We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service but let down by basics”
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Auronzo di Cadore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is a genuine family run business and the attentive service was one of its strengths. The son of the owners does most of the meeting and greeting and is very helpful. Although he speaks little English, the alternative receptionist speaks it well (remember, Auronzo is a relative backwater when compared to other towns such as Cortina). We arrived earlier than expected in the afternoon and despite ringing the bell, calling out and wandering around the hotel we could not find any staff. This was a little inconvenient but also made us ponder the security of the hotel.

Unfortunately noise travels very easily in the hotel (the bare wooden stairs, stone floors and other traditional design features). People walking up and down the stairs in ski or walking boots, talking in corridors, etc. disturbed our rest every night of our stay. The late night music in the bar (of sorts) was also a pain, although the outside speakers would have meant that it disturbed us even if we'd been on a higher floor. The worst was the kid of one of the workers who had a great time tearing around the place with a new set of friends every night; the noise really got to us again.

The hotel has covered parking but this is very limited and is allocated on a first come first served basis, so most of the time we had to park next to or in front of the hotel; not a major concern. The location of the hotel means that it is probably a little too far from the centre of Auronzo for most people to walk into town and back for something to eat on an evening, but there is a pizzeria nearby or you could take your evening meals at the hotel (at less than £20 pp the evening meals are varied and acceptable for a salad, main course and pudding).

This review probably gives a slightly too negative account of what is actually not a bad little hotel. Tripadvisor should have a 'Good' option; this hotel was better than average but not very good. It could really be improved with a few little changes. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1 as: 1. It faces the road so you get road noise. 2. Being a corner room you also hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 904TravellingChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsoleauronzo, Proprietario at Hotel Al Sole, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your review of our hotel.
Im sorry you have found so many negative things, we will do our best to improve our services.
I want to clarify a few things:
- If you told us that the music was high for her we would have lowered the music;
- Garage is a free service that we offer, it is normal for those who arrive and find free, parking there. We evaluate the idea of ​​renting parking spaces in order to give the opportunity to those who wish to have covered parking (fee);
- If people talk in the hallways, is not a deficit for us but it is rudeness of people.
- i'm really mortified that you have not found anyone at the hotel, this is the first time it happens.

I take this opportunity to whish you happy new year 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 316 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This place was recommended by our Italian friend. The view from our room was just beautiful, we woke up to the sight of Mother Nature at her best! The hotel gave you the option of dinner on their premises at an additional cost. Go for it as it is truly worth it. Every night was different and we enjoyed it. The staff, lovely and we could use the bicycles from the hotel, for the day for free! We would definitely return as it is a beautiful place to visit and it helps that the hotel has spacious and comfortable rooms!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMSM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We booked this place last minute and were so surprised when we arrived and seen the room. Fantastic views & loads of space.
The cost included breakfast and dinner and it was great value and excellent food.
Hector the owners Son, was very kind and helpful. Luckily he spoke English as Mum and Dad don't and were not the friendliest people we have met.
Julia from the dining room was very nice to meet each evening and made us feel so special.
Looking forward to return in the winter to ski and will be the first place we book.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sikaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Despite a lovely exterior and friendly staff our stay was let down by the fact that the interior rennovation work was of a very poor quality and there is a hidden surcharge for garden- or canal-facing rooms. No mention was made of this surcharge even when I emailed the hoteliers directly so it was an unpleasant surprise when we got to the reception desk.

We decided not to pay the hidden fee and the room we did get was spacious but had a few faults, the worst being the window opened onto a very smelly alley.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgladwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsoleauronzo, Proprietario at Hotel Al Sole, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Rgladwell, thanks for leaving your review.
We are sorry that your stay was not as you expected.
I want to clarify two things you've written:
- First: there are no hidden fees on our price list. There are three types of rooms (Dolomia - Alpina - Marmarole) each with a different price. If you want a room with a balcony will pay a different price than a standard room, but it is not hidden, look here.. http://alsoleauronzo.net/le-nostre-tariffe/listino-prezzi.html
- Second: Your room looks over the garden of our neighbors. We realize that the view is not the best, but unfortunately not up to us to clean the exterior of their home! We apologize for that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

Siamo inglese ma c'e un albergo molto bouno, gentile, carina e abiamo mangato benissimo. Bene per bambini e le moto
Arrived late with no booking and the staff could not have been more helpful. Half boad was fantastic value, room comfortable and spotless. Dinner and breakfast excellent. Clearly a small family business and they pay great attention to detail. We were there in the summer on a bike trip but a mixture of families and couples in the hotel all clearly enjoying there stay.Strongly recommended

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fussygt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsoleauronzo, Proprietario at Hotel Al Sole, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2011

Thank you for your kind comment. We hope to review shortly! Greetings from Auronzo :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Riccardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mattia18061988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auronzo di Cadore hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Auronzo
Hotel Auronzo
#2 of 17 in Auronzo di Cadore
155 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Juventus
Hotel Juventus
#10 of 17 in Auronzo di Cadore
132 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albergo Miravalle
Albergo Miravalle
#3 of 17 in Auronzo di Cadore
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Centrale
Hotel Centrale
#11 of 17 in Auronzo di Cadore
116 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Panoramic
Hotel Panoramic
#4 of 17 in Auronzo di Cadore
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo Ristorante Cacciatori
Albergo Ristorante Cacciatori
#7 of 17 in Auronzo di Cadore
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Address: Via Ligonto 6, 32041, Auronzo di Cadore, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Belluno > Auronzo di Cadore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Auronzo di Cadore
Price Range: $96 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing