We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was great but everything else.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

.....was well under standard for a 4 star spa/hotel

We stayed there for 2 nights from March 15th 2013.

The room was basic with very basic facilities. There was no mini bar, ill fitting curtains covered the windows, the grouting in the bathroom was dusty and dirty and, finally, a king size bed that was booked was 2 singles shoved together. This provided 2 nights of broken sleep as there was a canyon in the middle of the bed.

On the final night after our meal (which I might add was very good indeed) we got in the lift to go back to the room. The lift signage advised that it could hold 8 people and 8 people were in the lift. Within seconds it broke down. We rang the alarm on several occasions with no verbal response from hotel staff. After 20 minutes we were eventually released with the only communication coming during that period was a member of staff shouting how many people are in the lift...not is everyone alright. I advised how many people were in the lift to be advised it was 2 many. A change of sign of capacity needed then me thinks. Once out we were given a drink only to be advised by another member of staff that the lift is very sensitive and has done that before!!!!!

Next morning whilst having a swim the fire alarm went off, ok this can happen anytime, anywhere, but we then had to stand in the car park, dripping wet on a cold March morning. Nobody really seemed to know what was going on and we were subsequently given an extra towel to try and keep warm. Very young children were outside as well. Again I appreciate that fire alarms do occur but it was just organised chaos

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grantcarter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kharrisonmann, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We take your comments very seriously so we can improve our customer care in the future.

Please accept our sincere apologies that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion it is not indicative of what Aldwark is all about , as you will see from all the very positive reviews we have received recently.

In respect of your room , a standard room was booked and it has all the facilities one would expect from a standard room. We do have varying levels of room type from standards to luxury suites and they all offer different facilities. However no matter what the room type you are at the very least expected to receive a clean comfortable room and a good nights sleep . I have reviewed your comments re cleanliness and the inspected the bed and all these matters have been addressed already. We are sorry for our shortcomings in this area.

In respect of the food I was pleased to note the meal was of a good standard .

I was concerned to note your comments in respect the lift breakdown as I know how distressing a situation like this can be. I did of course investigate the comments you have made fully with my management team on duty that evening.
The lift stopped as it was overloaded , the sign in the lift clearly states that it holds 8 people or 630kg. One of the ladies in the lift challenged that fact and that there was no weight limit notice in the lift but unfortunately there is.
When all the guests finally left the lift it was obviously crammed indicating that it was overloaded and lifts are very sensitive to weight limits.I have to say that this lift rarely breaks down or stops unless there is an issue such as overloading.
There were two senior managers on duty that evening , they heard the alarm and acted very quickly . The staff did ask how many people were in the lift and they did ask if everyone was okay but at the time there was a lot of laughter going on from inside the lift and I don't think the staff were heard. Please be assured that we take the welfare of our customers very seriously indeed and you were released as quickly as we could. None of the team recalls saying there were 2 too many in the lift because there were eight of you in total and we were aware of that, what they meant was that the lift was overloaded .
Once out of the lift our primary concern was that our guests were well and that we needed to get everyone some refreshment , which we did immediately. The manager went back to the ladies periodically throughout the evening to ensure they were all okay .We are of course very sorry for this unfortunate experience, it isn't pleasant we appreciate, and we were thankful that all our guests were okay , however there was nothing we could do to prevent this as the lift was overloaded and when this happens it will stop for safety reasons.

The next morning the fire alarm did go off as you will once again appreciate this can happen at any time. There was around 150 persons on site with most people in breakfast or in the Spa . We felt the evacuation was orderly and went very well given the amount of people to evacuate. In fact no other guest staying that weekend has commented on the evacuation as being organized chaos. Guest safety is paramount in our hotel at all times.
We have very set procedures for evacuation of our guests which we practice regularly and all our staff have fire training. it is not usual to have muster points in car parks or indeed any area outside which are well away from a buildings to protect people.
It was a damp morning and do understand that that standing outside is not pleasant and cold especially for our Spa guests in robes ,young children and the elderly. Extra towels were given to those who needed it as they left the building. Unfortunately when an alarm sounds everyone must leave the building including the young children which is difficult I know.
However we have taken your comments on board and from our own subsequent review ,we have decided to buy some additional thermal foil wraps for all our guests who require one and to carry extra blankets for the vulnerable going forward.

Once again we thank you for your feedback it is very important to us and we are very sorry that you had two unfortunate situations to contend with during your stay with us.

I hope I have answered all your queries but should you wish to discuss matters fully please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Kind Regards

Kay Harrison-Mann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,826)
There are newer reviews for Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,266 - 1,272 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at Aldwark Manor and had a lovely relaxing time. Driving towards the grand old building you can not help but be impressed by its stature and the surrounding gardens and golf course. The staff throughout the hotel are friendly and helpful without exception. Our room was spacious and clean, with an excellent view across the golf course. The spa and pool areas are lovely with jacuzzi, steam room and sauna and a fair size pool, with water at a lovely warm temperature. The spa also has its own coffee area if you want to indulge after your swim. There is also a gym, (although I must confess we did not venture in). The food served in the restaurant was first class, excellent selection for breakfast and the evening meal was delicious and beautifully presented. The staff in the restaurant gave a very attentive service without being overpowering. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kharrisonmann, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Susan

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review and your comments are very much appreciated.

We were delighted to read that you had a relaxing break , Aldwark's stunning surroundings both the buildings and the grounds are a perfect get away from it all place to unwind. the room that you booked has lovely views and it was good to note that you found it clean and comfortable. The spa and leisure club also offer a super facility to pamper and enjoy.

The staff were very pleased to note that you thought the were friendly and helpful and that their service enhanced your guest experience.

Fantastic comments about the evening meal and breakfast , the chef and restaurant manager have passed your positive feedback to their teams . There has been a new team lately in both areas and it is encouraging to read that you had an enjoyable dining experience.

Thank you for recommending Aldwark to fellow travelers and we very much hope you will come to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Kay Harrison-Mann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have just had an excellent weekend at Aldwalk Manor. Spa experience was lovely with attentive staff and lovely treatment rooms. The food was excellent especially the evening meal. It was fantastic value and we will be going back.

Room Tip: Add golf air hose to clean equipment
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kharrisonmann, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Ian

Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review and we were delighted that you enjoyed an excellent weekend with us at Aldwark.
Iam so pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy the Spa experience and that you found the staff attentive and the treatment rooms comfortable.
I have passed your comments on to the Head Chef and Restaurant Manager about the food quality and service and they would like to thank you for the positive feedback which they will share with their teams.
It was fantastic to read that you felt it was good value for money and you would be returning ,so we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Kay Harrison-Mann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Girlie weekend was fab lovely place to chill, all the staff are so friendly and the young lady in charge of our catering was so helpful with my gluten free diet. We are booked in to return July cannot wait.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen200763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kharrisonmann, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Hello Karen

Fabulous to read that you found the hotel for your Girlie weekend away was lovely place to chillout.

It was great to read that you felt the team were friendly and helpful and it is our pleasure to ensure your experience is memorable by going the extra mile.

I note you are returning in July and thank you for choosing Aldwark again . We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Kay Harrison-Mann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Met up with friends from down south at this wonderful hotel, from first entering the building you where greeted by staff who where all very helpful and asking if they could get you anything.
Our room was very spacious and clean, the food in the restaurant was lovely, breakfast was plentiful, spa staff very nice, couldn't fault it. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alis0n62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kharrisonmann, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Alison

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a lovely positive review following your recent stay at Aldwark your comments are valued and very much appreciated.by the team.

Its a great hotel to relax , unwind and meet friends and we were so pleased that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

I was pleased to read that you found the room comfortable and the restaurant food quality and service enjoyable .

We very much look forward to welcoming you all back in the near future .

Kind Regards

Kay Harrison-Mann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Staff are friendly and helpful.
Rooms are spacious but a little dusty
Swimming pool excellent
Food Excellent
Not tried the spa but looked good
Reasonably priced.
Would like to walk round the golf course what a shame you can't make it safe enough so you can share the countryside with the golfers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kharrisonmann, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Liz

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay at Aldwark and pleased that you felt it was good value for money.
I was delighted to note that you found the staff friendly , the food excellent and the pool offering an excellent facility.
I have passed on your comments to the new Head Housekeeper in respect of the rooms so we may address matters.
In respect of sharing the grounds with the golfers , that can be difficult when it is busy to police where the balls are going to land, some golfers are more accurate than others and im not sure how to make it safer. , However Iam pleased to report that some guests do walk it regardless and thankfully we have had no injuries to date.
There are areas of the grounds which are golf free and hopefully you may return in the future and take advantage of the spa and a walk in our lovely grounds.

Kind Regards
Kay Harrison-Mann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Booked a one night stay for my partners birthday, which included breakfast and complimentary use of the spa facilities. Our room was a good size and clean, modern looking and had everything we needed. The staff are friendly and more than happy to help. We ordered a 3 course meal to our room because the restaurant has a dress code (no Tshirts, shorts etc) we only had Tshirts but wanted go try the food, the staff were happy to bring it to us. The food was lovely, we had the prawn cocktail (lovely) fish and chips and the burger (both delicious) and the cheese platter and the chocolate bombe which was go die for, well worth eating there for the price. The spa is small but very nice and clean. The pool is warm and the steam room and sauna are worth going in. I would recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to visit York and the nearby areas, it's lovely and would be even better in the summer with its fabulous gardens and golf facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kharrisonmann, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Dear Aime Louise

Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive response following your recent stay at Aldwark for your partners birthday.
We were pleased that you found your room comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.
In respect of your room service the chef was pleased that we delivered a whole meal to satisfaction and that you found the food delicious.
The Spa, Leisure and Golf facilities are of a good standard and Iam glad they made your stay an enjoyable experience.
Thank you for recommending Aldwark and please do return in the future, maybe in the summer so that you can enjoy the fabulous gardens.

Kind Regards

Kay Harrison-Mann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldwark
23.0 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,622 reviews
12.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,280 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,657 reviews
11.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Address: Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range: $120 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 53 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor York
Aldwark Manor Hotel York
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing