We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic mediterranean night out.”
Review of Poco Loco

Poco Loco
Ranked #1 of 50 Restaurants in Pukekohe
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to Franklin's only Tapas Restaurant. Poco Loco means "Little Crazy" in Spanish, so come along for a different and fun eating experience. All our dishes are cooked from fresh, seasonal, local produce using authentic Mediterranean recipes with a Kiwi twist. Our chefs, Brenda and Hayden, plot together to concoct some cheeky combinations to tempt you. Tapas means "Lids" and is a traditional Mediterranean way of eating snack sized portions of food where everyone just shares what is on the table. The Italians call it antipasto, the Chinese call it Yum Char and the Spanish call it Tapas. It's just a delightful way to enjoy food. Check out our menu - and don't forget that we offer takeaways, too.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic mediterranean night out.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife & I shared 5 tapas which were all very good accompanies by a glass each of St Clairs Pinot Noir.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mark389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    31
    5
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Tapas”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I've eaten here 6 or so times and have enjoyed each occasion. Their is plenty of food choice, it is tasty and well presented.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DHC2-Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuakau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

All I ask of a restaurant is that the food is tasty and well served. This fulfils all that and the hosts are lovely people too. There's plenty of choice and variety - its a tapas restaurant. Their rice pudding is to die for!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Yum”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We've eaten at Poco Loco a couple of times now and the food is simply delicious and the staff are super. All the tapas are flavoursome and there are many options to please everyone. The sangria and deserts are also great. Churros are a favourite. Highly recommend the place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank th12th12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Better 2nd visit”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We visited this cafe in early 2013 and were a little disappointed with some of the overall experience. However, we gave it another try as some friends wanted to go and we enjoyed this visit more. The dishes seemed fresher, the spices blended and cooked out in the chorizio dish, and the calamari was cripsy and succulent this time (it was like an old dish cloth 1st time) Although the interior remains the same, canteen cafe, we didn't have the outdoor smokers issue as this was winter and the doors/windows were closed. The waitress expained the dishes when served and the service was efficient and friendly. I would still prefer a steady trickle of dishes which would suggest freshly cooked (arriving all together means some are inevitably just reheated) Again a little pricey and an overpriced wine list were still there to take the shine off.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tooroughforafriedegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poco Loco also viewed

Pukekohe, Auckland Region
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
 
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
 

Been to Poco Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing