We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make this a destination on hour next trip”
Review of Crookhaven Inn

Crookhaven Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Crookhaven
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Soups, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Emma Jepson and Freddy Olsson Crookhaven Co. Cork Ireland Telephone: +353 (0) 28 35309
Skaneateles, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Make this a destination on hour next trip”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent food and drink, wonderful service, friendly patrons and fabulous atmosphere, this place is worth every penny. Have the special, it is always great, fresh and tasty. We went here a few times for dinner, drinks and dessert; did I mention there is live music?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    36
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere with good bar food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great outdoor seating, friendly service and good food. This is an extremely busy little pub in the middle of Crookhaven with a good view of all the sailing activity in the village.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEM011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food and location”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Crookhaven Inn is a friendly pub serving really good food. The menu is more extensive than anything nearby and is definitely worth a visit. There is also a good children's menu, although no chips !). Staff are friendly and the setting is beautiful - looking out to the slipway in Crookhaven. I would highly recommend the Mediterranean Fish soup ( I am assured the seafood is Irish !) which is almost a meal in itself. All the salads are delicious. If I had one reservation it is that there are no actual seats and some of the benches are a little too far from the table - or the table is a little too far from the bench!! In any case it is a must for quality food.
Open from March till October last orders at 9pm at this time of year.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivanpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Went here for dinner on the Sunday of the May Bank Holiday. There were 6 adults and 2 kids. Given the weekend it was very busy and we squeezed into a table for 4. The ceiling in the pub is very low so the noise level was very high, you could hardly hear yourself think! The waitress who took the orders was horrendous and seemed to be in her own little world, we had to repeat ourselves several times and she still got it wrong. One main course was missing. She didn't move around the table to take the orders, just stood at one end and we had to compete with the noise to be heard by her!! The waitress who brought out the food couldn't have been more apologetic and nicer about but we weren't offered any concession for the mistake. Having said that the food was really good, can't fault them there.
I'm sure at a quieter time it would have been a nice evening but it was full of yuppie wannabes that seemingly needed to be heard all over the pub and outside!! What really annoyed me was that some of them were using tables to store their bags and jackets but were standing up with their drinks and wouldn't allow anyone to use the table. The staff didn't do anything about this either! I have spent a good deal of my life in Crookhaven but I'd be very slow to go back to the Crookhaven Inn.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stargazer1167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to visit”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Only open weekends in April. Food lovely, staff friendly. Pity the Crookhaven Special is only available during the day. Food well cooked and presented. Only problem is that tables are so close to one another that people are using each others tables.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pauline20-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crookhaven Inn also viewed

Crookhaven, County Cork
Crookhaven, County Cork
 
Crookhaven, County Cork

Been to Crookhaven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing