We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golf break OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Golf break OK”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

10 of us visited Aldwark Manor for an overnight stay with bed, breakfast and evening meal with two rounds of golf included. The golf course is very good and well worth a visit however the hotel was just OK , hence ,my average score.
We arrived and were directed to the terrace bar for bacon sandwiches etc which were ok spoilt by the fact that we had to share plates (one between two)! Off to play golf which was very good. We then went to check into the hotel and some of the rooms were not ready ,(it was after 3pm) so we retreated to the terrace bar again. We ordered sandwiches which were expensive £6.50 for a ham sandwich and were told , after they had taken our money, that there would be a delay as there was a wedding on in the hotel. Half an hour later sandwiches arrived. By the way at this point there was only 4 of us.
The rooms were good but I think two of us got the duff one - room 502 on the top floor. It had only one veloux window which was covered in brown paper, hence the room was always dark and the window was sealed up. The rest of our party had rooms on the first floor which were good but the disco from the wedding made them niosey
The evening meal was very good, slow service to start with and a very expensive wine list, but overall there were no complaints.
Breakfast was also very good.
Another round of golf followed by coffees which again were very expensive.
Overall we enjoyed it and rightly so the wedding took priority over the golfer s that were staying here but surely if places are busy they should employ more staff.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor overlooking the golf course are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweapeaSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    511
    290
    137
    74
See reviews for
226
839
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My partner and I went for a one night stay which was part of a treat for my birthday. From the moment we got there we were met by a super friendly receptionist who was very understanding of our long drive from Aberdeen in some pretty awful weather. He was very welcoming. We were given our room details and booked a table for our evening meal. When we got to our room it was clean, tidy and spacious. The bathroom had 2 showers, one in a cubicle the other over the bath. The bedroom was very comfortably laid out and had a mini balcony which looked over the golf course. The views here are spectacular.
When we went to the restaurant we were met by another very friendly member of waiting staff who offered us a choice of tables. I cannot emphasis enough how relaxed and friendly everyone was whilst remaining professional. The choices on the menu were great especially from a vegetarian point of view. We were not kept waiting any time at all and the food was incredibly tasty, i highly recommend the sticky toffee pudding for dessert.
We went through to the squadron bar for drinks after and enjoyed a relaxed and comfortable end to our evening.
The breakfast the next morning was buffet style and plentiful. Again options here were enormous.
On leaving we managed to get a better look at the grounds and views which were beautiful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and look forward to another stay here soon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and 3 days during the week for a girls spa break. As soon as we arrived we were attended to by friendly staff who were happy to help. We stayed in the older part of the manor, which had gorgeous views of the gardens and plenty of space.The only down side was that the water in the wet room drained incrediably slowly, but thats old buildings and plumbing I guess! We had several treatments booked and found all the staff very experienced, explaining all the treatment processes. We used the pool a lot and it was a shame as the jacuzzi was out of order, but we used the steam and sauna rooms as consolations! Also used the gym which had plenty of high tech machines.
In the evenings we played scrabble from the board game collections provided and sipped on cocktails in the boutique-feel surroundings of lounge areas; it made for a cosy evening.
Food was well prepared and there was plenty of choice, the puddings were divine, especially the sticky toffee pudding. Staff in the restaurant were polite and communicated well when there was a delay, we were given complimentary drinks :)
Overall a great experience, perfect place to escape and relax nestled in the Yorkshire countryside!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lauramalteser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went for a 1 night spa break with my sister. The hotel is great, set in lovely grounds with a grand, period style reception and lounge areas. We stayed in one of the more modern rooms (#105) and this was spotlessly clean, the beds were very comfy and a great view over the golf course. There was chocolates and pink fizz in our room on arrival, which both tasted great. The bathroom was clean and bright. We both had treatments at the spa - the girls there are great! Nothing is too much trouble. Afterwards we enjoyed the pool area and the relaxation room, everything was spotless.
Last but not least, the food was amazing! The evening meal was one of the best steaks I have ever had and the waiting staff were all attentive and helpful. Breakfast the next day was brilliant, so much choice and everything was spot on. We were very sorry to leave and are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just been for a Spa day, staff not very friendly, included pastry and cuppa, cracked dirty cups, no decaf tea, pastry ok, Jacuzzi cold, cold room, not enough seating round pool, needs a bit of TLC throughout health centre, had to pay extra for robes and slippers, didn't eat lunch there as was way overpriced and not heard good things. won't be returning.......definitely NOT 4 star

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piglet23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Facilities are good with a very pleasant staff, however the food was not of a good standard with a very limited choice especially for vegetarians. An overall assessment would be 5 out of 10. Would not revisit. Food not four star...staff very helpful and nice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic spa break at aldwark Manor. The staff were very attentive, nothing was too much trouble and the therapists in the spa were amazing. The only thing that was a little disappointing was the jacuzzi wasn't working in the spa area and would have been a nice thing to try but I will definitely be recommending aldwark to everyone I know.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missdawn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldwark
23.0 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,542 reviews
12.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,186 reviews
11.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Property: Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Address: Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 53 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor York
Aldwark Manor Hotel York
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing