We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really fun group dinner!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cholula La Fonda

Cholula La Fonda
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Tequila
Price range: $8 - $11
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fonda Cholula is the best restaurant in town. If you want to get a full vision about Tequila you have to complete with the flavor of the agave on your meal. You can enjoy the colors and flavors of our mexican gastronomy, but overall you're going to taste the flavor of agave and penca in your meal. We use the best ingredients to get an awesome experience in your visit: Great service with our young waiters. Innovative, colorful and creative gastronomy made by our local cookers, refreshing drinks with a mixology touch! Come to visit us & enjoy the taste of the agave on your meal!
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A really fun group dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We visited this restaurant for a group dinner after touring the Cuervo factory roughly 10 feet away! Our servers were all fantastic, they were quick, attentive, and even brought all kinds of props, hats, and drinks out to us. The food was served warm and was very good. When they were out of one of the options for dessert they offered us some delicious ice cream and toppings which people enjoyed more than the other option.

We were seated in a private area upstairs and looked out over the factory on one side and the square on the other. The doors were all open and there was a lovely breeze where you could smell the tequila being made.

It was a really fun night, and I don't even drink! Our people that drank had an even better time...if they remember it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThemeParkReviewTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    111
    55
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dudelange, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“nice restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The fonda Cholula is a good choice to eat in Tequila. The restaurant is situated on the main plaza, has as well a quiet terrass.
Before ordering came a waiter offering us Margaritas, which he prepared with real fruits (not juice) in front of our table. The food is delicious as well. It's modern mexican cuisine, combining local ingredients (Tequila) to get something new.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank deifchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
155 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Among limited options, this one NOT recommended”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This restaurant takes unfair advantage of its privileged location across the street from the Cuervo Distillery, and attracts its patrons mostly by offering a 10% discount to those who take the "Tequila Tour." Goodness knows they cannot hope to have much repeat business. After two visits in the last few months, my reaction is the same -- the food is overpriced, and of minimally acceptable quality. The service is unacceptable. The waiters hover around the bar gossiping with each other rather than paying attention to what they are doing. My soup was served with my companions' entrees. The cream soup was lukewarm and tasted "off," although thankfully Moctezuma did not take his revenge. The cream sauce on my companion's chiles en nogada lacked any hint of the nutty flavor it should have had. My tacos were identical to what can be purchased on any street corner for about 20 pesos, for four times the price. There was no evidence of any management presence. There is a market behind the church which is across the square from this restaurant, and you will probably find a better quality of food there; certainly you will not overpay. Either that or ask your hotel in Guadalajara to fix you a box lunch that you can eat under the trees in the plaza after your tour of the distillery. Another option is to enjoy the tasty appetizers served at the bar in the distillery.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Morris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We where here to eat because is the #1, but in reality, it's not worthy, the service is very bad, they took about 30 minutes to bring us the letter so we could order, we where close to leave. The food is average, not that great, but not bad, the only complaint is the service, the waiter was never close.

If you must eat somewhere, I would try the local market, seems like the service and food is better (also cheaper).

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Mexican Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Before coming we read the reviews and we were dubious. People that are no ready to try Mexican/Jalisco food will not like it. Dont expect pizza or hamburgers.
If you are willing to try new tastes this is a very good option!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lucianahernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cholula La Fonda also viewed

 
Tequila, Jalisco
Tequila, Jalisco
 

Been to Cholula La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing