We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect resort to relax away from busy places like Marmaris”
Review of Loryma Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loryma Resort
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Turunc
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect resort to relax away from busy places like Marmaris”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We booked to stay at Loryma for 1 week through a flight and hotel deal on Expedia, which didn't include transfers. We therefore hired a car and drove from Dalaman airport which was no problem but does involve some slow roads through the mountains which are currently being widened to allow passing of lorries. If you like being independent, a car is definitely a plus point as you can explore the area yourself.

The hotel was excellently positioned up out of the town overlooking the bay, and the poolside areas and restaurant take full advantage of this. The resort has very good facilities but somehow manages to avoid feeling like one of the many mass-tourism hotels along the coast, though it is definitely very busy in the summer with children.

Our room had a sea view from the balcony despite not having paid for one which was excellent as we could sit out for drinks during the evening, and although the room was very spacious with a small kitchenette, we did feel it was more basic than we had expected; in particular the bathroom which was below standard. This was not because the apartment wasn't clean- we were very pleased with this- but because there was no proper shower cubicle, more like a tray with an inadequate curtain which allowed water to spray all over the floor, and the drain was blocked when we arrived. Whether it was down to language problems or otherwise, this took a number of days to be fixed, although staff were always pleasant and helpful, and it was during the middle of high season. The air-conditioning in the bedroom worked very well indeed which was essential due to the heat (40C), though there was no air-conditioning elsewhere in the flat which was a shame and felt like skimping as it was difficult to enjoy the living space. We did however sleep well.

The swimming pool was good and whilst the poolside area was busy in the day we were always able to find a sunlounger when needed, and the poolside bar serves snacks and drinks throughout the day. Children are omnipresent at this hotel however, so if you are looking for something quieter, look elsewhere. The restaurants served reasonable food in the evenings when we didn't feel like going out.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this hotel for a good poolside break.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    108
    34
    10
    4
See reviews for
199
128
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Just come back from 2 weeks holiday at Loryma Hotel in Turunc, Turkey. We had the superior apartments, which i recommend, rather than standard (check when you book, not all travel agents offer the superior apartments, we booked a package with travel4you and had an upgrade with the hotel directly). Accomodation was very comfortable and to a high standard. Bed very comfortable, moscito screen for the bedroom window, even though moscitos are rare at Loryma due to its situation on the hill with a lovely breeze most of the time making the very hot climate (35 plus degrees Celsius in September) comfortable. Living room with kitchen area was spacious enough with comfortable large sofa and chair, large satellite tv, modern kitchen appliences. The balcony was big enough to have a table and 2 chairs and an amazing view framed by olive trees and over palms to the stunning Turunc bay. Best in the morning at sunrise!
The whole hotel is built very thoughtfully and with minimal visual impact into the hillside above Turunc. Even though there are about 1000 apartments, it is barely visible from below. It is planted with mature local trees and shrubs which makes it feel part of the surrounding lush hillside. Beautiful local stone has been used with colours blending with the surroundings. We arrived tired after a long journey, as easyjet was delayed (surprise, surprise), so we spent the first days dazed and half asleep around the swimming pool. This is a beautiful and mostly very calm area, with some of the best views, on several levels and marble stairs, with fig, pine and olive trees giving the option of natural shade if you want this. The water is slightly cooled and very fresh, i don't know what they use to keep it hygienic, it is very clean and hardly smells for bleach at all, more aromatic.
It is of a very good size. We had many relaxing days there on the terraces and in the pool, with the fab and fun aqua-fit classes free twice a day for 30 minutes just enough to keep the body from going comatose after all the reaxing and the great food.
Now, the food, we booked half board, it comes as bufet type food, with bbq options outside. Its really very delicious. The hotel grows and cooks a lot of their own organic fruit, vegetables, herbs, honey, dairy (mmm, their creamy dreamy yoghurt...). Mainly fresh turkish foods with english, german, italien variations. And lots of it. Even after 2 weeks I still looked forward to dinnertime! And finding myself missing this tasty, fresh food now back here in uk, with veg and fruit looking and tasting shades of grey. Did i mention their sweety counter? I am not usually into sweets and cakes, can take it or leave it, leaving it was not an option at Loryma.
We did manage to pull ourselves away from the sweet lull of the swimming pool area and did quite a bit of touring and exploring. Thanx to the excellent offers at the Hotel, especially from the lovely Outdoor Centre team, it was no problem finding out about trips offered and then booking at reception and then spending fabulous exciting days trecking through the mountainous pine forest, visiting the bozborun peninsula with its secluded villages and antique carien (not sure how this is spelt, an ancient civilisation around 2500 years old) cities by boat and minibus. They also offered canyoning, white water rafting, sea kayaking(no, didn't have the bottle for any of those, but may have to come back to be braver), a climbing wall on the grounds (yes i did this!). What i really liked about these trips was that they where really thought through in terms of environmental impact and with a view of benefitting the people of the peninsula. We stopped of in small local cafes and restaurants, which would normally be outside the tourist trade. The Hotel's own BBQ boat trip is a fab and relaxing day out to different small bays with great swimming and snorkelling opportunities. The trip to Dalyan mudbaths and beautiful river reed delta (anybody who has watched the classic movie"the african queen " will remember it), ancient city Kaunos with rock graves and the great iztuzu sandy beach with the big caretta caretta turtles breeding there, that has been saved from hotel development by environmental activism, is a great day mostly on boat and a must.
Renting a car was unnecessary, as enough trips where on offer, which is just as well as the area is very mountainous and riving not for the faint hearted or vertigo challenged. Free shuttle service was on offer throughout the day and wevening to the little town of Turunc, about 15 Minutes down steep hills. It has nothing of the swagger and noise and bustle of Marmaris or even Icmeler, 2 bigger resorts easy reached by Dolmus (over the hills) or taxiboat (nice!). The beach in Turunc is long, with a marina on one side and a quieter end on the other, which was our favourite bit of the beach. Its reddish rough sand and shingle, with rocks in the water. Snorkelling even there is quite fun. The social highlight in Turunc is on mondays when there is market day, when boatloads of people come from Marmaris and the streets are suddenly busy. It was great sitting by the marina and watching the boat traffic, mostly beautiful old wooden boats for the tourist trips. There is nothing going on in the evenings in Turunc. Which was fine with us as we where home in the apartment watching DVD's and falling asleep early. There is an outdoor bar with most amazing views over the bay and surrounding mountainside, where we spent some time lying back on big pillows watching the stars and listening to bad (yes, hang that dj!) music, with the occasional match on the big outdoor screen, which drove us even quicker to the appartment for Mongrels DVD (we brought our own dvd player as there was none).
So, if you like a quiet, outdoorsy, comfortable holiday in stunning situation, that is the holiday for you. We had a great time at Loryma Hotel, the staff was very friendly and helpful and gave me the feeling they enjoyed working there. The turkish people we met in Turunc or on our trips where incredibly hospitable, friendly and layed back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2010

After doing our research of the area hotels relying both on TripAdvisor reviews and friend recommendations, we ended up making our booking directly with Loryma and received a considerable early bird discount.

I have nothing but praises for this resort and the staff. From their responsiveness to our initial email inquiries to the handling of our booking and transportation arrangement from/to Marmaris (which we have not been charged for) we were already happy with our pick. We realized how good a decision it was when we arrived at our destination. Our room was ready for check-in despite the early arrival. We were located at the top of the hill with an incredible view of Turunc. The superior units have new furniture and appliances and they are just the right size for a small family – the size also helps in getting the room cooled down faster with one AC located in the master bedroom. The room was very clean and the housekeeping did a great job in keeping it that way. The only improvement I can think of would be to include their mini soap bars in the toiletries. I ended up buying a few of these olive oil soaps as souvenir at their convenience store.

We went with the half board option consisting of a buffet breakfast and dinner. Despite the fact that there weren’t as many options as in some other resorts, the ingredients were of very good quality and the food was delicious. They have a different BBQ/main protein every night. We were happy having some grilled meat and salad for a light dinner, and preferred the fresh fruits to desserts (which were just ok). This also made our walk up the hill back to our room a bit easier. We have not tried the a la cart dining but the prices for drinks and food at the poolside coffee/bar were somewhere around what we paid elsewhere in Turunc. In fact, the standard BBQ fish lunch costs more in most places on the beach (and considerably more in Icmeler). Poolside bar is less crowded after dinner, has better coffee and drinks in general and the view is as enjoyable as the terrace bar’s. Again, staff in both places are very friendly and professional.

We have attended very few activities: the Hatha Yoga class under the olive trees was very enjoyable. My husband used the fitness room a couple of times; he had the impression that he might have been the only person using the equipment in a long time. With so many other options like scuba diving, hiking, rock climbing, canoeing etc. this was not very surprising. One disappointment was their Ayurvedic center which was always closed despite the discount coupons they hand out during the check-in.

Regarding the offered tours, we did not take the Day Trip to Rhodes and arranged our own transportation due to schedule conflict. Admittedly their tours offer better value and are hassle-free considering the late night transportation options from Marmaris. Resort’s shuttle to Turunc is every half hour in the morning, runs less frequently in the afternoon. The shuttle gets packed around noon as everyone heads to the beach. That’s when they bring out the second minivan to make room for everybody.

There is a nice kids pool and a Club Room where smaller children can attend daily activities (crafting, baking, competitions, night tour of the resort which seemed to be a hit, movie night etc.) under one or two caretakers’ (Turkish/German/English speaking) supervision depending on the attendance. The activities are scheduled throughout the day (typically 2.5 hours in the morning, 2.5 hours in the afternoon and 1 hour after the dinner) giving the parents plenty of opportunities to get much needed rest. I assume these activities were fun as our daughter looked forward to her daily visit to the Kid’s Club.

We will definitely go back to beautiful Turunc and look forward to staying at Loryma Resort again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trezbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

This was a visit with Club La Costa. We are on the temporary membership so accomodation was not the best. The apartment was clean ,nicely furnished and air conditioning in bedroom. Lots of trips and activities . Only slightly unhappy with the food in restaurant. It was boring and not much variety. Also very expensive !. Could have done with the ingredients being listed as it all had a tendency to look the same. Restaurants in the village of Turunc were very good especially the Citrus restaurant on the western end of the beach overlooking the childrens play area .The food was delicious, the staff very helpful and the prices very reasonable.
You are halfway up a 'mountain' so there is a tractor and trailer that transports you to the village. It is walkable but there are loads of taxi's to take you home after a nice evening out. Cost about £5.00.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3flakeaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Nice rooms, great views, but a pain getting to and from the village.
Yes there is a tractor to take you up and down - but not at lunch time or in the evening. Meals in the hotel cost about twice what you pay in Turunc village.

Watch the bar, they add drinks to the bill, and its not easy to spot, as everything has to go against your room - they won't let you pay cash at the bar.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bimbambon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

just got back, had a fantastic 2 weeks in turunc. Went to Loryma through Club La Costa, the facilities are fantastic, loved the nordic walking. all staff most helpful, Taz tour guide, he is hilarious!! Thoroughly enjoyed the boat trip and the wonder walk was brilliant, although i wasnt too sure bout driving up to the very top of the mountain, Lol... ~Turunc is a beautiful part of the country and the drive along the datca peninsula to knidos was amazing. Epahsus is a must, well worth getting up at 5am for. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey. UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2010

This hotel was brilliant to stay in especially in July / August when the temperatures are so hot in Turkey, a wonderful breeze blew all day long and night. The balcony with a bar ,overlooking the views was superb at night, hammocks and big cushions was left out and one could just sit and enjoy the views with the town lit up below. I know friends who went during this time of the year and found the heat unbearable, but with this hotel you get a wonderful breeze blowing during the day and night; and people are so relaxed watching the view. It was up in the mountains and the restaurant had a balcony overlooking the sights, it was breathtaking. The small village of Turunc below was a perfect size for shopping and it was not crowded. We had small children so it was perfect. The hotel provided a free shuttle service in the form of an open trolley with plenty of seats, perfect for looking at the sights.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turunc
0.9 mi away
Turunc Resort
Turunc Resort
#3 of 16 in Turunc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turunc Premium Hotel
Turunc Premium Hotel
#6 of 16 in Turunc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
10.8 mi away
D Maris Bay
D Maris Bay
#1 of 1 in Hisaronu Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Eden Pyara Hotel
Eden Pyara Hotel
#2 of 16 in Turunc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Aqua
Hotel Aqua
#1 of 78 in Icmeler
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
4.1 mi away
D-Resort Grand Azur
D-Resort Grand Azur
#13 of 234 in Marmaris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loryma Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loryma Resort

Property: Loryma Resort
Address: Kaygiseki Cad. 92. Sk. 1-15, Turunc 48700, Turkey (Formerly Viverde Hotel Loryma)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Turunc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Turunc
#1 Spa Hotel in Turunc
#3 Romantic Hotel in Turunc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Loryma Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viverde Hotel Loryma**** is situated on a verdant hillside overlooking Turunc Bay with magnificent views of coastal and mountain scenery. Distances to the village of Turunc and the beach is 1,5 km (free shuttle service during daytime), distance to Marmaris is 18 km. Nearest airport is Dalaman in 110 km Distance (airport transfer on request) Opened in 1989, the hotel complex was designed with an eye to environmental sustainability and soft tourism (including regional aspects and recreational activities such as Ayurveda, Yoga, Fitness, Nature sports activities). The well-kept complex extends over an area of 24,000 square meters. Set among pines and olive trees, it is harmoniously integrated into the local landscape of the region of the Bozburun and Datca peninsulas which are an ideal place for nature activities. The coastline is very rugged, with numerous fjord-like inlets, forming a paradise for diving and sailing. According to studies conducted by the Institute of Maritime Sciences and Management at the University of Istanbul, the waters along the coasts of the Bozburun and Datca Peninsulas are among the cleanest in the Mediterranean region. The Viverde hotel concept is aimed at satisfying a growing demand to experience a return to nature, and relaxation in a peaceful environment, the enjoyment of wholesome food, and a feeling that people once again have time for each other. The Viverde concept was designed for those of us who want to get away from mass tourism and enjoy quality vacation time. The hotel offers families, couples, and singles of all ages a range of choices, from pure relaxation to adventure holidays. Viverde Hotel Loryma has been awarded the Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence in 2013 and several tourism awards that are related to environment protection and sustainability, amongst them the Travelife Gold Award. The hotels facilities consist of reception (7/24), 166 apartments, two restaurants, two bars, minimarket, outdoor and indoor pool, lanes and terraces for sunbathing, children’s pool (in a separate area of the hotel garden), children’s house, Gym, Spa and Ayurveda Centre, nature sport centre, car parking, seminary facility in 2 seminary halls for maximum capacity 90 persons each, WiFi throughout the site. All 166 accommodation units are apartments with one or two sep. bedroom, living area, kitchenette, balcony or terrace. The 47 economic standard apartements are modern and functional furnished. Bedroom with double bed or 2 single beds, split air-condition, living/sleeping area, kitchenette, under-counter fridge, e-cooker, Kettle, telephone, satellite TV, safe, bath with shower, hairdryer. The majority of the apartments are refurbished and renovated superior apartments. They are equipped with bedroom with double bed, inverter split air-condition, comfortable living area with pullout sofa and armchair, fitted kitchenette with fridge/freezer combination, glass-ceramic cook-top, microwave oven, kettle, toaster, iron and ironing board, telephone, satellite TV, DVD player, safe, bath with bathtub/shower (Jacuzzi) or hydro-massage shower, hairdryer. On arrival tea, coffee and 1 bottle of water is provided free of charge. Cleaning and linen change is every second day, application of variable change of bed linen and towels. At Viverde Hotel Loryma a great deal of importance is attached to serve guests a healthy and tasty cuisine, including fresh produce from the own farm and organic gardens (milk, cheese, cold-pressed olive oil, olives, aromatic herbs, and a large assortment of seasonal vegetables. The open-buffet restaurant has a large, fully air-conditioned indoor restaurant with panoramic terrace, a traditional stone-oven for pide & pizza, charcoal grill and a show cooking buffet. The buffet menu consists of Turkish and Mediterranean cuisine making preferably use of regional, homemade and fresh produce. The A La Carte restauranthas a terrace with beautiful views over the bay and an open plan kitchen. Snacks and local specialities of Mediterranean and Anatolian Cuisine are served here for lunch and dinner. The Pool bar is open all day and the Oxygen Bar with large panoramic terrace, wooden deck, hammocks, cushions, large screen for event transmissions is the perfect location for socializing after dinner and enjoying starlit nights over the bay of Turunc. Daytime entertainment comes with a fitness programme and Hatha Yoga class in the mornings (3times a week). Sauna and massages are available against charge, Ayurveda applications include programmes to subjects such as stress management, body detox, anti-aging, weight reduction and body/facial care. These are carried out by specialists. There is a climbing wall, a tennis court, table tennis and a pool billiard table available free of charge The nature sport activities (charge) on the Bozburun Peninsula (ranked by WWF among the top 100 areas in Europe in terms of biodiversity) includes walking, hiking, cycling, canyoning, sea kayaking. Professional guides, equipment and meals (snacks) are provided. Water sports on the beach and diving are offered by third parties on the beach (charge). Please notice that smoking is not permitted in any of the enclosed areas (reception, restaurants, apartments, etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Loryma Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loryma Hotel Turunc
Loryma Resort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing