We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food Again”
Review of The Aldwark Arms

The Aldwark Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Aldwark
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $32
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Aldwark Arms is a beautiful village dining pub offering locally sourced, freshly cooked produce. Our menus change seasonally throughout the year. A la Carte, Early Bird, Special Event Nights and extensive lunch menus are available. We have an excellent selection of fine wines, stunning gins and many changing real ales. Members of Camra and Cask Marque accredited. We also received a tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence every year since we have been trading and have 5 stars out of 5 for our food hygiene rating.
york
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food Again”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Yet another evening of good food and wine at the Aldwark Arms. Steak and Guinness pie was delish! Staff give excellent service, very enjoyable visit . Many thanks Guys.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    102
    30
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful village pub and restaurant”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The Aldwark Arms is finally a warm, welcoming village pub serving wonderful food and drinks. There's a great atmosphere, the beer is perfect and there's a good selection of wines, so it's a wonderful local.
Not only that, the food is amazing, so whether you want an informal 'pub-style' meal or something really special, there's something there for you.
And the new owners and staff really know what they are doing. It's incredible that they can have achieved so much in such a short space of time, and long may their success continue.
Definitely worth a visit, and once you've been it will undoubtedly become a firm favourite. It's certainly ours.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, staff and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Me and two friends visited on a Saturday night and we were hugely impressed with the re-furb, food and atmosphere. We had bread and olives as an appetiser with the bread arriving warm from the oven - wonderful. Two of us had burgers and were both in agreement that they were the best burgers we've ever had in a pub/restaurant. The meat was cooked to perfection and the accompanying onion rings were fantastic - the batter was so light. Our other friend is a vegetarian and the pub owner and chef were more than happy to create a delicious meal to suit her tastes. To top it off there is a fantastic wine menu and the staff and ambulance was excellent. The perfect balance between attentive but relaxed. We'll defintiely be back and strongly reccomend others to visit as you will not be disapponited.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas lunch”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

Decided at the last minute that for the first time ever we would go out for lunch on Christmas Day, managed to get a table at The Aldwark Arms and have to say it was excellent, staff first class nothing to much trouble and the food first class, going back for my birthday and looking forward to it .

Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldwark, United Kingdom
1 review
“Splendid New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We spent one of the best New Year's Eves we've ever had at the Aldwark Arms this 2013/2014. Twelve of us went for the two course a la carte buffet evening and everything was just perfect. On arrival there was champagne for everyone before we were shown to our seats. The buffet was a real treat; there was so much choice. There was cold salads, a whole salmon, breads, gammon, thai green curry, chicken chausseur, roast port and the best of the lot the fillet of beef wellington - gorgeous! And for pudding there were individual trifles, brownies, sticky toffee pudding and cranberry bread and butter pud - all of them were so good we couldn't help but go back for more. The staff all looked after us brilliantly all night - making sure Grandma always had a full glass of Baileys! After the meal there was kareoke which was well attended and made for a vibrant atmosphere. A fantastic evening that was enjoyed by everyone there. Anyone who eats here will find it difficult not to be impressed. Thank you very much to Peter and the team!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan_Boddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aldwark Arms also viewed

Crayke, Easingwold
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
 
Easingwold, North Yorkshire
Newton on Ouse, Easingwold
 

Been to The Aldwark Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing