We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could've been so much better....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Couvent d'Herepian
Ranked #1 of 2 Herepian B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a one night stay at the Couvent during a trip across the south of France but found it to be the most disappointing place of all. The hotel is quite well positioned in the middle of a small village but with restaurants, cafes and bars within walking distance. On arrival my wife tried to book a massage but was told that they were fully booked despite there only being 4 other guests in the hotel that we saw. The outdoor pool and the indoor spa pool were both dirty and the small garden poorly maintained. A lawn mower would be a good investment! We were told that we could book dinner at the hotel up until 7pm but when we tried to book at 5:30pm we were then told we should've booked by 5! However the receptionist did book us a table at the nearby gold club which was lovely. The rooms are very spacious but have no air conditioning and come with a kitchenette which we didn't use. If you stay here don't expect much sleep! The road, although very narrow, is a thoroughfare but tragic and pedestrians all night long. Cars and nightclub revellers were passing our room loudly until gone 4am. There're also holiday rentals on the street which were occupied by Brits fully enjoying themselves to the early hours. The final straw was the rubbish collectors doing their rounds at 5:45am on a Saturday morning. Needless to say we were both pretty tired come morning! We paid £180 for the night but there's no way we'd go back!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cardiff1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 318 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent ages driving around in circles trying to find this little hole in the wall hotel and were then directed to a car park half a kilometre away. Not a great start. Of course we were then told that we couldn't eat in the hotel and later had to put up with some mediocre scoff in a local restaurant. However, the most interesting part of our stay was when we asked to use the so called spa facilities. Firstly the staff claimed that the spa facilities were fully booked, then they changed their mind and let us in. The spa at this establishment consists of a luke warm pool measuring about 4 by 3 metres, that you can neither swim in because it's stupidly short, nor relax in because it's far too cold. My wife, fellow guest and I wallowed around in the water and engaged in normal conversation only to be interrupted by the most extraordinary behaviour - the masseuse, who unbeknown to us was conducting a massage next door, burst in and loudly shushed us! No, "please could you keep the noise down", no "evening ladies and gents..." just a loud SSSHHH! We were amazed. I was speechless, well, not literally because we carried on communicating with one another, only to have the same thing happening, we were literally treated like annoying children. Quite amazing. We left disgruntled the following morning and even though I made a complaint there and then, nothing was done about it, not even an apology.

Room Tip: do not under any circumstances be tempted to stay at this hotel, particularly if you are lured in by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Château du P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We just got married and received a night in this ancient couvent as a wedding gift. Very warm welcome, the room was great. We didn't expect it but there were cooking facilities incorporated in the room. Food for dinner was comparable to what is served in a gastronomic restaurant and was delicious. The facilities were above expectations: the spa pool is great and was so relaxing. The fireplace adds something special.This is not comparable to any other 5 stars hotels as the hotel layout is unusual and the service makes you feel home. We would recommend to couples who are looking for a quiet and relaxing break. We will go back, for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathie750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in late October as part of our honeymoon trip around the South of France. Up till this point we had stayed at various 5 star hotels with the expected level of service and facilities. Lets be clear this is not a 5 star hotel nor is it trying to be. It is a beautiful little hotel with some luxury touches (eg indoor spa plunge pool) but the ethos of a chambre d'hôte. The staff werelovely and extremely helpful. One night we tried to go to the local restaurant but it was full so the hotel rang around nearby restaurants to find us a table. The other night we ate in and our chef Christophe did us proud with good quality food and very reasonable wine. Please note the hotel does not have a restaurant so such meals are by arrangement only. Finally in response to the reviewer who complained that the parking is in a field some distance away. Lets be clear. Yes its a field but it is a hard surface and its all of about 3 mins walk away. Furthermore the hotel makes it clear that there is very limited parking in the neighbourhood of the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveK72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We should have realised there might be problems when we eventually found the hotel tucked away in a narrow street, with no parking! The receptionist was welcoming and explained that the car park was in a field quite some way away, the walk back to the hotel in the pouring rain was not a good omen either!
The room was large, and a bit gloomy, the shower and bathroom was ok, but with bits of tile and grouting missing. the bed was comfortable.
We had no towels in the bathroom, and infact even after numerous reminders none appeared until 18.30 we had arrives at 12.30, There was a communial breakfast area, with basic breakfast items but no where to sit, we took our coffee out to the sitting area near the indoor swimming pool, the table was dirty and although the receptionist apologised it really was not good enough, the whole place felt like it was on its last legs, no cups available for the coffee when we went down to breakfast, we were expected to sit with strangers - ok if you want to do this but not what we wanted first thing in the morning. Breakfast was 16 Euros each - one cup of coffee and a danish!!!!! there really wasn't any thing to eat anyway. The indoor swimming pool was dark, gloomy and did not make you feel like getting into it, it was opressive to say the least.
It sets it self up as a 'LuxuryRetreat and Spa' I think this needs to be re classified. There are better places to stay near by.

Room Tip: don't go!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yb1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night and it was pretty good. Room was lovely, but as others have said the furniture is a bit faux antique - it would be better to have normal, more modern furniture in neutral colours than trying to do antique on the cheap. I liked the kitchen facilities - very useful if you just want to eat in, but there needs to be some dish liquid and other basics as well as the nice crockery! Bed was comfy and huge, lack of air-con not really a problem, that's just pretty normal.

We didn't have the breakfast as 15euro seemed pretty steep. We bought croissants and juice from the boulangerie just around the corner and ate in our room - lovely!

The spa pool and outdoor pool were also really nice, although yes there are broken tiles that could be fixed. In fact, there's a need for a little maintenance but in general it's nice. It's not a flash hotel, it's a small hotel in an out of the way town in countryside France, so if you understand that that means it won't be flash, then you won't be as disappointed as others have been.

It's a bit overpriced, but it's lovely all the same.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BWinslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Good hotel in a small town. We had a lovely welcome and the suite was spacious. We had two small children that they accommodated without any problem with lovely beds. Dinner served in our room was a real treat with good quantity food and wine. However, a problem with their booking system charged our deposit twice and the advertised costs did not match with one bill item. I am sadly disappointed in the Garrigae Group as the hotel and staff were fantastic but not backed up by their administration. We are still awaiting our refund.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Herepian
18 mi away
Garrigae Distillerie de Pezenas
11.4 mi away
Auberge de Val Moureze
Auberge de Val Moureze
#1 of 2 in Moureze
133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel de l'Orb
Hotel de l'Orb
#1 of 1 in Bedarieux
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villa Casa Blanca
Villa Casa Blanca
#2 of 4 in Lamalou-les-Bains
9 reviews
0 mi away
Des lits sur la place
Des lits sur la place
#2 of 2 in Herepian
51 reviews
2.8 mi away
Maison Bersane
Maison Bersane
#1 of 3 in Le Poujol-sur-Orb
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Couvent d'Herepian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Couvent d'Herepian

Address: 2 rue du Couvent, 34600 Herepian, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Herault > Herepian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Herepian
Price Range: $117 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Couvent d'Herepian 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gentle refuge cradled in ancient stone in the heart of the Haut-Languedoc. For lovers of romantic and sensual contemplations. Thirteen luxurious suites & rooms offer a refined haven - a perfect getaway for two. A 17th century former convent where soul mates can retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Le Couvent d'Herepian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Couvent d`Herepian Hotel Herepian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing