We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“decent experience”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

the hotel itself is a little bit jaded however the room was fine and we had complimentary upgrade ,meal in restaurant was ok and we went for breakfast at 930am and no brown bread or orange juice which had ran out , the staff were polite a sort of average hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thornabyfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    526
    298
    145
    81
See reviews for
239
860
17
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Aldwark Manor Hotel for three nights at the end of October. We found the staff to be really courteous and helpful.The rooms were of a high standard and the food was very good.We had a really enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sherwoodHornchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just stayed for one night and everything was fine. Nice comfortable lounge to sit in during the afternoon, just relaxing with a book and a very nice pint. A spacious bedroom, very clean and well appointed. The highlight was the evening meal in the Brasserie - excellent quality, nicely presented, good service - two 3-course meas totalled £60 which was okay given the standard, but £20 for the cheapest red wine was a bit steep. Breakfast provided a very wide choice, again all of good quality. Cooked foods on the self-service buffet counter could have been a bit hotter, and warmed plates would have been nice. Overall though, a very nice stay and we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed for a one night relaxing spa break. The spa area is in dire need of cleaning. The staff all appear disheartened - not something we experienced on our first trip here 3 years ago. The spa break lunch was 45 minutes late, meaning we missed our treatment time. The facial was fantastic that I had booked for later in the day though.
The room was a disabled room and we asked to be moved but was advised the hotel was fully booked so it wasn't possible. Th champagne in the bar hadn't been chilled and the veg (when it finally arrived) was in part burnt and frazzled. Neither do they know how to make a cappucino!
Overall - not relaxing - quite grubby now and poor service from the staff who for all they do try really do look as if they do not want to be there. Very very disappointing, couldn't recommend any more I am afraid.

Room Tip: Room 207 if you are disabled but don't mind sitting with a big puddle of water around your feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 663Louise76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We have used QHotels on numerous occasions and have always found them to be very good. The Aldwark is a golf and spa hotel and we had a delightful room with a huge four poster bed. The pool is large and the spa facilities are all pleasing.
My husband had taken me away for a break following a stay in hospital and I was a little anxious as I had been put on a fat-free diet; add to that the fact that I do not eat meat and the restrictions could have ruined my visit to Aldwark Manor. However, I contacted them before our stay and the quite delightful restaurant manager, Amy, telephoned me twice to assure me that the chef would cater for my needs.
On arrival at the hotel Amy was knocking at our door within minutes to introduce herself and during our break she made sure that staff knew what I needed in the restaurant so that I always felt at ease. That 'above and beyond' service really made our stay special.
The only frustrating element of the trip, a special offer bed,breakfast and evening meal, was that QHotels add the 20% VAT onto the bill at the checkout so the special deal turned out not to be quite so special.
Try the local pub, The Aldwark Arms, in the village - outstanding food.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the golf course which ensured lovely views in early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I've stayed at Aldwark Manor a number of times, and you are always impressed by the great location. We booked a double room with a King sized bed.
The bed was great - but the room left a bit to be desired, mainly because of poor maintenance. The heating wasn't working, so we had to ask for a free standing heater which was duly provided without any problems. The shower thermostat didn't work so the shower went from hot to cold intermittently. No robes in the room which were needed for the spa - which we had to ask for and which again were provided without any problems. Massive draught from the window, needed fixing.
Restaurant good and breakfast excellent. The staff were very friendly, but it would have been better if we didn't have to keep asking for things.
Good rate so good value, but could have been better with a little care and attention.
The pool was crowded(half term) and one of the showers didn't work. The spa was fine but couldn't get the treatment we wanted , although there didn't seem to be too much going on. May have been because it was a Sunday.

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course is a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Questionable cleanliness in room- long black hairs in bath tub and sink. Very average decore in room, like a travel inn style.
Service terrible- 3 hours for dinner, 45minutes wait till we got our starters! Breakfast buffer, not the best.
Overall a rather disappointing experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkd50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldwark
23.0 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,590 reviews
12.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
10.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,256 reviews
11.0 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
10.5 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Property: Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Address: Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 53 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor York
Aldwark Manor Hotel York
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing