We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Respite in the Dandenongs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This retreat off of Dandenong tourist road offers full suite hospitality to couples looking for privacy and intimacy. A beautiful location, and well designed apartment quality facilities contains all amenities needed to enjoy a reclusive and restful stay in the Dandenongs. Suites include full audio and visual system, hot tub, upstairs bed room, and a small kitchenette. Breakfast is served in the room, and is delicious. Fully recommended, although a bit pricey but then again, everything in this area is a bit on the high side.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mysterioustraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 77 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

From the minute we walked onto the property we knew we had chosen the right place. I could not find one fault. We stayed in the sanctuary tower with our twelve week old for our honeymoon in January 2013.

Firstly easy check in and nice little walk along mossy path to our room, romantically lit along the path following the signs made it easy to find.

Entered the room and what could we say. WOW.. Soft music was playing and room lit for our arrival.

Entrance is on bottom floor which is the bathroom and what a bathroom it is. Huge room with deep spa bath with rain shower overhead , separate shower and infra red sauna and gas wood fire.

Up the spiral staircase to the next level which is living room. Super comfy couches with soft blankets and plenty of cushions. Foxtel , board games , DVD and videos to keep you entertained. Well stocked cupboards and mini fridge and awesome coffee machine.

Up the spiral staircase again to the top level. The bedroom and what a beautiful bedroom it is. Huge bed and so so comfy with awesome forest views.

As we had an infant with us we didn't get much chance to use the sauna or play any games ect but was good to have them there.

The surrounding area was lovely to go for a walk , we didn't take a car so we did a lot of walking. Found a nice pub up the road pig and whistle , with beautiful food. And for dinner we did the Indian restaurant a lil bit further up the road. Both places served excellent food.

We ordered a dinner platter for our first night and almost couldn't finish it and we are big eaters. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious. I loved the sweet French toast and eggs done perfectly and was delivered hot and ready to eat.

The plush bathrobes were so comfy we ended up buying one and the slippers handy on tiles.

I could not pick a better place to stay on our honeymoon it was such an awesome stay we wish to move to the area and steal some of their decorating idea's especially the comfy couch.

You could safely book this place and not be disappointed. We shall return on our anniversary and maybe this time get someone to babysit the lil one..

Room Tip: Sanctuary Tower is three stories of luxury..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank storm_cheerleader74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I stayed overnight in the Linden Cottage back in April last year for our first wedding anniversary and can honestly say that it was the nicest place we have ever stayed in.
Yes, it is on the pricey side, but well worth it. I can't imagine a nicer place to stay in the Dandenong Ranges. All of the little touches like the music & fire place on, the chocolate muffins etc, didn't go unnoticed and was such a lovely touch, it really adds to the whole experience. Breakfast was tasty & hot, there was a great range of DVDs, we really couldn't fault the place at all. That's why we'll be back again this April for our third Wedding Anniversary, but will stay in the Sanctuary Tower suite for something different. Hopefully we'll enjoy it just as much!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renish04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The attention to detail when you stay at Linden Gardens makes staying here a fantastic experience - nothing is overlooked. The accommodation is extremely comfortable and in a great location. It is quiet, yet close to the local pubs & restaurants.
This is one of the only places we have stayed where the colder the weather, the better the stay as the (gas) log fire creates a great cosy atmosphere.
Highly recommend

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My partner and I stayed two nights in the Garden Retreat and it was amazing.
The little details like the fire, the music and lights on when we arrived made such a difference, it was so warm and inviting. Breakfast was fantastic, the french toast was abolsutely amazing although everything else was great too.
It was very private and really felt like we were in our own little world for a couple of days.
With my partner being a professional in the hospitality industry she is extremely hard to please. I am proud to say she could not fault our stay at all.
Thank you so much for such a wonderful experience we will definitely be back,

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

From the minute I booked this room I knew I wouldn't be disappointed. Accustomed to visiting expensive hotels in the CBD, I came here with quite high expectations. These were met and exceeded.
As soon as we stepped in our room (Sanctuary Tower) I was overcome with joy and if anything relief! So often places like this look great in the photos but don't contain that final "finishing touch" which Linden Gardens proprietors obviously make a great effort to achieve. With this we got exactly what we wanted and more from our stay here, to switch off and just relax, which is almost impossible not do when you add the great location, awesome property and great friendly service.
My only problem (if you could call it that) was the quality of the breakfast on our first night/morning wasn't the best. I had scrambled eggs and they were just a lump of eggs with no toast on the side(only the separate ones I ordered) which I'm assuming were microwaved. The second breakfast (again scrambled eggs, but this time prepared by the owner not microwaved and also had scrumptious grilled bread with the eggs) definitely made up for it.
Aside from that I strongly recommend any couple wishing to escape and spend some quality time together take a look at Linden Gardens. We were even able to push back our check-out till 5pm!! Had we both had no commitments another nights stay was almost a certainty!
I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for your review, we are glad that the effort we put into the special touches at Linden exceeded your expectations. But I am sorry that my scrambled eggs did not. We can assure you that NOTHING from the Linden kitchen is microwaved.

With a large number or items to choose from on the menu it is unusual for someone to have only scrambled eggs so both owners presented them slightly differently on each day. On the first day they were cooked with butter and cream with toast on the side (as a lot of people don't like the egg on the toast). On the second just butter with the toast on the plate. Your preference was obviously for the second option.

We would be devastated for anyone to think that the breakfast we prepare here has been anywhere near a microwave. No, we are not chefs, but we work very hard to maintain a high standard of cooked breakfast when the majority of accommodation providers no longer provide one. I hope we can do better for you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We made a last minute decision to stay at Linden Cottage, and overall we were happy with the experience. It's a beautiful setting in a lovely part of the Dandenongs, and the Cottage was private and comfortable.
If we were to be picky, there was a misunderstanding with our booking, but that was resolved swiftly. We noticed the carpet was stained (but clean) around the entrance to the cottage, but that is really unavoidable considering the property setting. For those who have a fear of spiders, the web above the en-suite entrance, and the very large intricately woven web above the indoor garden would have been rather disconcerting.
To us, the $360 per night cost was a little overvalued, but for those for whom money is not an issue, we are sure you will be happy with the overall experience

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Redirony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Dandenong
0.4 mi away
Arnica Views
Arnica Views
#2 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Merrow Cottages
Merrow Cottages
#3 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lochiel Luxury Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Valley Ranges Getaways
Valley Ranges Getaways
#1 of 13 in Olinda
110 reviews
1.2 mi away
Como Cottages
Como Cottages
#1 of 6 in Olinda
64 reviews
0.5 mi away
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
Adeline Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 5 in Mount Dandenong
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat

Address: 1383 Mt Dandenong Tourist Rd, Mount Dandenong, Victoria 3767, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Mount Dandenong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Dandenong
Price Range: $168 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Linden Gardens is pure indulgence in four unique and elegant, designer spaces. Set on 3 acres of rainforest and woodland gardens, Linden has an artistic combination of designer contemporary and antique furnishings. Warm and inviting with all the luxury extras you'd expect and attentive but discreet service. The perfect getaway for a honeymoon, special occasion or to treat yourselves. FOUR UNIQUE RETREATS Sanctuary Tower :: 3 levels with a beautiful spiral staircase and sauna (due to spiral staircase we recommend booking a different retreat if an infant (1 x infant aged 0-2 maximum) included on your booking) Garden Retreat :: 2 levels with a spa in the lounge Linden Cottage :: Single level in romantic reds with an indoor garden Gallery Suite :: Single level in the converted Linden Gallery. Contemporary colours and design. (Please note due to the Gallery conversion there is plenty of light from skylights but limited garden views from Gallery Suite) ALL SUITES FEATURE / INCLUSIONS: :: Fully Cooked Breakfast for 2 delivered to your suite each morning :: Daily Servicing - come back to a clean suite with fresh towels :: Private entrances :: Gas log fires :: King size beds :: 2 person spas :: Lavazza Coffee Machines - with both espresso & decaf pods :: Free WiFi Internet :: NEW HUGE 55" inch LED LCD TVs with large in suite DVD libraries :: NEW BluRay DVD players in all suites with USB connections for BYO media for compatible USB devices :: Foxtel with 9 Movie Channels - huge choice of channels :: Soft Plush Linden Gardens Bathrobes to use during your stay :: Mini bar with wine, beer, soft drinks and snacks :: Full selection of Twinings teas and hot chocolate :: Complimentary Linden Gardens slippers :: Complimentary choc-chip muffins from the Linden kitchen on arrival :: Kitchenettes with microwave, kettle, toaster EXTRAS AVAILABLE :: A La Carte breakfast delivered to your Retreat (breakfast is included in your rate) :: Extensive range of massage and spa treatments to have in the privacy of your suite (enquire for options & prices) :: Pre order a cheese platter or dips platter and curl up in front of the fire (enquire for options & prices) :: We can also organise rose petals on your bed, around the spa or birthday cake for two (enquire for options & prices) LOCATION Opposite William Ricketts Sanctuary, Linden Gardens is only a stones throw away from the villages of Mt Dandenong, Olinda and Sassafras with their great range of shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Linden Gardens Rainforest Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing