We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Spa break!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2014

My friend and I have recently returned from an overnight spa break at Aldwark Manor, and whilst the food and spa treatments were really good, i feel that the break was over-priced for what we received. Our room could have been any travel-lodge/premier inn room, basic and in need of some tlc, and unfortunately the same goes for all other parts of the hotel too. The paint-work needed touching up and carpets were bare in places. I would also like to advise people thinking of booking an over-night spa break to check the terms and conditions on booking form, as we were not made aware of the fact that whilst the break included dinner in the hotel restaurant, you were only allocated £26 towards this and most choices on the menu (main course) were £15 or more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original part of the manor NOT the new extension, then perhaps you will be giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjwebster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

jjwebster123

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

I was disappointed to read your comments and I can assure you that we have a rolling plan of decoration and that we have recently spend £45,000 on refurbishment of some of the public areas and meeting rooms.

We do have a £26 dinner allocation that you can select from the restaurant or bar menu to build either 2 or 3 courses as the main courses are from £15 in the restaurant with starters and desserts from £5. I apologise that this was not communicated to you when booking.

Once again thank you for your feedback

Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,901 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

My friend and I booked through Spabreaks.com for one night, Lunch, dinner, bed & breakfast with either a 60 min treatment or two 30 min treatments at £129 per person sharing a double or twin room. The treatment was lovely and staff professional. At Dinner we were told we only had a £26 allowance for our evening meal which is not mentioned anywhere on our booking receipt, however the food we had was very nice. The Hotel itself is tired and needs attention in parts. Our room was basic & decor drab, but the beds comfortable. It has a small, but well equiped gym. The pool is small but nice, only if you're thinking of having a swim and relaxing by the pool, you'll be lucky as there are only a handful of beds!

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and was very basic, but we didn't suffer with any outside noice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Tisha S

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us.

Our Spa breaks are great value, I am sorry that you were not pre informed regarding the £26 dinner allocation as we find this offers a greater choice as oppose to the tradition limited menu. We do have a limited number of beds on pools side as that is all we can accommodate but in the summer we do extra seating outside on the grounds.

Thank you for you feedback and I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future

Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Very surprised at some comments but my girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed Our stay. The staff were very present and helpful. The location was ideal and Our room was very comfortable. In fact I would go as far as to say an overnight break here was as refreshing as some fortnight long holidays we've been on. We will be back soon enough and have already begun recommending the break to friends. At one point I even turned on the t.v and watched Ireland lifting the six nations trophy. Carlsberg don't do mini breaks . . .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quadrofenian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Quadrofenian

Thank you for your recent review following your “Rejuvenating” stay with us at Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you thought the location is Ideal as we are situated just 25 minutes from York and Harrogate.

When you are ready to relax some more please visit the QHotels website for out latest offers and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards


Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

After our disaster in October we were invited back. what a difference ,the was Clean and ready.The evening meal was ok,could do with changing the menu now and again but other wise all ok.This what I expect from a 4star hotel clean room and bathroom polite staff, a good choice at breakfast,so all in all a good few days but with staff coming and going it must be difficult to manage a hotel like this due to its location so I would just like to say to the manager and staff thank you

Room Tip: Always specify a room don't have a room up in the gods
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malonedavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear malonedavid

I was pleased to read your review following your return visit to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel.

We are in the process of writing new menus across the hotel and I am sure that when you return I am confident that they will meet with your expectations.

I will be passing your positive comments on to the team and I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future,

Regards


Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Visited this hotel + had a wonderful relaxing time. Location great beautiful surroundings. Staff very accommodating, room amazing. The breakfast was fantastic so much choice. Dinner good. Had a great massage ...great value for money during 2 nights stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady_in_red65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear lady_in_red65

Thank you for the review following on from your recent visit to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel.

I was pleased to read that you had a wonderful time. I hope that we get the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I visited Aldwark Manor with reservations about the hotel rooms and high expectations of the Spa. I found the hotel and rooms great and the spa disappointing.
We were given a lovely third floor modern room with a balcony. Superb bathroom. All very clean and bright.
The restaurant was fine. Lunch and evening meal served by polite staff. Well presented food and hot. There was plenty of choice at breakfast. Shame about the hash browns being cool despite asking for them heating up.
The spa looks lovely on the corridor down to the facilities. The gym is well equipped. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room were lovely. Too few sun loungers available however for the numbers using the pool and one of the two showers adjacent to the steam room looked in a poor state.
What really let the spa down was the changing facilities. IF the spa was for the use of local members and hotel guests alone it may well function well. With the spa open to day and overnight spa offers it does not function well. We were very cramped getting changed, with insufficient lockers and the showers looked as if they were getting too much use and not enough attention from cleaners. The staff were fine but I have to say that my one hour face and back massage ended up as a very "limp" affair by who I believe was the new member of staff. She started my treatment at 10 past the hour and finished at 10 to the hour. Even with the 5 minute consultation I was short changed by 10 minutes. When I mentioned this to her I was told she had to have changeover time. It was a pity I was left for so long to get ready when I had only my bra and dressing gown to remove!
I would recommend the hotel for non spa users.

Room Tip: I understand the rooms in the more modern building are the best - but I did not see those in the old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyYOrk2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear LesleyYOrk2013

I was disappointed to read some of your comments following on from your recent visit to Aldwark Manor.

I will be discussing your feedback regarding the treatments and the changing rooms with the Spa and Leisure Manager and they will implement process to stop this happening again.

I will pass on your positive comments to the restaurant team regarding your lunch and dinner.

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your constructive feedback and I will assure you that this will be acted on.

Regards


Paul Beswick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel is a hidden gem. The beautiful Yorkshire countryside sets off the manor house. We had a Spa break-just one night, but top value. We had what they called a light lunch plenty for us) use of all the facilities, a wonderful relaxing massage, very good two course dinner, bed and cooked to order breakfast for £99 each. As a Yorkshire girl myself I had to admit to the excellent value of this package. I agree about the music-I took it as a hint we'd been there too long! The food is top notch, the bedroom decent size, clean and comfortable-the shower was fabulous! I'd go again in a heartbeat-it's just over an hour from me, and a nice visit to The Designer Outlet on the way home-perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieAnneBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul B, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear JulieAnneBrilliant

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review after your “lovely relaxing stay” with us at Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel.

I will be passing your comments on to the team and I am sure that they will be pleased to read them.

The Spa package is a great deal and is available from the QHotels website starting from £99 per person (subject to availability). I hope that you get to visit us again soon,

Regards

Paul Beswick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldwark
10.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
693 reviews
12 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
10.7 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
11 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Address: Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range: $88 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 53 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor York
Aldwark Manor Hotel York
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing