We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and excellent service”

Restaurante O Infante
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Castro Marim
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
stratford uk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good value and excellent service”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Very pleasant decor, attentive and helpful service and enormous portions.This is not fine dining, more an everything-you- can- think- of on a plate type of cuisine, but........very high quality meat and fish, very good olives, bread and cheese cover ( and one of the cheapest covers in the area at 1.50) and a good range of wine, cheaper by the bottle.I am told this place is consistently good too.

I would rather go to O Infante than other apparently cheaper places as you get what you pay for and more in terms of quality and ambience.Half portions, readily available, make it even cheaper than other more pedestrian local restaurants.

Entertainment was pleasant (guitarist) and not intrusive on the Saturday night we were there.
Strongly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    259
    64
    33
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Try the Praia Verde branch for great fish and shellfish”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

By mistake, we followed the little road down from the E.N.125 to the cluster of houses above the Praia Verde beach and decided to try this stylish restaurant, drawn in by its bright blue entrance. Since most of the other restaurants we visited this trip were almost empty, we were completely taken aback to find the interior of the restaurant absolutely heaving, with not a free table in sight. "It's the weekend", we were told. However, there were still some empty tables out on the outside deck - what a hardship! Sitting in the early spring sunshine looking out to sea across a pristine white beach, eating delicious seafood (monkfish and giant prawns on a skewer, such a picture) and drinking rose wine - what's not to like?? Another time we would be sensible and share one skewer between two but it was still a memorable meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Walking_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Antilla, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excelent service and relation quaility/price”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Sea food and cilantro above the rice; besides that the quantity of waiters per table were enough not to have problem to order

Helpful?
Thank DFM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely for a special occasion”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

O Infante is renowned in the area as one of the best places to eat.The food is always top notch, the staff are so attentive, and an experience always to remember, however many times you visit. The meals are enormous, so I usually have to share with a friend, or take the remainder home for the next day. The staff package any surplus food in special containers, so obviously they are used to people not managing the amounts served. The only point I need to make is to make the portions smaller and charge slightly less perhaps? None the less, excellent. A place to return to time after time. My friend had a birthday there recently , and the birthday cake they presented was so delicious and light.
Wonderful!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momodarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice but not great”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We liked the mixed meat skewer (huge, really enough for 2 people and beautifuly cooked meat)
Didn't like the shrimps, overcooked and dried up
Didn't like the fact that smoking is permitted in the restaurant
Overall was quite good value for money but wouldn't go back

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lbkglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O Infante also viewed

Castro Marim, Faro District
Castro Marim, Faro District
 
Castro Marim, Faro District
Altura, Faro District
 

Been to Restaurante O Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing