We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Booked this only a couple of days before our stay direct with the hotel. Bargain price matched all other last minute sites. Thought we had the wrong room as we were in a suite-fantastic. Pool, jacuzzi,sauna and steam room very good and quiet. The gym was great too, all state of the art machines etc. Had the dinner on our first night- gorgeous food, very good service. Second night ordered room service, food hot and nicely served. Throughout our stay the staff were very pleasant and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,598 - 1,604 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2011

Just retuned from a relaxing 2 night stay at Alwark Manor. The major plus's being the beautiful setting, and the friendly, helpful staff. The hotel is striking on first appearences, but could do with a revamp in some areas. We stayed in room 304, and although the facilities were adequate, the view and the bathroom were disappointing and not worthy of 4 stars. The bathroom in particular looked tired, with discoured grouting, and a worn bath. It was also very small.
The room itself was clean on arrival, but was not really cleaned during our stay. Although the bed was remade, the fluff on the carpet remained, and it had obviously not been hoovered. Neither were the toiletries replenished.
However saying that, the bed was very comfortable and the beding spotless.It did not detract from our stay, but feel that the room facilties do not warrant 4 stars, Breakfast was fab, good choice, and some of the best sausages ever.
There was a wedding in the hotel on Saturday, and the guests really took over the bar area. making it difficult to find a space for a nice relaxing drink. We sat in the Terrace bar for a while, to avoid the crowds, but this was closed at approx 9pm, so had to move to the Spitfire bar, and
contend with the wedding guests when trying to order a drink. Not ideal. Perhaps the hotel should offer wedding guests a private bar, so the Hotel guests are not inconvienienced?
We would certainly return to the Hotel, but perhaps next time ask for a room over looking the Golf Course and not overlooking the air conditoning units, which is the view from Room 304.
The major selling point of this hotel is it's location, and its superb staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonnesmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This was my fourth visit to the Aldwark and yet again a lovely stay. The room was v clean and spacious, bed comfortable, modern and contemporary. The staff on reception extremley welcoming, special mention to Logan, the concierge, always pleased to meet and greet and share a good humoured conversation with :) Lovely time at the Spa,again the friendliness of the staff and their efficient service really makes a difference :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melita8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Not good enough to be classed as 4 star. Very average 3 star at best. Very dated hotel with overpriced menu. Breakfast selection very poor and hot buffet swimming in greace. Leisure facilities nice and staff very friendly/well trained. About half an hour from York if you use the park and ride which I would recommend. Overall a very average stay and definately not worth the nightly rate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

We like honest reviews and take all points back to the team in order to improve the standard of our product. I can assure you Aldwark manor falls well within the margins of a 4 star hotel but once again thank you for feedback. Should you wish to contact me personally and discuss your concise feedback in full please feel free to do so.

Kind Regards,

Steven Hodgkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

As always a lovely lovely stay. service always efficient, staff always friendly. Food always delicious, rooms always clean. Spa and beauty treatments always lovely and relaxing. I cannot fault it.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jej1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Took my wife to Aldwark Manor as a surprise for my wife`s birthday , and overall it was an enjoyable stay but given the price they charge there were some things that could definitely have been done better .
I thought the interior was very nicely appointed but they could do with employing cleaners who actually dust the furniture as we noticed cobwebs and lots of dust on some of the table lamps in the bar area and on our bedroom window sills .
The bedroom was extremely large and spacious and the view over the golf course was very attractive and the four poster bed was luxurious , but small things let the room down , the bathroom is extremely large and attractive, but the towels are 5 steps away from the shower ! The minifridge had items in it but there was nothing to indicate whether or not this was complimentary and if not any indication what the prices were . The television was quite small and the remote control didnt work properly , also the channels listed in the guide bore no resemblance to the channels available .
The breakfast on the whole was very nice but i discovered slightly too late that some of the bread i was feeding into the toaster was covered in green mould !! I i did point this out toa member of staff and she removed the tray but didnt offer an apology . Our evening meal was included as part of the package i booked and overall was excellent but we were offered a bottle of water which we assumed was complimentary but then were charged £3.50 for .
My wife thoroughly enjoyed her spa treatment so that can definitely be recommended , overall i would say i would definitely stay there again but there is room for improvement !!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank popkean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHodgkinson, General Manager at Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Thank you for your eye catching review! We take all feedback on board and use it to improve the product here at Aldwark. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we would look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Steven Hodgkinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

i satyed at aldwark manor on the 9th of september for my friends wedding that took place on the 10th i cant say enough how wonderfull the staff were at the hotel so friendly helpfull and extreamly proffesional really felt welcomed and was very impressed with hotel and the rooms. a special thanks must to go to the lady emma on reception who could not have done enough for my slef in organising for me to stay there. i am now considering bringing my friends and parnter up for a weekend break. this place is a must visit place and there is something for everyone. all the staff once again thank you for making my firends day a great one WELL DONE all including the great food from the cheffs

Room Tip: all rooms seem superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jamie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aldwark
10.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
23.0 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,660 reviews
12.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
5.2 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
681 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel

Address: Aldwark, Easingwold YO61 1UF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easingwold > Aldwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Aldwark
Price Range: $117 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aldwark Manor Golf and Spa Hotel is located near York. It is nestled in a picturesque village in between York and Harrogate within the stunning North Yorkshire Moors. Even though this gem of a hotel makes you feel a million miles away, it is just a hop, skip and a jump away from the A59. What better way to take in the views than to play the 18 hole golf course? The challenging course is set amidst gorgeous rolling hills. This hotel is a real mix of old and new. With 53 individually designed bedrooms which are split between the modern contemporary wing of the hotel and the traditional Manor house. If you are staying on business then the hotel has 6 conference and meeting rooms for up to 240 people. What's more the superb grounds covering 100 acres are ideal for team building events. Indulge yourself with an array of treatments at the spa or build up a sweat in the leisure club. Finish off the day with a delicious meal in our award-winning Brasserie, or snack on a selection of tasty nibbles whilst overlooking the manicured golf course in either The Terrace or Squadron Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldwark Manor Hotel Aldwark
Aldwark Manor York
Aldwark Manor Hotel York
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing