We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Monarch Cafe Bar & Grill

Monarch Cafe Bar & Grill
Ranked #11 of 48 Restaurants in Pukekohe
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: New Zealand, Bar, European, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tuakau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cold food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stopped for breakfast. It would have been lovely but for the food being cold! When we went to pay no one seemed the least bit bothered. So we've not been there since and would definietely not recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    45
    20
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

3 aging ladies wanted a nice place to relax and have lunch. The restaurant has always come with high recommendations. Although the place was not busy, we waited a long time to receive our menus, glasses of water, and for our order to be taken. The food was pleasant but not exceptional so I was a bit disappointed. Previously I have raved about their scallops but this time the plate seemed rather empty!
I'd probably go back but thought the experience lacked something.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe
2 reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great food if a little more expensive than some. Service maybe considered slow by some but i like break in between courses. Equally good for the kids

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ruth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Daughters 21st birthday and what a lovely meal and our waitress was really good. Attentive and pleasant and everyone was amazed that she remembered our order for 6 without writing anything down, doesn't happen often in this neck of the woods. Chicken breast was divine as was the Chefs Special for the Wild Food promotion.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs to step up it's game”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I really don't know why so many locals seem to rate this place. If my recent experience is at all typical, it seems to be trading on it's past glory. I visited one lunchtime recently and decided to sample the Bruschetta - as a good Bruschetta is a delight to the palate and one of my favourite light lunches. No danger of any delight here though, soggy bread and flavourless, watery tomatoes (which looked like sliced cooking tomatoes rather than a decent variety like Roma or Pomodorino - neither of which are hard to find locally) and not a hint of any garlic or basil. Very disappointing, and it doesn't bode well for the standard of any of the more adventurous dishes on the menu. I won't be rushing back any time soon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monarch Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

Pukekohe, Auckland Region
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
 
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
 
Pukekohe, Auckland Region
 

Been to Monarch Cafe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing