We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“William Ricketts.”

William Ricketts Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.27*
and up
Dandenong Ranges Nature Day Trip from Melbourne Including William Ricketts...
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
bow bowing
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“William Ricketts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Well worth a visit. A place of peace and reflection. Free to enter this magical rain forest garden. A great legacy to an inspirational man.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lynn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    64
    19
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albi, France
Level Contributor
242 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Inspirational and beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Now a free exhibit, the sanctuary is an amazing legacy of this inspiring artist. A well produced video in the little house informs you of a lot of the history, but take time to simply amble through the gardens and marvel at the sculptures.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TarnMark81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peregian Beach
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Inspirational, Ethereal and Full of Love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

I was first attracted to visit William Ricketts Sanctuary because I love ceramics, sculpture, and natural settings, and this attraction seemed to combine all three. Plus it came recommended by friends. William Ricketts Sanctuary is so much more than art in nature. It is a tribute to a man and his love of the Australian aboriginal culture and the land of these people. It is about kinship, love, friendship but also makes many statements about the destruction of our natural environment in the search for material wealth. I found the sculptures endearing, ethereal and very real. The setting is absolutely beautiful and the dedication and life story of this man simply inspiring. Enjoy!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KNewmanTyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An ethereal experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

After seeing this on Billy Connolly's show a few years ago, we were determined to visit if we ever got the opportunity. We were not disappointed. It's a bit out of the way and not overly overpowering. However, when you enter (by the way, it's FREE),you enter a world of peace, tranquility and contemplation. I am sure some of the sculptures are not fully appreciated by a lot of people as they are somewhat obscure and could be seen as offensive by some as they would appear to be of a discrete sexual nature. However, if you do not notice, you will not be offended. It is a wondrous ethereal place to visit and I am very glad I took the opportunity as it is unlikely I will ever repeat our 10 week antipodian odyssey.
Fascinating. If you are in Melbourne, try and visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrisandjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Interesting for a half hour visit.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

William Ricketts lived and worked in the Dandenong Ranges, creating a range of sculpted figures which reflected his affinity with the land, and the Aboriginal people and traditions. Personally, I found the sanctuary gloomy, and the sculptures too stylised. I would not go again. However, if you do happen to have a spare half an hour, it is worth dropping in to see the life's work of one person.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy-Wanderer1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed William Ricketts Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to William Ricketts Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing