We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surrounds for a weekend getaway”
Review of Arnica Views

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arnica Views
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful surrounds for a weekend getaway”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

I recently spent a beautiful weekend in the Sunset Suite at Arnica views

From the moment you drive up the driveway you are struck by the peaceful surrounds and the beautiful gardens. The Sunset Suite is at the top of the property with a balcony overlooking the Dandenongs.

Our first day there was a 40+ Melbourne day and the split system in the room kept things really cool. We were a bit worried before going inside as to how hot it would be, but we needn't have!

The room was romantic highlighted by the 4 poster bed and the corner spa. The corner spa was certainly big enough for 2 above average people to share comfortably and was a very relaxing way to spend the afternoon.

The kitchen was stocked with enough pots, pans and cutlery to allow for plenty of our own cooking and the breakfast supplies provided allowed for plentiful breakfasts.

If I was to be critical at all it would be with the following -

The tv in the room was not really big enough when watching from either the couch or the bed. In addition the volume on the tv was not very loud, especially when playing a DVD and made it impossible to listen to the tv whilst in the spa (being very picky, I know)

The bathroom was very small and the basin did not have any room to lay out any toiletries or make up.

The layout of the room with the desk and the toilet being directly under the sloped part of the roof meant that as a taller person I bumped my head more times than I cared to remember as I stood up.

Overall we had a fantastic weekend there. The proximity to the Sky High was an added bonus as it was only a short stroll to get there.

The fireplace in the room left us with the impression that we may have to make a return visit in the winter to experience this wonderful place in the cooler climate.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Norville_roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    24
    3
    2
    7
See reviews for
7
65
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at the Coorabell Retreat for 2 nights. Highlight was toasting marshmellows over the fireplace, and the jacuzzi was a delight.
Nice place. However, it is situated on a dirt road that leads to another private residence and its not as well kept as it looks in the photos.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbear255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, AUS
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Nice cosy accommodation. Definitely a property for couples.
Pretty gardens to wander in, ample parking and close by to nearby towns like Olinda. We enjoyed the spa bath in the bathroom in the evening and the provision of breakfast supplies is a nice touch.

Nobody on site though at check in (just a note as to where to find the key), could be a problem if you needed assistance or there was a problem (our dvd player was defective - wouldn't switch on - couldn't be bothered calling for assistance for a small issue like this, but would have gone to the office if someone was there to notify).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cat_rules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Barn Cottage at Arnica. Just the perfect accommodation for two people looking to get away from the world for a while. The perfect retreat nestled in the forest, so peaceful and tranquil.
We didn't want to leave and return to the everyday world. Everything you could want is at hand and the hospitality from host Tania is amazing right from the moment you walk in the door of your hideaway (fire lit, candles glowing and soft music playing). The bed is the best I have ever slept in. This is a must if you want to escape from the world for a while and would be perfect for honeymooners

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My partner surprised me with a night away here for my birthday and I think my jaw hit the ground when we walked into the Coorabell Retreat Cottage at Arnica Views. This place was perfect. Being May and a cold day the owner already had the fire going and there were candles lit. The owner recommended a very nice restaurant about a 5 minute drive away for dinner. The breakfast supplies were great and we cooked ourselves some scrambled eggs and bacon. Did not want to leave the following morning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnicaViews, Manager at Arnica Views, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
We aim to take our guests breath away! Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fantastic cottage (we stayed in the Arnica views) and experience. We arrived late to find our cottage warm, lit with candles and music playing. The bed and spa were both great, and the breakfast pack was generous and amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyP80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnicaViews, Manager at Arnica Views, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you so much. We can't wait to welcome you back! Thank you again for taking the time to let everyone know how wonderful our property and region is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We booked one of their cottages for a family member who was travelling on business. Unfortunately due to our late arrival after business hours, we accidentally checked him into the wrong cottage. This was an honest mistake, however when we requested to check into the correct one the next day, it was refused on the basis that it was our fault and it would take them too much time to clean the rooms. This attitude took us by surprise not to mention that we paid more to stay in the other cottage.

The accommodation available and surrounds were beautiful, but the poor customer service has tarnished the experience. We won't be going back and will not be recommending them to any of our family and friends.

Room Tip: Make sure you check into the right cottage otherwise you're stuck with it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArnicaViews, Manager at Arnica Views, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
We offer a system for self check-in to our guests so there are no restrictions as to arrival time. We contacted and spoke with this guest by telephone shortly before closing reception at 6pm to ascertain their ETA. They advised an arrival time of 8-9pm therefore we explained how they could access their cottage and that there would be signage directing them to the cottage and their name would be on the door. We also emailed a map with directions and notes to ensure they would be able to check-in with ease. Unfortunately the person that booked the accommodation that I spoke with did not alert me to the fact that their friend who was checking in would have a language barrier. Consequently when they arrived around midnight they accidentally checked into the wrong cottage which then forced honeymooners that arrived around 1am to check in to an alternate cottage - effectively doing a swap! Whilst we recognize errors occur we have in fact taken every measure to ensure a smooth check-in and felt it was unfair to uproot honeymooners at no fault of their own. As this guest pointed out, all of the cottages are beautiful and they were in fact very comfortable in the new cottage. It was unfortunate their expectation was for us to ask the newly weds to move which would cause us to halt our existing room services which would result in delaying guest check-ins for that day, and the newly weds would then need to go out for a couple of hours whilst we serviced the cottage rather than relaxing in front of the fire or in the spa together. We go over and above to ensure a wonderful experience for all of our guests however we were not able to oblige this guest on this occasion under the circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dandenong
0.6 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retrea...
#1 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The Loft In The Mill Boutique Accommodation
1.6 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#3 of 13 in Olinda
98 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arnica Views? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arnica Views

Property: Arnica Views
Address: 10 Observatory Rd, Mount Dandenong, Victoria 3767, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Dandenong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dandenong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Arnica Views 4.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arnica Views is quite different from a hotel. We offer boutique style accommodation with 7 fully self contained retreats. Perfect all year around for special occasions and to escape the everyday. Guests can expect to rediscover romance (and eat well with extensive breakfast supplies included!). Located on the summit of the beautiful Dandenong Ranges, approximately an hour's drive from Melbourne and away from the noise of the main road. Arnica Views is set amidst two acres of magnificent 85 year old English gardens, offering splendour throughout every season. Cooinda House is at 1562 Mt. Dandenong Tourist Road, Olinda and accommodates up to 8 guests. It has 4 bedrooms each with their own ensuite, a large kitchen, 2 living areas, 3 balconies, laundry, garage, heating and cooling. Breakfast not supplied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arnica Views reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing