We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“birthday treat”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

As a birthday / first wedding anniversary treat we stayed one night in the hotel complete with evening meal and spa treatment.

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised at being gifted a complimentary upgrade to a q star suite which was beautiful to say the least, very clean and filled with nice little touches like jars of goodies.

We then ventured to have a few drinks on the terrace before our pamper session.

The staff here were very helpful and chatty. We did have to seek out spa robes at reception ourselves which I thought may have been given out on our arrival when checking in but it gave us a chance to have a look at the pool area. At the spa the staff were fab and made my husband feel very relaxed him being the only male in that area. Both treatments couldn't be faulted, thank you to them for de stressing us.

We made our way down to the brasserie at our allotted time to find it marginally busy. Our drinks order was brought promptly as well as complimentary bread but that couldn't be said for the meal. We waited 45 minutes for our starter and half an hour for the meal. We did notice that the head waiter was fending complaints off left right and centre due to the chef being behind his service because of a rather large seminar that afternoon running over but as our food was ok we didnt venture into the complaints market no point really there is no entertainment as such in the hotel so listening to people gripe about paltry things was amusing enough. Our food was lovely although my order changed with no apology but I was stuffed after three courses. The staff at supper and breakfast went out of their way even though it was a stressful service for them all.

The location is great the golf course is immaculate overall, I couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lushylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kharrisonmann, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted that you chose Aldwark to celebrate both your birthday and wedding anniversary with us.

The Q star rooms are beautiful and I was pleased we were able to upgrade you and glad you enjoyed the extra facilities this type of room has to offer.

The Spa team are very friendly and once again great to hear you left feeling relaxed and de- stressed. The golf course is well groomed and is an enjoyable course to play as you experienced which all adds to an enjoyable stay overall.

In respect of dinner service , we agree that the service took too long. Unfortunately we were running behind and we are very sorry for the wait. We have taken your comments on board and both the head chef and restaurant manager have found your feedback invaluable , so we can improve in the future. However, I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your food and felt the staff looked after you well under pressure and I will pass your kind comments on to them.

We do hope we will see you again in the near future .

Kind Regards

Kay Harrison-Mann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    515
    295
    139
    77
See reviews for
233
848
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Second time we've been to Aldwark Manor for birthday breaks. The Hotel is a lovely old 18th Century Manor house, staff courteous and friendly and location in North Yorks superb. Spent the Afternoon relaxing in the gardens, then into the spa for swimming, sauna and steam and early evening relaxation. Then off to the nearby Aldwark Arm pub where they have lovely food and back to hotel bar to round off evening in comfy seats with a couple of glasses of bubbly. Fab breakfast next morning and time for stroll before heading off completely relaxed and rested. Would definitely recommend for those who play golf or just to get away from the rat race for a day or two. Beningborough Hall is just own the road and is worth a visit if you have time too. Will be back!

Room Tip: Double room with lots of space or balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prankstersinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kharrisonmann, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review. As you say we are the perfect place for that get away from it all break and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us once again.
The staff really appreciate your kind comments and are delighted that your time with us has left you relaxed and rested , as that is what Aldwark is all about.
I was pleased to note that you enjoyed breakfast and hopefully next time we can tempt you away from the Aldwark Arms and you could enjoy a meal in our excellent Brasserie.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Kay Harrison-Mann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnside
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent one night on a golfing package, and whilst the golf was fine the hotel was a little disappointing.

Arriving late morning we ordered bacon sandwiches before playing golf, and were served cold bacon on less than fresh rolls.

The dinner in the evening was better without being exceptional.

The rooms were fine, with comfortable beds and a nice view over the golf course; unfortunately the waste bin was still full of the previous guests waste.

Following an enjoyable round of golf we ordered refreshments before leaving, which were slow in arriving and the chips had to be sent back to the kitchen as they were cold.

A rather disappointing experience, and it wouldn't take huge changes to make it much better. It felt as though the establishment lacked good management and didn't give sufficient attention to simple service standards

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRB008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive comment.
Further to your visit to Aldwark Manor, please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience that you encountered. Rest assured, we do not want any of our guests to leave with a sense of dissatisfaction.

I thank you for your feedback as we value your comments on how we are able to improve our service.

Kind Regards
Karen Howe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here in April 2013 with my Mum for one of the special spa treats.

When we arrived we were immediately struck by the beauty of the building and location. However it seemed to take reception ages to check us in as some details had been lost. We had the first of our spa treatments shortly after arrival, but there did not seem to be anywhere to leave our bags and cases, our room not being ready, so we had to lug them down to the spa, which was a bit of a nuisance.

We had two spa treatments booked, but did not get our robes and slippers until the second treatment, which seemed a bit disorganised. We really should have had the robes at the start, and somewhere to leave our cases.

The food was excellent, but when it came to the evening meal which was part of our package, we were told that we could choose from the a la carte up to a certain value, which seemed like a funny way to do things. Anything you had above that had to be paid for, and yet I was under the impression that we had already paid for a full meal. Having said that, the staff at dinner and breakfast were excellent. We had a lunch in the spa, and this was also very good and good service.

The room was pleasant, and what you would expect from a hotel of this standard - very nice.

The spa treatments were very good, and there was a brilliant relaxation room to chill out in afterwards.

Pleasant lounges to sit in. Lovely feel to the place - an inspiring combination of traditional old country house with modern facilities.

I thought that, on the whole, the place was lovely and the waiting staff were excellent - there could just be a bit more thought put into things organisationally.

All in all, I would go back here for a short break and spa treatment.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip advisor.

It is disappointing to hear that you felt our reception and spa area was disorganised. We have since reviewed our guests journey when on a spa break to ensure that this does not happen to other guests.Therefore I apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your party.

It is very reassuring however that you felt our staff where very helpful and provided excellent service to your party.

We look forward to your return visit within the near future.

Kind Regards
Karen Howe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

As a gift for my 55th birthday we spent a night at this hotel with a "3 course dinner included" . We used the spa facilities on arrival which were comprehensive with pool, steam room ,sauna etc. No problems there!
My partner spoke to the hotel by phone earlier in the week and on booking the room had been offered dinner at £26 per head for 3 courses. This was duly accepted and paid for.
On taking our seats at a table in the restaurant at 8pm it was explained that we had a budget of £26 and that any additional cost on the menu would have to be paid for. Fair enough you might say but why "extort" money from us before we arrive because clearly looking at the prices it would be difficult to get 3 courses for this price. My partner expected that the hotel would produce a 3 course meal with possible limited choice and also an a la carte menu. Is this not the norm?
Slightly niggled by this but undaunted we ordered our meal, and a bottle of Pinot Grigio at a cost of £22 which we thought was a bit steep!
The mains ordered were a 10oz rib eye steak and lamb in a mint jus. I was asked how I wanted the steak (rare to medium) and as no prompt was made my partner had to request how her lamb
was cooked (also rare to medium)
The starters were ok but when the mains arrived it was clear no thought was made to how they were cooked. Both were overcooked with the lamb almost cremated. The steak in my opinion was rump and well below 10 oz. The chips were undercooked, raw almost in the middle and soft on the outside. The gravy with the steak was caramelised and burnt . The young man who had brought our food asked us how our meal was. We duly expressed our concerns and were offered another choice. As my partner thought the lamb had potential we both asked for lamb cooked rare to medium. 10 minutes later as quoted by the restaurant manager, 2 plates arrived with lamb that was burnt on the outside and raw on the inside. he told us the plates were hot and to be careful. He was right! The "jus" was that burnt caramelised stuff I had experienced with my steak. There was no hint of mint as described. It was no good and we gave in after a few mouthfuls, expressed our disgust and retired to the bar.
Next morning we asked to speak to the manager. The restaurant manager appeared from the night before and said that after a meeting that morning it was decided a £20 discount each would be made on the bill (the bill that had been paid in advance for 3 courses!).
We requested the manager and a lady arrived after 30 mins , took notes and asked us what we wanted. Had the hotel refunded us the full price of the meal in the first place , then I would have been satisfied but, now really upset and annoyed asked for a full refund for our stay. we have been refunded the cost of the "3 course meal" and await an email with voucher for another nights stay. Whether that includes dinner is yet to be seen.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Mr Bell,

Thank you for your comments on your departure and now on Trip Advisor.

I am however sorry that you found the restaurant extremely disappointing. After an investigation and by way of explanation only, we have discovered that you were happy with your starters of which you ate, however unhappy with the cooking requirement for your main course of lamb rump and rib eye steak. Please note that our chef's recommend our lamb rump to be pink and we have never had any issues regarding this in the last 6 month the menu has been available. On informing our staff of your displeasure, you were offered a replacement on both dishes. On the arrival of your second two dishes it was noted that you were clearly still unhappy stating the meat was now raw. Every effort was made by our team to correct your dissatisfaction however clearly we were unable to. This resulted in you leaving our restaurant with no dessert and as you have described still 'hungry'.

In reference to your other comments I can assure you that our steaks are rib eye and not rump as you suggested and are weighed by our butcher and again by ourselves. We are not trying to con our guests and therefore I am shocked and disappointed that you are suggesting this.

As stated I did indeed tell you I would email you and remove your food allocation from your bill and that I have done promptly therefore it is highly disheartening that you feel you need to rate us so low and tarnish our reputation. Clearly our restaurant was not what you were looking for and for this I apologise.

Regards
Karen Howe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We arrived to find out that one of the 3 rooms that we had booked had been given away but were told not to worry they had given us 2 family rooms instead and would not be charged for the 3rd room. I think we were expected to feel grateful that we didn't have to pay for something that we weren't getting!
It soon became very clear that the reception manager did not have the authority to sort the situation out so we asked to speak to a more senior manager ( who never appeared). By this time we had nearly missed our planned spa treatment (despite arriving 2 hours early) so asked the staff to ensure we would not miss these as it was no fault of ours that we had been held up so long at reception. We were then told that the reception manager could not help us with this either. After further delays we eventually were served a very poor lunch in the dirty spa cafe area. Eventually the spa manger arrived to tell us that she had re-arranged our spa apontments and proceeded to place our robes and slippers on the dirty floor next to us.
The treatments themselves were very good but the changing rooms were filthy and the wet plasters scattered around the poolside were very off-putting.
Eventually we were told that they'd found us another room (presumably this was the room the couple we'd met earlier were due to stay in but they had decided to leave after the terrible service they had received). Again the room was not clean.
The restaurant and bar manager was very hepful with dinner that evening and agreed with us that the raw chocloate sponge we were served was not a chocolate fondant and not edible.
I could go on forever with further problems encountered. We tried to contact customer services on the day, we have also emailed but am yet to have the promised phone call. Never again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

On arrived at the hotel and contrary to you saying the room had been given away, Kasha our reception Manager, explained that the hotel was overbooked. As it happened we had two cancellations on the day and we could offer you two rooms or the second option was that we had made alternative arrangements for you to be accommodated locally if you wanted to be all together . Kasha had also arranged for taxis to take you backward and forward to the hotel so your party could enjoy the Spa facilities here. Your demand for a free stay was unreasonable and Kasha quite rightly said she didn’t have the authorisation to do this. At this point Kasha contacted our General Manager to discuss the situation.

The spa times were then moved slightly due to the delay at check in. Your robes and slippers were not put on the floor as Lynn specifically put them on the table next to them. In respect of the Spa lunch we served lots of lunches that day with no other complaints. The spa was very busy and the changing rooms were full and needed tidying up more frequently, but the Spa is not filthy.

In respect to the guests that chose to leave our hotel I can assure you they did not leave because of terrible service.

This freed up the third room so we offered it immediately to your party so you where able to all now be accommodated.

On check out on the Sunday you were still clearly unhappy. At this point you were all given a substantial discount off you accommodation, spa treatments and dinner. We believed at this point that we had compensated you party adequately and we felt that the issue had been dealt with.

Regards

Karen Howe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight on a 2 day spa break with 7 others. The hotel is beautiful with lots of different sitting rooms to relax in.

Our rooms were comfortable and roomy. However, even with the windows closed (and it was warm so I would have liked them open), all you could hear throughout the night was the drone of an air conditioning unit or something similar outside our window. Hardly slept and would definitely have asked to be moved had we been staying another night. The disabled walk in shower was interesting, no bath. Might have been nice if they had mentioned it and asked if we minded. I think it was Rm 134.

Reception gave us a lovely friendly welcome on arrival. In fact on the whole the staff were absolutely lovely. Garry the barman was great, a lovely sense of humour and really friendly and helpful. The two young male waiters provided great service with a smile and were more than happy to take photos of our group for us. Thank you.

The spa area was lovely. It would have been nice to have some quiet music in the spa lounge to make it feel less like a conservatory and more like a pampering area to relax in. Our gruff greeting on arrival to the spa was "You can't have a coffee because we're having a new machine fitted."!!

My treatments with Candida however were amazing. A fantastic facial followed by reflexology. I could have laid there all day. She had a firm, professional touch and made you feel at ease. Thank you Candida. My french manicure was also nicely done but sadly I can't remember the name of the therapist.

My mother in law's treatment was less pleasant. Her first manicure was still not dry after 3 hours and became smudged. The manager was very apologetic and re-did it. However, it would have been nice if the red varnish had been taken off properly, so that the cream varnish put on was not surrounded by red round the cuticles. She was very disappointed but didn't feel able to complain a second time.

A quick mention about our food. It was ok. Nothing special and not cheap. I've certainly had better at similar hotels.

All in all though we had a great time and despite the odd gripe I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindmillWAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you constructive feedback. I am sorry that you were unable to gain a good nights sleep due to our extraction. For this I sincerely apologies.

Thank you for you kind comments about our staff we really do pride ourselves on our staff members and delivering exceptional service. Your greeting at our spa reception however shall be addressed as this is not acceptable.

Garry and Candida are delighted that you have commented about them and they thank you for your kind comments.

With regards to your final comment about the spa please could you contact lroach@qhotels.co.uk to rearrange a potential return visit alternatively you can contact me on khowe@qhotels.co.uk.

Kind Regards
Karen Howe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldwark
23.0 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,563 reviews
12.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,219 reviews
11.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
4.5 mi away
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Property: Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Address: Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 53 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor York
Aldwark Manor Hotel York
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing