We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matices Hotel de Barricas
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tequila
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Gem of a destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

First off, the staff is exceptional and truly helpful. My husband and I were visiting Mexico for the first time, and had issues with our flights, our rental car, and ultimately my phone service. To make a long story short, crossed communications with Erika (and no way to follow up with no phone service on our side) left her waiting for us at La Cofradia from 5 a.m. until when we (finally!) arrived at 3:30 or so p.m. Even so, she was exceptionally gracious and helpful. That stellar customer service became the norm at La Cofradia, as every staffperson we met was helpful and friendly.

We enjoyed a few tours with Javier, who provides a comprehensive background on the tequila making process, history and other fun facts about the area. Both Javier and Erika speak English well, which is helpful. For the rest of the staff, at least knowing some basic Spanish is very useful. Being out of practice for over a decade, I sometimes found it hard to get my point across, but everyone is very patient with the miming.

The rooms themselves are quite luxurious and the grounds are relaxing, especially in the evening and early morning. It is a truly magical little spot at night.

We also ate at the restaurant, and found the food quite good (although the music is quite loud). And again, excellent customer service. There are no english menus, if someone is looking for that. An app may be necessary unless you have a good grasp of menu items in Spanish. There was a lot of non-standard fare, so we took our chances and were never disappointed. The daily free breakfast was the best of our vacation.

Should we be lucky enough to make it back to the region, we would happily come back and stay at La Cofradia. And this time, we hope that we could be better guests and not leave management hanging around waiting for us for the better part of a day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    13
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
48
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Wonderful place in the middle of Tequila country. Everything about this place is top notch from the rooms to the staff to the service. If you like Tequila and want to learn more about it while enjoying 5 Star treatment, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeihleJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

It's not just a hotel, it's a complete tequila experience. We stayed here three nights and didn't want to leave.

We enjoyed a tour of the tequila production, watched the artisans in the ceramic workshop, walked in the agave fields and got a lesson in how to harvest the agave from a real Jimador.

The rooms, the restaurant, and the rest of the facilities are top notch.

Mango margaritas....yummy!

Staff was beyond helpful,,,, they became like friends. Special thanks to Erika and Javier.

Can't wait to visit again,
Linda, Edward, Phillip and Leah

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LJKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
696 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

They pick us up in the bus station, drove us to the hacienda (they said that we had a driver at any time at our disposal, but we didnt feel like moving from the place). The decoration in the rooms is superb, comfortable, clean, big, colorful. The place not only has a tequila factory also a museum, and a ceramic factory (to make their own bottles).

The breakfast was also excellent. Fresh and balanced. They offer many activities and looks like they will add more. They just opened a taberna, which is worth watching. The staff couldnt be more friendly. Actually they could, once they knew we were "the guests" something changed in their eyes and they even were more friendly than before... strange, hehehe.

Its a little pricey, and even thou I dont use to stay in these places, it worth it every peso.

I would have liked that they had more blue agaves planted behind the rooms.

Room Tip: The Mayahuet room is the only one with blue decoration, the other 3 rooms are red-ish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonCesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

Our last night in Mexico was spent here. What an amazing way to end a fantastic holiday!

We were collected from Tequila township around 1pm and taken to La Cofradia in time for an el-fresco lunch, which was lovely.

The room rate includes a day tour as well as a night tour, which is dependent on availability (we were lucky enough to have been able to take one).

After lunch we took the day tour accompanied by a small group of Mexican tourists who had been travelling around the other distilleries and were pretty happy, shall we say...:)

We got to taste some premium Tequila at the end in addition to the standard offering.

Later that evening, Dinner was also eaten el-fresco, served by an attentive young painter from the La Cofradia Ceramic studio (fabulous!).

Around 9pm we started our night tour. We were lucky enough to have a guide with a strong heritage in Tequila and a working knowledge of La Cofradia.

We learned so much from her stories and her passion for Tequila, it was an unforgettable experience. And there's something to be said for having a progressive tasting at 11pm outdoors on a beautiful Mexican starry night...unbeatable.

We wished we had stayed more than one night here...it was amazing and can't speak highly enough of the service, location and incredible beauty of the place....

The room was suberb and the views of Agave's outside the window spectacular...

A must stay!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutdoorFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tequila
1.6 mi away
Hotel Solar de Las Animas
1.2 mi away
Los Abolengos Grand Class Casona Hotel en Tequila
1.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Rubio
Hotel Plaza Rubio
#6 of 6 in Tequila
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel La Rienda Mision Tequillan
24.6 mi away
Hacienda La Magdalena Boutique Hotel
15.2 mi away
Hacienda El Carmen Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matices Hotel de Barricas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matices Hotel de Barricas

Property: Matices Hotel de Barricas
Address: Calle La Cofradia 1297, Tequila 46400, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Boutique la Cofradia)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Tequila
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tequila
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Matices Hotel de Barricas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Matices Hotel de Barricas”, is a unique concept that combines the alchemy of tequila and human senses; more than a place to sleep, it’s a place to feel. There’s no other hotel within a tequila distillery where you can sleep in a barrel shape room, our essence is inspired on tequila spirit and our biggest commitment is to make you reach an unforgettable time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Matices Hotel de Barricas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing