We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowy Wilderness Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lapland Hotel Pallas
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Muonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Wow what can I say, as a couple off adults on a wedding trip without our 2 teenagers, that ranks with some of the most fun we have ever had. All the staff at the Lapland Hotel Pallas have been absolutly wonderful and the excelant team of Snowman, Crakers, Santa, the non stop dancing Boodolph and not to mention all the wonderful Elves, turned it into a truly magical time. You are all a credit to Santa and he must be proud of the work you do. We will be Back..

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burkey68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 206 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, from the 4th Dec, as part of First Choices Santaclusive package holiday, and from the moment we arrived the holiday fun began. We were looked after by excellent rep's and magical elves. The location is absolutely perfect (if you like the wilderness) with snow covered trees & mountains as far as the eye can see in every direction. There are a couple of Toboggan runs down one side of the Lodge, where we spent every free moment we had. Just beside that is an ice bar, where warm berry juice, hot chocolate and chilled beer are served and there are two fires with fur covered benches to rest on when you are all tobogganed out.
The tester day started off with an Artic Circle crossing ceremony, performed by a local Shaman, followed by Sleigh rides with Reindeer, Snow Bikes, Husky Sledging, snow ball fights with the Elves and more warm berry juice drinking. Later that day the Elves took us into the woods surrounding the lodge, all kitted out with snow shoes and had us back in plenty of time for our booked Husky Sleigh adventure, which was very dark, very exciting and a little smelly (depending on what the dogs had had for lunch).
The following day was filled with decoration making, cookie decorating and special visits from both Mrs & Mr Claus, which had child and adult alike screaming with excitement.
The final day is a heartbreaker, having to leave the Elves (and Elves-in-training) at the airport was emotional for the kids, the Elves and the parents, make sure you are stocked up on tissues.
All in all the holiday will remain a magical memory forever, it is the setting for the most perfect christmas you could ever have, and you couldn't hope to have more kind, caring, up for a laugh reps than Boodolph, Snowman Dan, Sara Clause & Crackers Kiely. If you've been searching for a bit of that Christmas magic then look no further, I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CrimsonMonkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We travelled to this hotel 7-11 December with First Choice, who label
the hotel as Snowy Wilderness Lodge to UK customers. We are a family of
3 (2 children aged around 40 and one aged 4). This is not a review of
the hotel as such, rather a review of the holiday as a whole. Having
said that the hotel is in a fantastic location, fairly remote (no shops
etc., to distract you from the snowy fun). The rooms are functional,
warm and very clean, but do not expect luxury. We found the beds to be
comfortable and had duvets rather than sheets (which we really liked).
The communal areas, such as reception, bar and restaurant are
comfortable and clean. The food, all buffet style, was warm and filling
and of a good standard. There are plenty of snacks available during the
morning and afternoon.

The holiday is really made by the efforts of the First Choice staff and
'the elves'. who are brilliant, and the children become quiet attached
to the elves. The range of events put on was very good, and the
enthusiasm of the reps and elves is great. The two optional excursions
that we did, being the Family Snow Mobile and Huskies, were pricey yes,
but we felt worth it. The snow suits provided, along with a little
sensible layering underneath mean that you should not get cold when
outside for an hour or two.

We were particularly impressed by the professionalism of the First
Choice reps., even when they were presented with what I could only
describe as the most difficult and rudest person I have ever witnessed.
Well done to First Choice for handling that so well.

We met some really nice people and pretty much everyone joined in the
fun. Taking into account the large number of children on the trip, they
all seemed to get on really well. If you go without children then do
expect to be surrounded by children for lots of the time when in the
hotel. However, with one or two small exceptions, the children were
ever so well behaved.

Gala night was excellent. The 'main man' himself was truly magical - we
believe!! We don't want to give a run down of all the events as you
should go and experience it all yourself.

So, all in all, this holiday was excellent. We had high expectations
before we went, and we think that these expectations were exceeded.
Looking to book for next year, if we can.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RandCChes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Dec 2011...just returned from a 3 day trip....absolutely fantastic....from checking in via the tinsel lane at the airport, to the very well thought out and organised itinerary at the hotel. First Choice reps at the hotel were great with adults and children alike (hi cracker keilly, snowman dan, boodolph and Sarah Clause). Hotel is in middle of national forest and all guests arrive and leave on same day..plenty to do inside and outside hotel courtesy of the elves and reps..they work hard and ensure that everyone is having a good time..mixed age groups from 4 year olds up to grandparents..tasters day is great where you experience huskies, reindeer and snowmobile rides....we were the only bus there which gave you plenty of time to chat to the reps, elves, Finnish ride owners and other guests.
Would thoroughly recommend a trip to this traditional Finnish hotel..having the elf academy was an added bonus as was meeting Mrs Claus and Santa Claus...staff did an excellent job at the gala dinner and yes I was a wee bit in awe of the real Santa Claus when we had our personal family visit.....must admit, 40 euros was a bit steep for elves and Santa picture though!
If you go, try and do the double whammy sledge ride round the back of the hotel...down the big slide and swerve left to the smaller slide....brilliant!
Then have a cold beer and sing song at the outside ice bar...excellent way to end a day of fun...enjoy!

The wee lassies...and laddie!

Room Tip: Ask for a family room if there are three or more in your party
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rozzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

When you read the reviews you think how can a 3star rate so high,heres the anwser the location is magicial the reps and the elfs work their socks off many thanks to them.The food is better than we expected you can always get served when you want a drink. The hotel is so safe for children you can give them a freedom that you cannot elsewhere due to the location Trips are not cheap we did the huskys i got to drive the sledge myself one of the best experience i have ever had ,on the last night father christmas comes to the hotel during the gala meal when you see him walking to the hotel you will believe. This is real life magic it does not come much better.

Room Tip: Do not miss out on the trips the huskys was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank holidayboyLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

You won't gete here by accident - this hotel is situated in a national park in the middle of fells. Hotel is old and traditional (in Finnish scale). Rooms are very simple. I visited this place at early spring, and there was still lot of snow. The only things you really can do there are cross-country skiing and downhill skiing. Food in the hotel restaurant was very, very good, I loved it.
This is a place for people seeking for quiet and peace. There are lot of activities for foreign people during their holiday seasons, but during Finnish seasons nobody is interested in organized hapennings. Hotel is inhabited mainly by older people just wanting to ski and enjoy beautiful landscapes. Really not a party-place, if you want some nightlife, don't come here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suomenjussi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We went with First Choice to the Snowy Wilderness Lodge on boxing day for the new year break. Its a holiday I wont forget and would love to do again.

I dont think you can fault First Choice for everything on offer and how hard they and the hotel work to make your holiday great. As it was the New Year trip and it was 7 days I think we had a lot more included than on the 3 or 4 day trips before Christmas. In addition to the taster sessions and santa visit etc we also had;
2 days transfer to Olos which included ski lift passes for the 2 days and eat as much as you like lunch vouchers for the restaurant there. This was a real bonus.
We also had a 2 hour snowmobile trip included which meant we didnt bother paying for any additional excursions.
On New Years day we also had an included trip to the ice hotel which was magnificent and a drinks voucher for a drink in the ice bar while we were there.
There was also a day trip to Levi for anyone that wanted to go which again included a lunch voucher for while you were there.

We didnt book any extra excursions and after speaking to people who had been on them we were glad we didnt. Its not so much the cost its more how short they are. An advertised 2 hour trip includes the 1 hour transfer and the 30 minute briefing and kitting out. One person we spoke to went ice fishing which was very expensive and only actually got 15 minutes fishing???
Its a bit unfair as all the parents were being nagged by their kids to do trips as its all the reps and elves went on about everytime you were on the coach. The only thing we spent money on whilst there was ski hire 19 euros for 3 hours or 24 euros for a whole day and a 100 minute ski lesson at 35 euros when we went to Olos one of the days.
The clothing you get given is OK and does the job but you do need to wear a thermal layer underneath and one or two fleece layers. You would also benefit from silk glove and sock liners. I took my own snowboots and im glad I did for the £30 I paid on ebay as the ones you get are a bit, how shall we say, minging! I am however extremely fussy when it comes to sharing footwear. I would also recommend a balaclava.

The hotel is in a beautiful location and when its daylight between about 11 and 3 we went exploring behind the hotel and up into the mountain. There is a very wide footpath marked (wide enough for a lorry) and we took the toboggans from the hotel and tobogganed all the way down the hill. It was much better than the one at the hotel. You can also get some fabulous photos from there. It is unlit though and so is only something you can do during the daylight hours.

When it gets dark and you are at the hotel there is very very little to do for adults. I think this was the only downside. There is nothing to do except eat and drink. The sauna is only open for an hour a day 5-6 and its single sex and no swimwear allowed so I gave that a wide berth. It would have been nice if there were some other distractions like a pool table, darts boards, swimming pool. Some adult only outdoor hot tubs would have made the holiday 100% perfect. Also a bit more leanient with the sauna. If it were open in the evening and mixed with swimwear ON to cater for the 100% British clientel that stay over xmas it would have given you an alternative to sitting drinking everynight. You can go out on the hotel toboggan run in the evening but you do get tired of getting dressed and undressed in and out of 4 layers!

The food was much better than we were expecting and speaking to others from other hotels it was gourmet in comparison! It is basic staple food but you would have to be very very fussy to starve as there are some lovely soups and breads and chips if nothing else takes your fancy. TIP if you are staying the bar/restaurant drinking keep a plate of something from the buffet eg pizza or bread and butter as by 11pm you will be starving again and there is nowhere to get anymore food til breakfast. Also make sure you get your water to take to bed before 11pm as they clear it away and the iced water it much nicer than the water from the tap (which is drinkable).

The gala evening was pleasant and again the food was of a decent standard. Its not going to be uk restaurant food but again you wont starve. On New Year the bar still closes at 11pm so make sure you stock up. If you drink spirits buy it in duty free before you go out and keep it in your room as the spirits they sell are 6-7 euros for a 2cl measure. Also be warned they do no diet drinks they have diet coke but its 5 euros they wont include it in the all inclusive. The all inclusive drinks are coke, fanta and sprite (no wonder all the kids were so hyper) take a bottle of sugar free squash or something perhaps with you.

We wouldnt hesitate to recommend the first choice trip and snowy wilderness lodge and would gladly do it again. Now we have done the pretty isolated hotel we may do a hotel in Levi next time with more options, more going on and more place to walk to.

If you have any questions please feel free to ask as its hard to cover everything and im more than happy to help.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jblc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muonio
7.0 mi away
Hotel Jeris
Hotel Jeris
#2 of 3 in Muonio
137 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Vuontispirtti
Hotel Vuontispirtti
#4 of 4 in Enontekio
4 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel Harriniva
Hotel Harriniva
#1 of 9 in Muonio
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Torassieppi Winter Village
11.9 mi away
Lomamaja Pekonen
Lomamaja Pekonen
#5 of 9 in Muonio
13 reviews
10.0 mi away
Sarkijarven Majat
Sarkijarven Majat
#4 of 9 in Muonio
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapland Hotel Pallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapland Hotel Pallas

Address: Pallastunturintie 560 | Pallas, Muonio 99330, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Muonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Muonio
Price Range: $98 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lapland Hotel Pallas 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Lapland Hotel Pallas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapland Hotel Muonio
Lapland Hotel Pallas Finland - Muonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing