We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat yourself”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife and i took our friends for a spa & golf stay at the aldwark Manor, im glad we chose this hotel it was perfect and very impressive on arrival ,i told the hotel receptionist when i booked that the reason we were staying was to celebrate our friends joint 50th birthday and when we got there they had upgraded our rooms and put a birthday card & chocolates in our friends room , ( nice touch and very thoughtful ) , the hotel was spotless and the rooms over looking the golf course were perfect, very spacious & grand , we had dinner in the hotel and the food was fantastic and the staff were more than helpful, you may need to book a table it`s very popular , in the morning we had breakfast which again was excellent with plenty of choice and freshly cooked , the girls enjoyed the spa treatments and leisure facilities while me and my pal tackled the golf course , it`s worth a visit just to play golf , nice track . it`s location is perfect to visit York too , overall the hotel and staff made our weekend perfect , go on treat yourself you won`t regret it .

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor overlooking the golf course and the outside bar terrace ,they were large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunkyPhil51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Funkyphil51,

Thank you for writing such a ‘truly fantastic’ review. We are delighted that you had such a memorable stay and Happy 50th Birthday once again from us all.

Our head chef Matt Gabbitas is thrilled that you enjoyed his food so much so that you thought it was 'fantastic'. Our Food and Beverage team are constantly striving to provide the best possible service to our guests and it is always greatly received when they are praised for there hard work and dedication.

It is also great to hear that you found our golf course to be of a high standard and that your partner enjoyed our spa and leisure facilities.

We look forward to you return visit

Kind Regards

Karen Howe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,840 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel was set in superb grounds, the reception staff Emily could not do enough to make our stay at the hotel any better. Whilst the spa facilities are very good the swimming pool is a little bit on the small side. The food that was prepared and served was first class, and breakfast was certainly hearty.
We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel and look forward to going back.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear David E,

Your comments are greatly received, thank you. Our chefs are particularly pleased that you commented so highly of there food.

Thank you once again for you valued feedback

Kind Regards
Karen Howe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here on the May bank holiday (Sunday). We went away with another couple. Girls had a spa day while we played golf on both days. Overall we had a great weekend.
Check in was painless with staff being very helpful and polite. Our rooms were lovely nice size with views over the golf course. Only small issue was bed valance didn't fit properly. (Stayed in other Qhotels and would expect perfection as other hotels have set a high standard)
Evening meal was very nice and food quality was excellent. Meal started off very well but as the dinning area got busier we were forgotten about (to the extent we had to ask for dessert menu, then ask to order our choices). We complained to, who we believed to be the head waiter. He dealt with the matter excellently and was very apologetic and gave us complementary drinks which was nice touch. Breakfast was very good with ample to choose from.
I have read previous reviews about the golf course and on attending I was a little apprehensive due to the poor reviews. However the course was in very good condition, albeit a few bald patches on the greens. The course was excellently set up and wasn't a course where you step up on each hole and play. You have to plan each hole. I saw some critisim of the 16th, how you just need two short irons. This is true, 7 iron and lob wedge for myself. But I felt this was unique and was all about positioning off the tee.
My wife was full of compliments about the spa area and treatments she received. We went into the pool area after golf and it was very good.
Overall we had a great weekend and would recommend this hotel and I would happily return in future.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

It is disappointing to be informed of you dining experience as we do spend a lot of time training our staff to deliver a high standard of service at all times. It is however reassuring that the problem was dealt with efficiently by our management team.

With regards to our golf course we have a terrible start to the year which did unfortunately disrupt our greens. However over the last few months the weather has improved and therefore helped to enhance the course.

It is great that you wife enjoyed our spa treatments and our leisure facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Karen Howe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night as part of a wedding party and I thought the hotel was excellent.

Beautiful location in rural North Yorkshire with excellent views from many rooms. Hotel provides golf and spa but sadly our stay was too short to experience these facilities.

Staff all polite and friendly from reception, bar, restaurant, breakfast.

Food at the wedding was excellent with no complaints. Breakfast was very good indeed with lots of cereal, fruit, pastries and hot food to choose from. Staff kept cleaning the empty tables but our plates and bowls kept piling up and I saw the same on other tables. Staff need to keep on top of this in my opinion

Our room, 311, was excellent and worth the few extra pounds to stay in. The previous reviewer, who stayed in this room, sumed it up well.

Only gripe was the very expensive bar prices. Of course you expect to pay a bit extra in a hotel and at a wedding but the price of some of the drinks was startling and up there with central London prices. One member of staff was embarrassed to tell me the price of one round I bought.

All in all, an excellent wedding experience and stay at this hotel and I would return in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHull_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Johnhull,

Thank you for taking the time to review us at Aldwark Manor.

I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and had the opportunity to explore just a small part of Yorkshire. It is truly a shame that you didn't get the chance to enjoy our facilities to the maximum, however it does give you the excuse to return.
It is also delightful that you enjoyed both dining experiences expect the build up of plates that I must apologies for. Your comments have also been noted with regards to our bar pricing.

I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Kindest Regards

Karen Howe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Aldward Manor 30th April - 1st May. We booked a Q star room. We were allocated room 311 which is a split level room. There was a downstairs living area with sky Tv and a bathroom and then a flight of stairs to the bedroom area. There are other Q Star rooms which are on one level but I did not see them. ( I think I would prefer a room on one level.) There was a small window on the living area which overlooked the golf course but was not really big enough to enjoy the beautiful view.

Check in was fine, the receptionist was friendly. The hotel was generally quiet and in a lovely setting.

We ate at the hotel on both evenings. The food was nice and good quality, We had breakfast on both mornings and there was ample to chose from.

The staff at the hotel were all polite, helpful and friendly.

The bar was normal hotel prices with lots of comfy chairs.

The pool area had a good size jaccuzi, sauna, small steam room and a pool. The gym was of reasonable size. There were beauty range was Espa. I did not have any treatments.

The Hotel is out in the country but not too far from York. We drove to a park and ride which was only about 20 mins away and was really good value £2.60 each. It was so easy to use would recommend it

Overall we had a nice stay and would return again in the future.

Room Tip: Q star rooms have a few little extras. matress topper. If you have any mobility problems make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susan1warwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Susan1warwicksh,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Aldwark Manor.

It is pleasing to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel and that you had the chance to visit areas of our beautiful county. It is a shame that you didn't have the chance to experience our espa treatment range but maybe on your return visit you will have the opportunity.

Thank you once again for you feedback and we look forward to you returning.

Kind Regards
Karen Howe
Operations Manager



I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is a revelation that you would not want to miss!! From arrival (the setting is perfect} to friendly reception staff (especially Emily) lovely room , spotlessly clean. Then to the food - what a delight. Superb doesnt do it justice. Krisstoff (hope the spelling is right ) looked after us admirably, with some of the personable waiters and waitresses ( Hannah was great). Quite secluded and yet within easy reach of many places of interest. Golfers will be in their glory! Only one gripe if there is a conferance on then there can be a delay in the dining room. We did not mind the wait but if you are on a tight schedule then it can be slightly annoying. But all in all a special break.

Room Tip: I would think all romms are of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jperry247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear jperry247,

Thank you for such a glowing review. Kristof and Hannah are thrilled that you have mentioned them by name for delivering excellent service, they truly are a credit to our hotel. Our Head Chef is also delighted about your comments on his food ' superb doesn't do it justice' Wow. It is such a pleasure when our guests appreciate the effort for chefs put into each dish.

As for large parties within our dining room we are looking into a different style of service to ensure all of our guests receive the same level of service when we are busy.

Thank you once again for your comments

Kind Regards
Karen Howe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Stayed here last weekend - a surprise booked by my significant other and what a lovely surprise!
We were lucky to be upgraded from a room in the new wing to one of the original (old house) rooms - WOW.
Lovely large room overlooking the golf course, large comfy bed, nice bathroom (with comfy bathrobes).
Despite there being a wedding on, there was very little noise and a good night's sleep was had on both nights.
The restaurant was a very pleasant surprise - both breakfast and dinners (we didn't bother trying elsewhere after the 1st night, it was so nice) were excellent: delicious, beautifully prepared and delivered with a smile.
We were unable to try any of the spa treatments unfortunately, as it was fully booked (wedding guests and a number of other parties had taken all available slots) but the pool, jacuzzi & steam room were all good and we enjoyed anyway (will make a note to pre-book on next visit).
There are some lovely walks and the very friendly and helpful front-desk staff gave us details and a photocopy guide.
The concierge was excellent: a request for an ice-bucket resulted in delivery no more than 2 mins after my return to the room (putting to shame a 4 star London hotel in Chelsea which took 4 attempts to do the same thing!!)

We have both decided a return visit is a necessity - thoroughly recommended and good value for the quality.

Room Tip: I'm sure the new rooms are equally as good but ones in the main house are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shefftraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Shefftraveller52,

Wow thank you for such a glowing review.

Being a old manor house we do have a range of room types however generally on our traditional side the bedrooms are spacious with some fantastic views of our golf course. So it is pleasing when our guests are able to appreciate how beautiful and extensive our grounds are. It is also fantastic that our staff are able to go the extra mile and deliver great service but most important that the guests feel our staff are warm and friendly.

Thank you for your valued praise

Kind Regards

Karen Howe
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldwark
23.0 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,640 reviews
12.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,687 reviews
21.3 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#13 of 87 in Leeds
3,304 reviews
11.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Address: Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range: $124 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 53 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor York
Aldwark Manor Hotel York
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing