We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serena Suite Apt”
Review of Serena Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serena Suites
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Turunc
Reviewed October 15, 2011

We have just returned from Turunc, where we actually stayed at the loryma, but our friends stayed at Serena, although maybe not as posh as the loryma, we spent most of our time at Serena, Sadir was superb, very entertaining with his magic tricks, he also picked us up and drove us back to the loryma, free of charge, we ate there frequently, the food and complimentary starters were lovely, I would definately stay there if only for the entertainment from Sadir and his staff, and I also loved the lift going up to all the floors, jessie sharpe

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessieburns55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

Basic but wonderful. Serdar was a great host and made us feel very special. Nothing was too much trouble. Loved his little practical jokes and magic tricks. Views fantastico, food nice and beer just what the doctor ordered.
Staff were reserved but very helpful.
Loved the quirky lift up the hillside but when it doesn't work (like when it rains) you discover how unfit you are!!!
Crazy place but will definitely go back.
And Turunc was great to. There are seats with our names on them at the Cardak restaurant by the harbour.

Room Tip: Get a balcony not a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WeeKeefie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I've holidayed in many different places in the 'developed' and 'developing' worlds. This is a pretty and imaginatively-constructed hotel and apartment complex which will not be the right place for holidaymakers who expect bland, luxury facilities, but for those who are discerning enough to want to stay somewhere with character, where there is a family atmosphere and a feeling of 'getting home' at the end of the day, this is perfect. The funicular railway serves the purpose of a lift in a more conventional building, and the little flights of stone steps which you can use instead made me think of a village-within-a-village. My children (twins aged 9) loved the railway, and we all loved the view from each level of this beautiful property, where I could have a drink in the bar and watch them swimming in the pool through the portholes in the bar/restaurant wall. Our apartment was basic but clean - and money had been spent where it mattered, for example on the beds which were comfortable and new. I don't mind a few bits of mortar missing around the skirting boards - this isn't the Ritz and it is very good value indeed. The food in the restaurant is good, and the complementary mezze which arrived each time we ate there were much appreciated. The staff were helpful and not pushy at all despite earlier reviews. I would go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

hi stayed at the serana suites the apartments are of ok standard , you dont really spend much time in apartment just to change and sleep , the hotel staff are very helpful my partner and my self were self catering , and we paid bill at end of week which including drinks , very happy with service from hotel the views were amazing very peaceful and relaxing , the walk down to turunc is a little more than 800metres which is a nice walk builds up a lil hunger the restaurants were very good , never had a bad meal , the beach is a shale beech water is so still it is amazing to swim in , would love to go back asap , the people are helpful and they let you get on and enjoy yourself , no complaints wish i was still there

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geordie99c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel is looking tired, fixtures & fittings need attention & would benifit from a lick of paint & a good clean but thats typically Turkey. However the pool is a good size with plenty of sunbeds. The restaurant serves excellent meals at very reasonable prices. The manager looked after us very well, arranging car hire etc & nothing was too much trouble. The lift was quirky & a godsend being as the hotel is so high up. But the veiws from our balcony, the pool & the restaurant are to die for and made up for anything negative. Overall we had a fabulous holiday & would definatly go back to the serena suites.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyDenbighshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We have just returned from a one week holiday in Turunc, staying at the Serena Suites. The view is definitely stunning and taking a suite in this hotel, you are guaranteed a magnificent view of the bay. The suites are basic and simple, fine for us but some people might find it too limited. The shower was clean but needed to be updated as it was rusting. They don't provide you with a lot of pots and pans so bear this in mind if you want to do any elaborate cooking. We ate out quite a lot and found some really nice places at reasonable prices, so this didn't bother us too much.
The suite itself and it's location would make us really think about returning at another time but, in reality, we will no do this and there are a number of reasons why. The main reason is the management of the hotel. Not the staff on the ground (the porters and cleaner were lovely and really helpful) but the senior staff. The bar manager was a nightmare. Desperately forcing you to eat in his bar/restaurant and to participate in his events (which had entrance fees) in a manner that bordered on harassment. He would use tactics like booking you into the restaurant without your permission and then when you objected he would give you a 'sob story' about how it would cost him money if we cancelled. In reality we are big enough to ignore his tactics but it did make us feel uncomfortable to be in the facility as he would pester you whilst you were lying by the pool or returning from the village. I understand that he is under pressure from the hotel manager to make the restaurant work, and that person was not particularly helpful and acted with a degree of distain, but we were on a one week holiday and paid for a restful time, not to be made feel uncomfortable.
In contrast the little village itself was lovely, not too touristy and its easy to find little quiet places to hang out and eat at very reasonable prices. The Bondjuk restaurant just down from the hotel is brilliant, the staff are great and the food exceptional. We also found little tearooms and cafes to eat in, slightly off the main street. The local people are lovely and very friendly and helpful.
Overall it is a great village for a quiet, calm and relaxing time but just stay clear of the restaurant manager and make it apparent that you will decide if you want to eat in the Serene's restaurant and not him.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barnaby2010186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Having been to Turunc many times, thought we'd try a different hotel. Stayed at the Serena JULY 2011. The hotel is situated on the mountain side, giving you an ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS view, There are lots of steps to go up and a 'CAGE LIKE' lift that drops you off at various levels of the hotel.
NOT IDEAL IF YOU HAVE MOBILITY PROBLEMS, OR SMALL CHILDREN.

When we arrived the people seemed friendly enough, and explained they had an 'A LA CARTE' RESTAURANT and BAR that we could enjoy. We explained that we liked to explore the resort plus visit previous friends and places we new already.

The apartment was a really GOOD SIZE plenty of room, typically turkish, basic, few cupboard doors missing, limited lighting and only a couple of plug sockets! however clean and tidy.

1ST night went to the bar for drinks to keep the manager SWEET, - I'd read on trip advisor he was a bit MISERABLE!
Went to the pool on 1ST day, things seemed ok, lots of GERMANS however who DOMINATED the pool area! There is also only FEW SUNBEDS, not enough for all guests. This was a PROBLEM for many guests who would come to the pool area and have nowhere to sunbath,
We sat around the pool one day, and decided to have breakfast at the bar, again to keep the manager SWEET, breakfast wasn't the best, again basic and not very impressive.
sat back around the pool area, chilling soaking up the sun drinking water that we'd kept in the freezer, when the manager said that all drinks around the pool area are FORBIDDEN! You can only drink in the bar area, no drinks to be consumed at the POOLSIDE! This really quite annoyed us as after all your supposed to be relaxing and doing what you want on your holiday, Being told there are RULES YOU HAVE TO FOLLOW, LIKE BEING AT WORK!!
After that every morning, there NO AVAILABLE SUNBEDS for the whole week, and the manager didn't talk to us and just gave us dirty looks all the time, so we went to the beach and enjoyed our holiday ELSEWHERE.
The manager would have nothing to do with any of the guests that didn't spend money in bar or restaurant- bearing in mind we'd already paid X amount to stay at the hotel!! .
The manager also likes to put everything you have on the tab! DO NOT FALL FOR THIS as he adds more on! - One couple went to the TURKISH NIGHT and ended up paying way over what the night was advertised to cost!
also to top it off, we had no towel or bed linen change for the whole week.

SO TO THE SUM UP THE SERENA,
GOT TO BE GERMAN AND STAY AT THE HOTEL FOR THE WHOLE TIME AND SOCIALISE WITH THE IGNORANT MANAGER.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank em141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turunc hotels
0.1 mi away
Loryma Resort
Loryma Resort
#1 of 17 in Turunc
438 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turunc Resort
Turunc Resort
#6 of 17 in Turunc
831 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turunc Premium Hotel
Turunc Premium Hotel
#7 of 17 in Turunc
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scala Hotel
Scala Hotel
#4 of 17 in Turunc
41 reviews
2 mi away
Neroli Butik Hotel
Neroli Butik Hotel
#3 of 17 in Turunc
44 reviews
7.3 mi away
Dores Residence
Dores Residence
#1 of 18 in Turunc
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Suites

Address: Kaygiseki Cad. No 80 | Turunc, Marmaris 48740 Mugla, Turunc, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Turunc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Turunc
Price Range: $25 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Serena Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced apartments all with stunning views and balconies suitable for long term or short term accommodations. On site facilities are: Swimming pool, bar, restaurant and cafe. Free Internet is available. common areas. Turunc beach is a 5-8 minute walk away.Regular public transportation by sea and by land is available from Turunc town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Serena Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing