We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, beautiful place, staff really helpful and only a relatively short taxi ride from york town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2011

Had a great weekend - my hen weekend - Breakfast, lunch and dinner were fantastic, (we were provided with our own room for dinner), the bedrooms were really clean, the beds were really comfortable and the facilities excellent. Staff were happy to help, provided us with local information re: walks in the surrounding area, spare toothbrushes, etc and were v friendly. Spa treatments were lovely . . . . . . . really I just had a great weekend and would recommend this hotel to anyone of any age.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joooools186394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

KInd words indeed, I must thank you for taking the time to write this great review. I am glad you had a great stay and will pass on your comments to the team.

Kind Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,751 - 1,757 of 1,920 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

We have just returned from an overnight Spa Break at Aldwark Manor and found it lovely and relaxing. The hotel is situated in the wonderful countryside far from any busy roads and is therefore fabulously quiet. Check-in was simple and our room was excellent, in a newer extension and right at the top (there is a lift), the window was a velux and so to appreciate the view we had to balance on the sofa but it was well worth it! The room was clean and spacious and the beds were beautifully soft and comfortable, there was a supply of up to date magazines and a small selection of toiletries. The spa area is great, lovely pool etc, there was a shortage of lockers though and only 2 hairdryers which were always in use. The inclusive lunch was a buffet, we were offered soup, a hot pasta dish, a lasagne and jacket potatoes with salad, for dessert it was a fresh fruit salad. The evening meal was excellent, we had an inclusive deal so the set menu was perfect, lots of choice and really good VFM, the a la carte also looked brilliant though quite pricey. The staff were very efficient and attentive and we had a most enjoyable evening. The following mornings breakfast service was "interesting", a group of young girls came down in their dressing gowns and pyjamas which raised a few eyebrows and I would question the management allowing them to do so in a 4* hotel. Also the cooked breakfasts were served so promptly that we had barely finished eating our cereal and the bowls hadn't even been cleared when the young man arrived with our plates of hot food, we observed this happening to most of the other diners, some having not even finished their cereals and so having to do so from the side of the table...bit of a timing issue here!? These minor issues aside we had a very pleasant stay and would definately return for an away from it all relaxing break.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMissForgetful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

The Spa at Aldwark really is the heartbeat of the hotel, I am really happy that you enjoyed your pampering break.
I was interested to hear your feedback about breakfast, rest assured it will be used as part of our training with the team. In turn we can improve the product for all our guests, many thanks for a great review.

Kind Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed in room 401 and this room is in desperate need if refurbishment. Although it is spacious and has a view of the golf course, the furniture is scratched to pieces, worn and tatty, the furniture is ready to collapse, is dirty and the bathroom is older than my grandparents which was installed in the 70's. When you pay £150 per night you really expect better than this. This room was supposed to be superior and did have a four poster bed but a very tatty one, on dirty worn out carpet and you just didn't feel comfortable at all. The room hasnt been updated since the 80's, maybe earlier. People have talked about upgrading going on but we saw no signs of this. The room had no mini bar, no fridge, no water, no ice bucket and basic tea/coffee. I heard reports about a refurbished wing with contemporary rooms but it seems that you take your chance here and without any discount on the old run down rooms which is not fair. The shower had no pressure and temperature was impossible to control. The bath was tiny and so old fashioned (pale pink) that we didn't want to use it. The tv does not show sky channels yet the bars downstairs do. A cheeky way of getting guests out of their rooms when sport on tv and into the bar area and buying drinks.

The room service menu is small and triple decker sandwiches come as single decker and are average.

The spa was very nice and relaxing. Drinks and food reasonably priced apart from small bottles of Becks at £3.60 which is crazy. They provide free tea and coffee which is a nice touch. There were a lot of hen parties here. We couldn't get near the jacuzzi for ages as it was full of women and when we did we found the water cold. The sauna and steam room are nice and so is the pool but be careful to make sure you choose the adults only pool times if you want piece and quiet. On a weekend they have periods every now and then where parents arrive with children and that can be a distraction. I have to mention that the mens changing facilities are very poor indeed. Paint falling off all over, dirty floors, Walls, mould and rust in showers etc and small changing space. Not spa standard at all.

The staff here are wonderful. I have to say that. The hotel must take great pride in attracting such good staff, training them so well and holding onto them from such a small catchment area. The bar staff, receptionist and other staff were incredibly polite at all times and professional from check in to check out.

We did eat in the restaurant which is nice but for £50 excluding drinks for 2 I would expect more quality(small fish and chips). Lovely restaurant setting though, a good manageress and good staff made up for the price I suppose.

A warning if you are arriving by car at night I that the roadway is very hairy and not lit at all. Drive slowly.

Overall this would be a nice quiet hotel break but they desperately need to address these substandard rooms which I would not expect in a 2 star hotel let alone 4.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOGETHER_WE_TRAVEL35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

Many thanks for this valued feeback, it is only down to your comments we can move our product forward.
We are currently under going phases of refurbishment and am happy to say that there are few areas left to complete. This however in no way excuses the short fall in housekeeping standards you have discribed. I would like to ensure you this is not normal practice for the team at Aldwark, and I have used your review to help me with further training of the team.
I was happy to read that the guest service training we give the team was well recieved.

Kind Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We stayed on a Tuesday so hotel was quiet so why did we end up in a room with a cracked basin, stained bed cover, a tiny marked bath with an old fashioned shower curtain, a sticky cup mark on the front of the desk, 1 hand towel and 1 bath towel, no bath robes and a tv guide that shows Setanta as its highlight. Although 2 singles put together the bed was very comfy.
Staff were helpful but not always attentive and gin and tonics looked poor in dirty glasses and we did like dinner in the restaurant.
On vacating our room we wanted to leave our account open while we used the pool and spa, so that we could charge drinks and food to it, this sounded to be a problem if someone else was assigned the same room.
4 star?

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traceashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

situated in a rural area and surrounded by a golf course, a car is best. We had to taxi from York Station, £26 each way which does add to the cost. Enjoyed our stay, spa is nice without being wonderful, food is good without being fantastic, rooms are fine though nothing 'wow' and the smallest bath I have ever been in. Heating in the bedroom not working so took a radiator from the corridor. Decor all a bit tired.
We were there on an offer and thought that was good value.
Staff were nice but no sign of any senior management around.
Spa treatments are short and not the full advertised time.
Would not return to pay the full price.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluebell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

I have stayed at the Aldwark Manor three times now and the room has never been ready on time. Check in is from 2pm so they say when you arrive but they always follow up with "Although your room may not be ready at 2 so please feel free to use the facilities in the meantime". The first time i went, the room was ready at 3pm. The second time i went the room was ready at 4pm. The last time i went the room was not ready until 5.30 pm!!!!
This really spoilt our stay as we were only there for 1 night. This really is the only complaint i have, as the 3 times i have been, i have always found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful and if it were not for the rooms never being ready i would definately recommend this to others. Maybe they need to invest in the recruitment of more cleaners.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amanda_rouell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind review. I have taken all your points on board and in fact have just discussed housekeeping function with my Rooms Division Manager. It is kind feedback such as this that enables us to improve the product. Beyond the delay of your room I was really happy to hear you enjoyed this, your 3rd stay at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

To whom it may concern,

I write with reference to my recent visit to Aldwark Manor Hotel in the company of my beautiful fiance'. I booked the hotel as a last minute decision to spend a couple of nights in the North Yorkshire area and I must say we certaintly weren't disappointed.

On arrival we were greeted by a very helpful receptionist who booked us in promptly and efficiently. The room was amazing, had a beautiful view and contained everything one would expect from a 4 star hotel.

Our first afternoon/evening was excellent, having spent the afternoon using the hotel's exellent pool, sauna, and spa facilities we made our way to the restaurant and were greeted by a very helpful, polite suited man who showed us to our table, he provided us with two menus, a wine list and a full explanation of what menus we could order from, this as part of our 2 night package.

Throughout the night we were waited on by a very polite, professional young chap who served us with a smile and a great enthusiasm, (this man became known to us only as 'Can Man', I'm sure he knows the reason!!! :) ). The reason we write this email is in order to give 'Can Man' a special mention, his professionalism and politeness didn't go unnoticed by ourselves and he certainly stood out!

One of the reasons we noticed 'Can Man' was due to the sharp contrast in service and politeness we received as part of our evening dining on our second night.
Again we were met by a suited man at the door to the restaurant and showed to or table. We were given only one menu on this occasion and told a second would be with us shortly, (this menu didnt materialise), after a long wait of about 20 minutes we were ask by one of the two unhelpful waitresses we encountered if we would like a drink, an orange juice was ordered (again this didn't materialise), resulting in us being asked by a second, even less polite, and less helpful waitress, if we would like a drink, we had to explain that we had already ordered one, we eventually got the orange juice after a further 10 minutes waiting. We ordered our starter/main and waited much longer than on the first evening for our started, however we were aware that the restaurant was a little busier then on our first evening. Each time our food and drinks were presented to us, both waitresses appeared to be what can only be described as miserable, in astonishing contrast to the service we recieved from 'Can Man' on our first evening. We also noticed that on each occasion we requested something (for example a drink) the waitress dealing with that particular request went to complete another task before helping us (for example cleaning cutlery and cleaning a menu!) this before we got what we had requested. We spent the evening looking at fellow diners in envy as they were served by 'Can Man' I am not an unreasonable person and I have to say I have never written an email like this before however I feel the need to congratulate 'Can Man' on the service he provides and also to highlight how unacceptable the two waitresses service was on that evening!

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and all staff played their part in making our time there enjoyable, however I am very disappointed with the service and attitued portrayed on our second evening by the two young waitresses.

We hope this information is useful and 'Can Man' is identified and receives the praise he deserves!!!

Regards

Mr Paul C & the Mrs to be!
(room 111, 23rd/24th feb 2011)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chattyLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2011

It was great to read your super feedback, many thanks. Although we are still trying to track down 'Can Man' when we do he will be rewarded accordingly I promise.

We have had a number of new starters in the hotel since January and we are also currently looking at the training we provide every member of the team. Once again thanks for your feedback it makes the above process easier and adds structure.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldwark
10.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
12 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
10.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
4.5 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
10.7 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Address: Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range: $124 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 53 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor York
Aldwark Manor Hotel York
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing