We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Real de Catorce
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Meson de la Abundancia
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Real de Catorce
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I didn't actually stayed in this hotel, but I had luch in the restaurant. It is amazing to find a place like this in the middle of a "ghost town"; the food is great, service is excellent and it is not that expensive. If you're walking around the streets of Real de Catorce, you should stop there for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neto2688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Meson de la Abundancia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 120 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

As soon as you step into the hotel you step back in time. The rooms are on various floors around a beautiful courtyard setting. The rooms are lovely. Our party used 4 rooms and each was very different but striking. Breakfast was good. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would definitely return

Room Tip: Ignore swimming pool comment - pressed in error, but can't delete it! Suites are worth the ex...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

stayed there 2 weeks ago with friends. we arrived at 11,30 and it was freezing outside (0* C), the temperature of the place overall was excellent, warm.
We were a group of 8, so we took the large room of 4 beds/1 bathroom. The staff was super friendly, they even helped us to arrange a trip on horses for the next day with the local rancheros.

the mattresses of the beds were solid, although nobody had any trouble sleeping. There is no TV, no wifi. Cel signal was ok though. All beds were packed with more than enough blankets/confis to be warm and have a good sleep. There was plenty of hot water in the shower, good water pressure and enough towels for all of us. room was clean. There is a decent bar at the hotel and the restaurant serves magnificent pizzas. there is a red hot oily salsa that goes excellent with the pizza. Great value bottles of wine too.

I have camped in Real before and stayed in another hotels of the same price range but this ambiance of Meson is beyond excellent. Decor is impeccable. Check it out. Will definitely go back and stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neto_saavedra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We looked at a few hotel rooms in Real and this was by far the best place. The room we had, #8, downstairs, had a lovely sitting area and was HUGE. The hotel is a well-restored building with plenty of charm and character. The beds were comfortable and warm. The staff was friendly and so helpful.

The hotel's restaurant was among the best we experienced during our entire trip in Mexico. In fact, the salad I had there beat out all the rest - and who would've thought you'd be able to get a great salad in a remote mining town? A trio of Huichol musicians also performed during our meals.

My only regret about Abunduncia and Real de Catorce in general is that we didn't stay longer.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creolecruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I was very surprised to find a great restaurant in a lost town. I really enjoyed both my breakfast and dinner in this place, the best in Real de Catorce. Surely a great chef ran away from the big city to find it's sold in this little town and opened a great restaurant.

Room Tip: I didn't sleep in the hotel, I just only ate there.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank celta r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is a lovely hotel which really maintains the charm of the original building. Our room was large and quiet despite the windows opening to the main street outside. The food in the restaurant was really good and the service at all times helpful and friendly. Great place to stay in this spectacular town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnaveSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel has really nice rooms and it feels like home especially when it gets cold outside. The beds are so comfortable that you never want to get up...

I would say it's by far the best place in Real de Catorce if you get a room upstairs. There are only three of them, there are also rooms in the basement which we didn't like.

Unfortunately when we arrived thay said due to a reservation we had to change the room the next day which wasn't a problem. But the next day they told us they were fully booked now, so we had to leave the hotel and look for another one. That was the bad part of our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Real de Catorce
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rincon Magico
Hotel Rincon Magico
#4 of 7 in Real de Catorce
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shantiniketan, Morada de Paz
Shantiniketan, Morada de Paz
#7 of 7 in Real de Catorce
14 reviews
107.4 mi away
Hotel Real Bonanza
Hotel Real Bonanza
#8 of 10 in Real de Catorce
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Real Matehuala
Hotel Casa Real Matehuala
#3 of 3 in Matehuala
22 reviews
16.1 mi away
Las Palmas Midway Inn
Las Palmas Midway Inn
#2 of 3 in Matehuala
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ruinas Del Real
Ruinas Del Real
#3 of 10 in Real de Catorce
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meson de la Abundancia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meson de la Abundancia

Address: 11 Lanzagorta, Real de Catorce 78550, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > San Luis Potosi > Real de Catorce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Real de Catorce
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique concept in high quality accommodations in a Mexican colonial jewel built in 1863, where past and present merge seamlessly. Five rooms and six suites, tailor-made for absolute comfort, with different spaces, views, and sleeping arrangements to suit your taste. All rooms offer private baths, purified bottled water, high quality courtesy kits, fresh flowers, and a charming basket of regional sweets - with no television or phone to disrupt your rest. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing