We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Room With A View”
Review of Serena Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Serena Suites
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Turunc
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A Room With A View”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We returned from Serena Suites yesterday,they are still refurbishing some apts.but ours was clean and comfy if basic(usual in Turkey) and the rooms are large with plenty of windows to let the air in.Beds and towels changed very regularly.The staff are very friendly and helpfull.The fenicula railway is good,we got it to the floor above our apt. so we walked downstairs instead of up them.We used taxis to get back from village most of the time as it's hard work for oldies in the heat(taxis cost about £3).Lots of sunbeds by pool and seats in the shade on the balcony above it.The food is v.good but portions were very large.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views ,ours was for two people and had a window over the beds that looked out to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aldr47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    34
    27
    12
    15
See reviews for
48
68
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I hope to write a balanced review to enable people to be able to decide if this accomodation is really suited to them!

Positives:

Beautiful panoramic view of sea and pine clad hills.
Lovely swimming pool and terraces to sunbathe on.
Staff friendly - not too imposing.
Food of a reasonable standard.
Free WIFI

Negatives

Very poor cleaning of rooms due to under staffing issue (one maid and her teenage daughter for 40 apartments)
No linen change or towel change , we had to go and find linen room and change these ourselves.Only 1 change in 12 days, if we hadn't taken matter into our hands - despite futile attempts to ask management.
Toilet or shower never cleaned -
Very little kitchen utensils
One rusty Baby Belling style camping stove on top of kitchen worktop.
The apartments are located some 600 meters away from the beach and shops and you have to ascend a very steep hill to reach them, not too much fun when the temperature is 40 degrees. 15 minutes down and 30 minutes up!
Loryma hotel above the apartments has a free shuttle bus for guests - Serena would do well to enter into discussions with them and see if they can share this service.
No evening entertainment - very quiet, some quiz nights would have been good or magic shows etc..

Turkish Night at apartments was offensive - Belly dancers coming over to male guests and demanding money be placed in between their breasts and refusing to take no for an answer - it was like a seedy strip club! Embarrassing in front of the children ,wives and partners.
I have been to Turkey on other occasions and never witnessed traditional dancers doing this! Cringy !
Owner of the apartments , who lives in Istanbul, has individual apartments at the Serena up for sale , so it would appear there is little interest in investing in their future and this now shows.
I would personally reccomend the apartments to fit/ strong , active, retired couples that are used to camping style quality accommodation and want some quiet time to read and enjoy good views.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WEAVERWELLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Turunc hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

we arrived about fourth o'clock in the morning, whole town and port was sleeping... quiet everywhere....hmm... small town...whos is this idea?:). hotel on the hill? not on the seaside? ups... and guess what we saw first? elevator on the hill... magnificent view when you are going up! worth lot of money:) we received huge apartament with balcony(603) few beers from bar and really lovely one week in Turunc. So..The Hotel on the Hill with Shisha bar, restaurant, swimming pool(excelent place) hammocks, large rooms with sleeping room and kitchenette(self-catering), large balcony and friendly staff. if I really would like to complain, there is only one problem, no problem, problem? Cicadas!!!:) hahahha everywhere!

Room Tip: rooms on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piotr d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Booked Serena Suites for the views after finding on Trip Advisor. Was not disappointed, the views from apartment are amazing.

The apartment was extremely basic, I have stayed in many apartments on my travels but Serena Suites are very very basic. We did not mind so much as we tend to be out exploring the surrounding area.

There is a kettle & two ring hob to cook with. (Although eating out very reasonable)

The maid came in twice to change the towels but had to ask management for bedding change. The maid did not sweep the floors nor did she clean. She only emptied the bin and changed towels. This was my first holiday abroad were I did not tip the maid!

Staff were very lovely and happy smilies all the time.

We could walk into town (5-10 mins) but had big bottles of water on return and would sometimes get a taxi back (10TL)

For your return home I recommend that you purchase a chicken wrap or similar for stay at airport as we were told by Rep that 45TL for a meal at the airport and that a McD. 2.85TL to our £.

We had no problem taking in food past the first security gate.

I am sure the views make up for the poor maid service.

Sunbeds are also an issue in that not enough for guests, we had nowhere to sunbath on our first day and spent most the day in apartment.

Enjoy the Amazing Views!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luci-fur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I, both 20 years of age went to Turkey for the first time last week (1-8 July 2013). We stayed at the Serena Suites Apartments in Turunc and thought it was severely underrated! First of all, the staff were amazing! When we arrived at the hotel they had someone carry our bags all the way to the room for us, they were all friendly and happy to help at any time of day or night! We didn't find the manager/owner to be pushy at all as some reviews have mentioned. He was very friendly, funny and always around if required. We found the hotel restaurant to be convenient especially in the mornings for breakfast and great for lunch and dinner. Food was always great and the prices were very reasonable. Breakfast roughly cost 20 lira (£7 for 2 meals and 2 drinks), dinner roughly 35 lira (£11 for 2 meals and 2 drinks as well as a free starter every time and free watermelon after each dinner) We had no complaints with the room we had, great view of the sea and stays cool throughout the day and night - so no hot nights! They were cleaned everyday and towels were replaced every 3 days, again cleaning staff were smiley! The pool was amazing, very clean and just the right temperature, even the view from there was amazing! There is also wifi free of charge if required however we didn't use it. The walk to town/the beach is roughly 5 minutes as it is downhill. The walk back is possibly 5 minutes longer as you are going up hill however it is not half as bad as other reviews suggest. As the apartment is on a hill side there is a lift which goes up 3 floors to the rooms. It was working perfectly fine when we were there, it is definitely useful if you stay right at the top, but on most days we just took the stairs. We decided to take £440 for the both of us which is the equivalent to 1200 turkish lira which was more than enough for the 7 days! This covered eating out every meal, every day, bottled water, 2 boat trips, (5 bay boat trip and dalyan mud bath boat trip), jet skiing and other water sports as well as gifts for home and ourselves. We would highly recommend both boat trips which are 9am-5pm with lunch included on both and watermelon at the end. The 5 bay boat trip ended up being 6 bays and only cost 35 lira (£10). The dalyan trip was longer as we went to turtle beach and the mud baths which cost a total of 65 lira (£20ish) and you get a choice of keeping the photo they take of you which is another 10 lira (£3). Jet skiing was 50 lira (£17) which is either for one person or 2 can go on for that price. We went doughnutting which also cost 25 lira each(£8). We mainly ate at Serena Suites however we did eat in town on a few occasions but prices were no different so very cheap to eat out! We ate at the Yali and got free sun beds on the beach (sun beds didnt cost anything however its just polite to buy at least a drink, we were after lunch anyway). Overall, very cheap, most incredible holiday and would highly recommend Serena Suites and Turunc in general! We captured some amazing memories here.

Room Tip: We had room 303 and couldn't complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sunflower00025042009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie2153, Owner at Serena Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guests,
We are delighted that two young people such as yourselves have had a "memorable" holiday in our region and particularly at Serena Suites.
We would like to thanks you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of the region and our site...one that can easily be published in a guidebook!
Thanks once again and hope to see you soon!
Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

4th visit Turkey twice in Hisoronu & Side, but this was the best. Hisorunu is inland although 10 mins bus from Olodeniz beach, both times self catering, Side was nice location on beach but massive complex all inclusive. So if you want an ideal quiet location as everyone says, with stunning views this is the place. Comparatively cheap as self catering, but eat out, as you are in Turkey outside the euro value for money is great. Evening meal for 2, + couple of drinks £25 total,either in this hotel( recommended) or out. The hotel is basic but more than adequate, staff helpful and caring, with night security, Sedar the bar & restaurant mgr is brilliant and helpful. If you have a problem just ask and they will try to fix it. 15min walk down hill to beach, town,shops bars & restaurants,3mins taxi back for £4.(10TL) approx. Can't wait to go back !!

Room Tip: The hotel is built on the side of a hill, floors 1& 2 are nearest to pool, although cable car ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie2153, Owner at Serena Suites, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Martin & Lorraine,

Thank you so much for spending your holiday at Serena Suites.
We really appreciate your taking the time to write such a wonderful review about our hotel. As you
cannot wait to come back, we cannot wait to host you once more...Just remember that we are serving our guests until mid October...
Hoping to see you soon, Best Regards
Charlie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a week at the Serena Suites in June, it was absolutely perfect! the hotel itself has been recently renovated and offers the best location for relaxation and tranquility. The views from the hotel were breathtaking, these could be enjoyed from our large balcony, the pool area or the renovated restaurant.
The staff at tthe hotel were also lovely, this was out forst time in Turunc and the bar manager could not of been more helpful, answerinng any questions we had and helped us book some day trips. the food in the hotel was also great, tasty and very reasonable, what more could you want!
The hotel is at the top of a hill, which doesnt make it ideal if you have walking difficulties or maybe young children, but i was 6 months pregnant when we went away and i managed just fine! (as long at the lift was working!)
If its a quiet holiday in a picturesque location, in a small, friendly hotel you're after then this is definitely the place for you!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlie2153, Owner at Serena Suites, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing Serena Suites for your holidays and would like to say we do appreciate your taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We feel proud to have met your expectations and would be very happy to see you, your friends and family at Serena Suites again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turunc
0.1 mi away
Loryma Resort
Loryma Resort
#1 of 17 in Turunc
407 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turunc Resort
Turunc Resort
#6 of 17 in Turunc
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eden Pyara Hotel
Eden Pyara Hotel
#2 of 17 in Turunc
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Turunc Premium Hotel
Turunc Premium Hotel
#7 of 17 in Turunc
108 reviews
3.5 mi away
Casa De Maris Spa & Resort Hotel
0.2 mi away
Meril Hotel
Meril Hotel
#14 of 17 in Turunc
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Suites

Property: Serena Suites
Address: Kaygiseki Cad. No 80 | Turunc, Marmaris 48740 Mugla, Turunc, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Turunc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Turunc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Serena Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced apartments all with stunning views and balconies suitable for long term or short term accommodations. On site facilities are: Swimming pool, bar, restaurant and cafe. Free Internet is available. common areas. Turunc beach is a 5-8 minute walk away.Regular public transportation by sea and by land is available from Turunc town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serena Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing