We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you love authentic Indian Cuisine”

Ginger Indian Cuisine
Ranked #7 of 50 Restaurants in Pukekohe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“If you love authentic Indian Cuisine”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This should easily be No 1 Indian restaurant in Pukekohe. The spices taste fresh, the sauces not over-creamed or over-sweetened (an old trick for Western tastebuds), and the breads fresh out of the oven. The samosas (with mint and tamarind sauces) can't be beaten and the Chicken Tikka melts in your mouth. The helpings are very generous.
The staff are lovely. The atmosphere is not over-pretentious, but rather comfortable and welcoming. We'll certainly be back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank javahyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    23
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Hi I would like to say when I first went past GINGER . When I saw the lunch time special I thought I'll give it a try. OMG the waiter took us to our table he was polite handed our menu's but we all ready new what we wanted to try. We got butter chicken mild, garlic naan popadom and a drink. Cooked beautiful moist chicken freshly made naan bread yummy. Now this is 1 of our regular restaurant well done keep it up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favourite Indian”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have dined both in and out with Ginger and it is currently our favourite Indian restaurant.
The food is always fresh, the staff always friendly, and the flavours are full and keep you wanting more.
We have enjoyed every dish that we have ordered and will continue to share this restaurant with our family and friends. Our children love it too!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fussy_FoodieMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The new local.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We used to goto another indian place down the road until we tried Ginger, the food is outstanding and the menu is massive. Highly recommended. They also do Indian Chinese and the chefs secret "Chicken Haaka Noodles" are to die for.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Neat indian restaurant in Pukekohe”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Used a grabone voucher. Lovely indian restaurant. Handy having the voucher but the prices looked pretty good anyway.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank fieryred33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger Indian Cuisine also viewed

Pukekohe, Auckland Region
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
 
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
 

Been to Ginger Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing