with the family! There is an IGA nearby for groceries. Shaded parking spot right outside the unit.

Check-in was easy and front desk staff were helpful and friendly. We rented 2 double kayaks ($35/2hr) one morning then had an amazing lunch at The Restaurant - the cioppino is to die for! On top of great food, the service was brilliant and this was consistent throughout the resort.

Located about 1 hour drive from Langdale ferry terminal. After sunset the roads can be a bit tricky as there are no street lights anywhere. NO pets or smoking allowed. The resort and its grounds are very well maintained. Good layout of the property as well as each unit. You'll find everything you need from towel hooks and a toothbrush holder in the bathroom to a waterproof map for kayaking. Great attention to detail.

The resort also makes a perfect wedding venue for a small party - the Restaurant has a great space, and there is a deck and 'ballroom' underneath, overlooking the marina. Food and service are very reliable.

Overall would definitely recommend this place, and would return with family and friends for a longer vacation!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms overlook the marina. some are a little higher up/further away from the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Painted Boat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Painted Boat. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overnight accommodations and dining on site in The Restaurant. The team here is focused on highlighting the abundance of fresh ingredients available on the Sunshine coast which makes for a vibrant dining experience. We are also pleased you experienced the exceptional service which we are known for. We hope to welcome you and your friends back in the future!

Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

These are essentially very large two bedroom, two bathroom units with a view of the water. They are owned and the owners put them into a rental pool. They overlook a harbor and two Marina's so with the boats coming and going and the eagles flying by there is lots to see.
The spa is very nice with a salt water pool and a large hot tub with a massage waterfall. They also have kayaks and the harbor area is very calm with lots of coves.
Kitchen facilities and a Barbeque were provided in the suite so we didn't get to use the restaurant but understand from other guests the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RazTazBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The title says it all. The place is FIRST CLASS all the right down to the non-smearing toilet paper. Stainless steel appliances, Whirlpool washer dryer, stone tile flooring ... and if the main floring is not real maple, it fooled me! Customer service is awesome ... we needed an extension cable and on a different occasion we needed a set of jumper cables ... and both requests were met AND delivered to our door within 10 minutes. Awesome!

We've been cruising and living off our boat for a few days and met some family here. It was nice to get off the boat to a REAL shower for a few days. That said, I've been coming to the "old" resort since I was a kid. Its really not much of a fishing resort as the old place. The docks are in great shape with water and 30A power but there is no place to clean your fish anymore and no store to stock up on supplies and boat hardware, no dumpster for your boat garbage ... though there is an IGA and another marine store about 5-8 minute walk away.

Top notch, first class ... definately coming again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mickey4264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just had our wedding at The Painted Boat and don't have a bad thing to say about it. The setting speaks for itself but the entire experience was amazing for us and all our guests. The food is top notch, the condos are beautiful, massive, and stocked with every kitchen tool imaginable, and the pool and gym are brand new. There are also countless things to do to keep your guests entertained for the weekend when they're not attending the actual wedding. We were able to plan a fishing trip on the Friday morning where they caught Cod and a Salmon that we served for dinner, there's a really fun 9-hole golf course 10 minutes away and the Kayaks were getting rented all weekend.

On top of all this, the team at The Painted Boat are amazing to deal with. Lori and Ryan were super helpful through out the whole process even making sure our party was lumped together in a block of condos for ease of visiting. The night itself went off without a hitch and everything about the entire weekend was beyond our expectations. Like I said, I can't think of a single negative thing to say about the place or the experience.

Thanks!
Jen

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsmejtjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRMRManagment, Sales Coordinator at Painted Boat Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to Painted Boat and congratulations! We were so happy to welcome you and your guests to the lodge to celebrate your special day. We are so pleased you and all of your guests enjoyed the entuire stay.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future!
Many Thanks and Kind Regards,
Sales Coordinator for Painted Boat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I just returned from a 49th reunion of a small group of high school pals - what a treat - the stunning weather was a bonus. Peaceful and beautiful, Painted Boat Resort has become our favourite retreat location. Just an hour's drive north of the Langdale ferry terminal on the Sunshine Coast or an equally scenic two ferry boat ride from the Courtenay area on Vancouver Island feels like a world away. The beds were amazing, as well as the two queen sofa beds, allowing private sleeping quarters for at least 4 people. Sharing would double that number. Friendly staff, wonderful pool and spa, and a waterfront restaurant make this an ideal getaway location.

Room Tip: if you need extra space, the lofted rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you want the all time perfect vacation in the most beautiful spot on earth...go to the Painted Boat.
The friendly, warm staff will give you your keys to a divine condo..that boasts bedrooms, bathrooms (master with it's own jaccuzzi), washer/dryer, the most perfectly equipped kitchen, a dining room with everything you could think of...living room...surround sound system, a porch equipped with BBQ, tables and chairs and....the world's most gorgeous scenery in front of your eyes. Overlooking the bay...filled with boats...you can see eagles flying right past your window!

If this isn't enough......the Painted Boat Restaurant boasts an incredible chef, beautiful menu and exquisite food beautifully served!!! Eating at chef Scott Watts tables is a treat beyond words.
Hurry...there may not be space!!!

Room Tip: There is no room service, I don't think (perhaps there is) but this silly page wouldn't let...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golf-a-go-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madeira Park
0.5 mi away
Sunshine Coast Resort Hotel & Marina
10.4 mi away
West Coast Wilderness Lodge
5.8 mi away
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
Rockwater Secret Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Halfmoon Bay
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Backeddy Resort & Marina
24.2 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
23.7 mi away
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
Tigh-Na-Mara Resort
#4 of 13 in Parksville
2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Boat Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Boat Resort

Address: PO BOX 153 | 12849 Lagoon Road, Madeira Park, British Columbia V0N 2H0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Sunshine Coast > Madeira Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Madeira Park
Price Range: $196 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Painted Boat Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Painted Boat Resort & Marina is the premier resort on the Sunshine Coast of British Columbia, Canada. Located two hours from Vancouver /Horseshoe Bay via BC Ferries and Highway 1, the Resort features 31 west-coast inspired, 2-bedroom/two bath villas on the oceanfront, each complete with a kitchen, patio and barbecue. Painted Boat offers an infinity pool(open seasonally), hot tub, fresh regional cuisine at The Lagoon Restaurant (open seasonally), a fitness center, and on-site kayak rentals. The Resort is home to the only full service luxury spa and wellness garden - open year round - on the Sunshine Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Painted Boat Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Boat Hotel Madeira Park
Painted Boat Resort Madeira Park, Sunshine Coast, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing