We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent three day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BK's Counties Motor Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Pukekohe B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Arrived late, but the lady owner and her lovely friendly dog were waiting up for us. We were made to feel very welcome. We were given lots of information on where to eat, and what to do while we were in Pukekohe. Good location, just a few minutes walk to the rugby field and to town
The motel was very nice, the unit was a good size, nice and warm and beautifully clean, and had a lovely comfortable bed. Nice grounds, and swimming pool. Had the weather been a bit warmer I would have taken a dip in the swimming pool as it looked very inviting. Great cooked breakfast .
We can see why this motel won a hospitality award. Staff and owner (and dog) very friendly and helpful and did everything they could to make sure we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Wow, thank you for the fantastic review, I really appreciate it. We try our best to be as good to all our guests and it is so nice to see it acknowledged

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 41 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very clean, comfortable and tidy/neat motel complex. We had friends visit and did not have to feel apologetic about anything. Warm and sunny aspect, easy parking and a packet of tissues sitting beside the bed was a nice little extra touch for someone (myself) who had arrived from Taupo with a bit of a sniffle. We have stayed here 4 times now and have always found it to be consistently well run and a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review. We will keep doing our best to maintain that level. I see you have stayed a few times, ask about our loyalty programme. It was remiss of us not to have offered it to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed in the studio unit with a spa bath , it was great to soak in after driving a few hrs , Carol was a great host as she was very helpful and very friendly , the room was spacious and very clean and the bed was so so comfortable , will be staying there again for sure.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Thank you very much for the review. Sorry for the slow response, have been away at MANZ(Motel Association) conference. Also we have won the 2013 Pukekohe Business Association award for Hospitality. Onwards and upwards as we keep trying to improve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Despite the mention of "pets allowed", I got a response to my "travelling with 1 x rottie, 1 x mastiff X" from Carol saying ...These are not suitable dogs to be in a motel without further discussion. That was over 3 days ago when I said she could refuse the booking & refund. Since then, she does NOT respond to email (I've sent 3) nor has she refunded my $140 for the booking. SHOCKING & unprofessional.
Just refund my booking for 31 July & I will stay at a real pet-friendly motel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

As a new owner I wanted to make sure I had all my information correct before responding to a quite aggressive email when I enquired as to what kind of dogs they had. I didn't feel it was normal to book online with pets and supply no other information. There was no payment taken, only a credit card number advised as a guarantee. We had further correspondence by email and I think we both come to a comfortable conclusion. I offered to suggest some other places she could try as I didn't feel the type of dogs she had were suitable for a bigger motel in town. She has posted this review before we tidied the issue up and while I was seeking information to do the right thing. She didn't realise that we had not taken any money.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Once again I booked this Motel over the internet for what we paid it was okay. We were a bit disappointed to be given the Disabled Room as I booked the motel a long way out from the date of our stay. The room was clean and tidy and as it was the disabled room plenty of room to move around. Carol who runs the Motel was very friendly and I could see that it would be good Motel for families to stay. The room was rather noisy as it was at the front not toward the back of the property where I am sure would have been much quieter. It was close to the Hampton Downs Race track which why we chose to stay at Pukekohe.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dustymilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review, it helps me to see how my guests think as opposed to why I choose certain rooms for people. I choose the room you were in for people who I think will enjoy the grassed area in front and not have to listen to the pool noise into the evening. The only other standard studio's are those behind the pool and they would definitely be quieter for road noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We came across this motel by accident , as we were travelling north , but running late and didnt fancy crossing the Auckland Bridge in rush hour - so we pulled off the motor way to look for a motel for the night. We were very pleased with what this motel had to offer . The rooms were spacious and clean. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Those that dont back onto the main road will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkBonBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We get a lot of our guest who are not wanting to get caught up with Auckland traffic. They stay here before going up north or make sure they come through Auckland and can carry on south the next day. We also get a lot of airport people as we are only 35-40 minutes away and again they don't have to deal with traffic.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We spent only one night at the Motel following my daughter's wedding at the nearby Footbridge Lodge. The property is surprisingly large with plenty of different units available to suit most requirements. Three of us shared ours, it was spacious, clean and well appointed. It suited us very well. Puke is not really on the tourist trail but if you need to spend a night in the area, BK Counties is certainly recommended. It was quiet and there is a pool if you feel the need.

Room Tip: The further back from the road the better but it is not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middleageoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol M, Owner at BK's Counties Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, we actually have people staying here most weekends (especially in the summer) who are attending weddings. The most we have had so far is four different wedding on one weekend. We get brides and bridal parties also and they often stay the night in the premier units are use them for getting ready. We are the closest motel to quite a few of the wedding venue's in the area.

Being a big motel we have all different room types and as you can appreciate cost predicts where the quietest rooms are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pukekohe hotels
0.8 mi away
Aveda Motor Lodge
Aveda Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Pukekohe
84 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pukekohe Motel
Pukekohe Motel
#3 of 5 in Pukekohe
13 reviews
0.8 mi away
Touchwood Motor Lodge
Touchwood Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pukekohe
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Parkview Motor Inn
Parkview Motor Inn
#2 of 5 in Pukekohe
28 reviews
0.9 mi away
Counties Inn
Counties Inn
#4 of 5 in Pukekohe
15 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Pukekohe B&B
#1 of 4 in Pukekohe
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BK's Counties Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BK's Counties Motor Lodge

Address: 78 East Street, Pukekohe, Auckland 2120, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Pukekohe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Pukekohe
Price Range: $96 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BK's Counties Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BK's Counties Motor Lodge. Pukekohe's largest Motel - 26 premium & standard grade studio & 1 bedroom units. Pukekohe's only motel with a solar heated swimming pool. BBQ & eating area within the pool enclosure. WINNER OF THE 2013 PUKEKOHE BUSINESS ASSOCIATION HOSPITALITY AWARD. Child rate applies until they have left secondary school. 10 Minute walk to Pukekohe Town Centre. 5 Minute drive to Bombay Interchange at SH1 & the Motorway. 35-40 Minutes to Auckland Airport or City centre. Very handy to Pukekohe Park Raceway or motorracing and horse racing. Close to Hampton Downs motor racing and Karaka Sales Complex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your BK's Counties Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing