We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Site+ Great people”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Francueil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Le Moulin Fort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2010

We have stayed at this site for the last 5 years some times staying for just time to book the local vets for the return trip to UK otherwise we have stayed for three or 4 weeks both in June and also September. The site is always immaculate, the toilet blocks are kept clean The staff are always extremely friendly, very helpful and will give advice to those in trouble .During a family bereavement we found both Sarah and John helpful in the extreme with advice and they allowed us to leave our caravan on site while we travelled back to the Northern UK for the funeral.
Despite advice to people in tents not to isolate themselves at the farthest part of the site some people insisted on going as far as possible from other campers. The security guard tried to advise people but was ignored . The Police were called and patrolled the area for three nights and suspicious incidents were reported and taken seriously and investigated... the site is great for exploring numerous chateau 's and local towns. Good on site Cafe with adequate meals ,great atmosphere and the barbecues are really great.
We will return again and again as the site is within an easy one day tow from the Channel tunnel the facilities are top knotch and the people are great including the campers themselves
Gordon & Joy and the Boys Barney and Max the dachs

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williamgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 92 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2010

Just visited this site and was impressed. The site is very well maintained and clean. We had a nicely sized pitch by the river and didn't feel too close or cramped next to other campers. The facilities are very good with excellent sanitary blocks for toilets, wash rooms and showers. Make sure you have a 20m extension lead at least for electric, the power points can be a distance from your pitch.

On the whole it's an excellent site. If i'm being picky it did feel as though i'd not left the UK as it was full of Brits, a little home from home. It didn't feel as though i was in France. If you like that idea then go for it, i doubt you'd be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank prideofcheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

the location is just superb, with the pretty village of Chenenceau just up the road, and the chateau just visible from the site. The area has lots to offer, and this site makes for a great base from which to explore the local area. We booked this site before we came across the reviews in this website, and we sere not sure what to expect. We were over the moon with our stay, security is 99% common sence and they do have notices telling you to be careful.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campercar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We came to this site through the Alan Rogers guidebook and were not disappointed. We were immediately made welcome and booked in for the barbeque that evening with live music. We had nice neighbours and sat with them with good food and live music which was excellent. I have never felt so comfortable at a site before, it was almost as if we had been there before.

The site was clean, as were showers etc, as you would expect. Clearly a lot of hard work has gone into this site, it shows. Our neighbours on the other side were German whilst those opposite were Dutch. They were enjoying the results in the World Cup more than we were ! Everyone seemed at ease, and relaxed, all very peaceful.

The Chateau at Chenonceaux is just 25 minutes walk away but well worth the visit both for the audio commentary and the gardens. It was hot though so ice creams and plenty of water were the order of the day.

Will we go back ? Sure will, we came away refreshed and exhilerated from our stayand next time like our neighbours we will use it as a base to visit some of theothe garden and chateaux.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgacolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

My wife and I have been attending Moulin Fort for many years, even before the current owners John and Sarah took it over. If you are not a party animal and observe reasonable standards, this is an excellent site. It is very well maintained, the staff are excellent and the owners are very helpful. If you push the boundaries, upset your neighbours and are a nuisance, don't come here because rowdiness, speeding and other anti social behaviour are NOT tolerated. John runs a nice, well tended and well behaved site. That's why I love it and it is my favourite site in France. Bob

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99gadgets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

I agree with everyone that this site is well placed and paeceful but please note if you are in a tent think twice before going as we had our tent slashed at night in 7 places making it difficult to use the tent for future holidays. The thieves apparently have been doing this for several years and so this should be made apparent to all tent users on booking and on arrival if you still choose to go. The owners were not that helpful really - if this happened in an area of my responsibility i would be more than helpful. They just put it down to local gypsies and really did not see the fuss in getting the police etc. I am glad we did as we have since claimed monies back for our tent as it was no longer usable.
We are adults and can in the main care for ourselves - but the owners showed little sympathy and did not ask how we were faring after this. The site despite what the owners say is not safe and they have not made aggressive attempts to resolve the issue if they had why is it still happening? they should have warned us speicifically instead of hanging up little signs stating look after your valuables. If you get a choice do not go to this site - the owners need to prove work has been done before they can promise changes.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank loverpool65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

My family and I have stayed at this site twice in recent years and we were very much looking forward to another visit. So I was very disappointed to read the reviews about thefts just prior to us leaving and because my daughter had a friend with her we would be pitching a pup tent next to our caravan so this added to my worries. However after locking up bikes and and valuables in car as we should do anyway (this reminds me the first time we were in France my husbands locked bike was taken off the top of our car and replaced with a wreck in front of the town hall in Calais! - so thieves are everywhere) I relaxed and soon forgot about the reviews. This site is in a lovely area within a beautiful setting. Pitches great size, flat and with some shade, informal kids club, clean toilets, nice cafe bar, great wine tasting night etc etc - lovely family site to which we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Tiftyaberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Francueil
1.1 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clair Cottage
Clair Cottage
#1 of 1 in Chisseaux
108 reviews
2.3 mi away
Chateau de Chissay
Chateau de Chissay
#1 of 2 in Chissay-en-Touraine
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel la Roseraie
Hotel la Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Chenonceaux
635 reviews
15.4 mi away
Camping les Acacias
Camping les Acacias
#1 of 1 in La Ville-aux-Dames
74 reviews
13.2 mi away
Camping les Peupliers
Camping les Peupliers
#2 of 2 in Montlouis-sur-Loire
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Le Moulin Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Le Moulin Fort

Address: 37150 Francueil, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Francueil
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Francueil
Number of rooms: 137
Also Known As:
Camping Le Moulin Fort Hotel Francueil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing