We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View to die for!”
Review of Serena Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Serena Suites
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Turunc
Reviewed July 29, 2011

The hotel is looking tired, fixtures & fittings need attention & would benifit from a lick of paint & a good clean but thats typically Turkey. However the pool is a good size with plenty of sunbeds. The restaurant serves excellent meals at very reasonable prices. The manager looked after us very well, arranging car hire etc & nothing was too much trouble. The lift was quirky & a godsend being as the hotel is so high up. But the veiws from our balcony, the pool & the restaurant are to die for and made up for anything negative. Overall we had a fabulous holiday & would definatly go back to the serena suites.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyDenbighshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 144 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2011

We have just returned from a one week holiday in Turunc, staying at the Serena Suites. The view is definitely stunning and taking a suite in this hotel, you are guaranteed a magnificent view of the bay. The suites are basic and simple, fine for us but some people might find it too limited. The shower was clean but needed to be updated as it was rusting. They don't provide you with a lot of pots and pans so bear this in mind if you want to do any elaborate cooking. We ate out quite a lot and found some really nice places at reasonable prices, so this didn't bother us too much.
The suite itself and it's location would make us really think about returning at another time but, in reality, we will no do this and there are a number of reasons why. The main reason is the management of the hotel. Not the staff on the ground (the porters and cleaner were lovely and really helpful) but the senior staff. The bar manager was a nightmare. Desperately forcing you to eat in his bar/restaurant and to participate in his events (which had entrance fees) in a manner that bordered on harassment. He would use tactics like booking you into the restaurant without your permission and then when you objected he would give you a 'sob story' about how it would cost him money if we cancelled. In reality we are big enough to ignore his tactics but it did make us feel uncomfortable to be in the facility as he would pester you whilst you were lying by the pool or returning from the village. I understand that he is under pressure from the hotel manager to make the restaurant work, and that person was not particularly helpful and acted with a degree of distain, but we were on a one week holiday and paid for a restful time, not to be made feel uncomfortable.
In contrast the little village itself was lovely, not too touristy and its easy to find little quiet places to hang out and eat at very reasonable prices. The Bondjuk restaurant just down from the hotel is brilliant, the staff are great and the food exceptional. We also found little tearooms and cafes to eat in, slightly off the main street. The local people are lovely and very friendly and helpful.
Overall it is a great village for a quiet, calm and relaxing time but just stay clear of the restaurant manager and make it apparent that you will decide if you want to eat in the Serene's restaurant and not him.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Barnaby2010186482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Having been to Turunc many times, thought we'd try a different hotel. Stayed at the Serena JULY 2011. The hotel is situated on the mountain side, giving you an ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS view, There are lots of steps to go up and a 'CAGE LIKE' lift that drops you off at various levels of the hotel.
NOT IDEAL IF YOU HAVE MOBILITY PROBLEMS, OR SMALL CHILDREN.

When we arrived the people seemed friendly enough, and explained they had an 'A LA CARTE' RESTAURANT and BAR that we could enjoy. We explained that we liked to explore the resort plus visit previous friends and places we new already.

The apartment was a really GOOD SIZE plenty of room, typically turkish, basic, few cupboard doors missing, limited lighting and only a couple of plug sockets! however clean and tidy.

1ST night went to the bar for drinks to keep the manager SWEET, - I'd read on trip advisor he was a bit MISERABLE!
Went to the pool on 1ST day, things seemed ok, lots of GERMANS however who DOMINATED the pool area! There is also only FEW SUNBEDS, not enough for all guests. This was a PROBLEM for many guests who would come to the pool area and have nowhere to sunbath,
We sat around the pool one day, and decided to have breakfast at the bar, again to keep the manager SWEET, breakfast wasn't the best, again basic and not very impressive.
sat back around the pool area, chilling soaking up the sun drinking water that we'd kept in the freezer, when the manager said that all drinks around the pool area are FORBIDDEN! You can only drink in the bar area, no drinks to be consumed at the POOLSIDE! This really quite annoyed us as after all your supposed to be relaxing and doing what you want on your holiday, Being told there are RULES YOU HAVE TO FOLLOW, LIKE BEING AT WORK!!
After that every morning, there NO AVAILABLE SUNBEDS for the whole week, and the manager didn't talk to us and just gave us dirty looks all the time, so we went to the beach and enjoyed our holiday ELSEWHERE.
The manager would have nothing to do with any of the guests that didn't spend money in bar or restaurant- bearing in mind we'd already paid X amount to stay at the hotel!! .
The manager also likes to put everything you have on the tab! DO NOT FALL FOR THIS as he adds more on! - One couple went to the TURKISH NIGHT and ended up paying way over what the night was advertised to cost!
also to top it off, we had no towel or bed linen change for the whole week.

SO TO THE SUM UP THE SERENA,
GOT TO BE GERMAN AND STAY AT THE HOTEL FOR THE WHOLE TIME AND SOCIALISE WITH THE IGNORANT MANAGER.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank em141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I read all the reviews on TripAdvisor and was quite scared to arrive in Turunc to the hotel. However, I do not know what people expect with what they have written. Honestly, it was a beautiful, relaxing stay. The view from the rooms are OUTSTANDING, and the staff working there are very helpful and genuinally caring!!! As it is a hotel, food and drinks are rather cheap compared to other hotels I have stayed in in Turkey AND air conditioning is £4 a day whereas most hotels charge £5-£6 a day!

You have a beutiful, private swimming pool, unlike most other hotels whose swimming pools are outside on the road! The cable car that takes you up to your rooms is an exciting experience. You get to see the whole of Turunc under your feet and it is SAFE!!!! what are people on about? It gets serviced every month and we saw that with our own eyes. You are in a little village in Turkey, what do you expect?..a helicopter to take you up? you are on top of a mountain. If you dont like walking, it still isnt a problem! I am not much of a walker but i had NO problem whatso ever.

If you have booked to go to serena, please do ignore all negative comments. I came back yesterday and will definetly go back! enjoy your stay!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Punehx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Lovely quirky apartments set on the slope of a hill. With a to die for view of the beautiful village Turunc and the gleaming blue ocean!

The apartments were large and spacious with a good sized bedroom, bathroom (no bath, only shower) and an open plan kitchen area and sitting room, with a seating area on the balcony! I found it simple but clean, wasnt expecting such a big apartment for a cheap deal.

We went in late August 2010, friendly vibe and quiet. The pool is a good size with sunloungers around it! The bar and restaurant in the hotel served a variety of good food. There was a turkish night once a week with belly dancers, a Michael Jackson impersonator (the bar manager) and lots of food! The outdoor lift is something else everyone scared us from reviews before that it would break down and we were right at the top apartments, but it didnt. It can be temperamental but the staff will always kick it back into shape, literally!!

The only negative thing I would say is that all of the hotel staff are lovely, but I found the bar manager a bit forceful. He will try his best to make you eat there alot and make you feel guilty if not. Just ignore him its your holiday!!

Turunc as a place is beautiful, we are a young couple in our twenties and found it good for everything. Restaurants over looking the sea serving lovely food, in particular Es restaurant, amazing food, a few steps to sit and have dinner looking out at turunc and the mountains behind!! Quite a few bars open late!! And taxi boats which run up to 1am to Marmaris and Icmeler to find different restaurants and later opening bars! Perfect for everyone!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

Our room had great views across the bay and was resonably clean, if not spotless, and there was also a daily maid service which was a bonus for such budget priced accomodation - all in all excellent value for money.

There are many steps up to the apartments but access is also possible by means of a bizarre funicular tram car that runs up one side of the apartments - the actual car is only enclosed on three sides and would have been be a huge concern if I had taken children there.

The big down side to this place was the incessant pressure from the manager to use the on site restaurant, we didn't want to use the restaurant as it was usually empty and there are plenty of very good alternatives in the village. As the week wore on and it became clear that we were not going to be using the restaurant the pressure started to border on being aggressive - it was pathetic, unprofessional, and finally the deciding factor in us vowing to never return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GrazzaBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I am not going to go into complete histrionics, suffice to say that this must be the most shocking hotel I have ever seen. If any one reads my review, please take it on board, and DO NOT go to this hotel.

Enough said.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gadwall22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turunc hotels
0.7 mi away
Turunc Resort
Turunc Resort
#6 of 17 in Turunc
828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turunc Premium Hotel
Turunc Premium Hotel
#7 of 17 in Turunc
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Loryma Resort
Loryma Resort
#1 of 17 in Turunc
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Dores Residence
Dores Residence
#2 of 18 in Turunc
12 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scala Hotel
Scala Hotel
#4 of 17 in Turunc
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pisces
Pisces
#8 of 17 in Turunc
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Suites

Address: Kaygiseki Cad. No 80 | Turunc, Marmaris 48740 Mugla, Turunc, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Turunc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Turunc
Price Range: $25 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Serena Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serviced apartments all with stunning views and balconies suitable for long term or short term accommodations. On site facilities are: Swimming pool, bar, restaurant and cafe. Free Internet is available. common areas. Turunc beach is a 5-8 minute walk away.Regular public transportation by sea and by land is available from Turunc town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Serena Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Hotel Marmaris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing