We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Cofradia is lovely but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Matices Hotel de Barricas
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tequila
Certificate of Excellence
Ajijic
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“La Cofradia is lovely but.....”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Our rooms were very nice, modern and clean. The bathrooms well equiped. The setting of La Cofradia is pretty, set under trees around a pond. The staff are very pleasant and helpful and there is a free shuttle into the town of Tequilla, which is only a few minutes by car. However meals leave a lot to be desired. The main restaurant was closed and we ate breakfast and dinner at a simple cafe which was on a patio with no heat. The food was adequate but basic. There was no wine availabe, only tequilla and tequilla cocktails. Fortunately we had had a large lunch in town and had drunk enough tequilla during the tours.
I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay but do check on the restaurant situation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirandaAjijic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
51
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TUCSON
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

What a stunning boutique hotel! but then the entire property is absolutely lovely. A true find! If you are reading this then you must go! As other reviews state, the place is 5 star with all the elegant touches. The view from our room window was also amazing, mountains in the distance and a field of agave plants. Room was spectacular! clean and comfortable. The true touch of personalization and elegance was the two glasses with a taste of the Cofradia Tequila and a lovely printed note welcoming us. Brilliant! Nothing in the room was ignored including gorgeous artwork, paintings and sculpture, and descriptions of the works. Dinner in the catacomb cellar was accentuated by a beautiful tall Christmas tree with lights. Menu was good and food excellent. Only complaint here is the food was not hot...as if it had been kept warm or warmed. But the taste was outstanding!! We did the tour the next day and it is well worth the time! Our tour leader spoke beautiful English. We toured not only the distillery but also the Cofradia pottery operation (where we observed artisans hand painting the dishes), museum, and finally the Cofradia store. We purchased three bottles of their marvelous Tequila and with every sip we are now reliving this visit! Thank you Cofradia for it all! and our lovely gift from you as we departed. We are recommending you to everyone.

Room Tip: No bad rooms!! Small casita-like accommodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank copilotpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This little hotel sits on property that makes one of the finest Tequilas. Everything about it is unique. The rooms are comfortable with five star resort touches like an advanced high end shower, bathrobes and slippers.
Meals are excellent and are served in the catacomb like restored cellar of what must have been an active part of Tequila making in the recent past. Breakfast is served on the patio and was included in the room charge. On arrival we found samples of their Tequila in the room. We were not there long enough to take the tour of the Tequila making, but perhaps we will see this next time because, there will definitely be a next time.

Room Tip: I doubt that there is a bad room, its fairly quiet. There are no T.V's, but we see that as a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naturescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Saw this on TA and decided to make a road trip from r home in Ajijic here for a 2 day stay: was not easy to find but we simply asked a taxi driver downtown Tequila to guide us for $50 P, and we were met with a warm welcome and a free drink in r lovely casita! The bathroom is spectacular...must b a manual to operate that many shower gadgets and there is a refrig, mini type bar, comfy bed and a gaggle of geese (ducks) to greet u! The on site restaurant is great....big menu! The owner came by to greet us. No TV, which is okay by us since we have other things to do with r time here.

Room Tip: Lots of steps down to the cave- dining room. Since I walk with a cane, everyone asked if I needed he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This was one of the best experiences we ever had the whole place is absolutely beautiful the staff is wonderful and bend over backwards for you the restaurant was one of the best I have ever been in the atmosphere is indescribable simply beautiful and fantastic and the cava is incredible I would give them a thousand star rating just beautiful and magical it is truly pueblo magico thank you la cofradia we will be back next year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

With Miguel who drove us around, Erika our host, Roberto who gave us a horseback tour, the chef who cooked some great breakfasts for us, we felt pampered thru our stay in the Cofradia. The rooms are unique and blend harmoniously with the surroundings, the estate is peaceful and the Tequileria is quite stunning built underground below mango trees.
Since the estate is a bit off the city, Erika offers anytime free transportation but if you want the in estate restaurant or bar late night out is better to notify in advance as we realised returning late one evening.
Erika has a can do attitude and helped out with our tour requests.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy_Santhanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

excellent place to stay if you want to travel around the tequila region, big rooms each of them decorated differently, with Mexican/tequila themes. The restaurant service can be rather slow but the menu selection is huge and it represents multiple regions of Mexico, worth the wait.

Very well located around the tequila town, the buses taking tourists around for a tour can be annoying but they stop at around 6PM. Use it as a base to discover the rest of the area.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivan_Gomez_ukr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tequila
1.5 mi away
Hotel Solar de Las Animas
1.2 mi away
Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila
1.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Rubio
Hotel Plaza Rubio
#5 of 6 in Tequila
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Rienda Mision Tequillan
0.0 mi away
Casa Dulce Maria
Casa Dulce Maria
#6 of 6 in Tequila
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matices Hotel de Barricas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matices Hotel de Barricas

Property: Matices Hotel de Barricas
Address: Calle La Cofradia 1297, Tequila 46400, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Boutique la Cofradia)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Tequila
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tequila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matices Hotel de Barricas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Matices Hotel de Barricas”, is a unique concept that combines the alchemy of tequila and human senses; more than a place to sleep, it’s a place to feel. There’s no other hotel within a tequila distillery where you can sleep in a barrel shape room, our essence is inspired on tequila spirit and our biggest commitment is to make you reach an unforgettable time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Matices Hotel de Barricas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing