We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ideal for cross country skiing”
Review of Hotel Jeris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Jeris
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Muonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Hotel has got a good infrastructure, excellent sauna, excellent food and near the outstanding cross country tracks of the region. The staff is friendly and very helpful, we have enjoyed our stay in a sporty group. We will be back .

Room Tip: make sure you get a lake side room one first floor. the view is just great !!! the other rooms may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cancerfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 143 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week in March 2013 - Family of two adults and two kids aged 7 & 10. We stayed in a self-contained cabin about an eight (8) minute walk from the hotel. We booked a winter wonderland package direct with the hotel which was a few hundred euro cheaper than booking through an agent. The cabin was bigger and better than we expected and spotless when we arrived. Two bedrooms with two single beds in each and a loft with three single beds. There was a fully equipped kitchen (which we didn't use as the package was full board) and lounge. A big wet area, drying cupboard and our own sauna, which was used most days. The heating was fantastic and easy to adjust, we actually found it a bit too warm when we arrived, surprising considering it was minus 20 outside. There are cabins closer to the hotel and lake if you are not up for a few walks back and forth each day but these might be smaller than the one we had.

The cold weather clothing supplied by the hotel was clean, very practical and a necessary addition to our wardrobe to cope with the extreme cold (minus 36 was our best morning). Ensure you bring along layers of thermals - top and bottom - to wear under their overalls.

Our guide for the week, Toinya (?) was exceptional. Knowledgable, approachable, helpful with every single issue we had, great with the kids and clearly passionate about her job. All other staff we dealt with were polite, friendly and helpful. All the activities were well run, exactly as described in the brochures and more fun than we expected, particularly the husky dog sled ride.

On our free day we took a cab to a nearby small down-hill ski resort. We had the runs to ourselves for most of the time there, the kids did ski school and another fun day was had. Again, Toinya provided advice and made all arrangement for this day.

The food at the hotel was plentiful and ranged from OK to great. It was not a highlight but we were happy with each meal and really had nothing to complain about on this front. Even the lunches provided off-site during activities were tasty, filling and most importantly warming!

We could not agree on a highlight as a family but the husky sled ride, the smoke sauna into the ice pool, downhill skiing and snowmobile safari were all rated in the top three picks.

Northern Lights - We were lucky enough to see a good display on our first night. The aurora alarm was a worthwhile investment and if you are quick enough getting dressed was accurate most times it went off. We saw the lights on three nights out of the 6 nights we were there. We actually turned the alarm off one night as we were all too tired from another days fun activities.

Overall - This was an expensive holiday (and we only had to travel from Cyprus) but the unique experience was well worth the cost.

Room Tip: The walk to our cabin did become tiresome (especially with the young kids) by the end of the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marty k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I booked through activities abroad for a one week stay here. We designed our own trip so got to select which activities we did. The flight out was fine - we stopped off at helsinki for about 40 mins then when arriving at Kittila we were met by some holidays reps and shown to our coach where we were taken to Jeris - this took about 40 mins. Once arriving we were given our cabin key and then they had some dinner for us which was good as we didn't arrive till about 10pm! Our bags were taken to the hut - so we just had to find our way which was kind of interesting - got lost and it was freezing but we saw the funny side of it! - Day one - husky safari - we were met at the hotel reception and taken on small bus to harriniva for this - amazing experience but got pretty cold - make sure you take layers!!! Day 2 - XC skiing - we have our own guide for this - Esa - who was lovely and very patient with us. Day 3 - 100km snowmobiling - AMAZING experience - definitely recommend though the next day we did have sore muscles especially in our backs! However, scenery was stunning and well worth paying extra for single snowmobiles! Day 4 - reindeer safari - again we were met at reception and taken about 30 mins away to the farm - then shown the reindeers put in a sleigh and pulled to a point where we stopped for tea and cake in a tee pee....then headed back - this was a lot more of a slower pace - but meant you could really take in the scenery. Day 5 - we hired XC skis and went off on our own - went into Pallas national park - beautiful!! Then we headed across the lake to the reindeer cafe - where we nibbled on some cinnamon pastries - very tasty!! After a hard day we got bands from reception to use the saunas/pools!! I managed to brave the outside pool 3 times - it was freezing but strangely enjoyable! Then on the same day in the evening we had snoeshoeing to find northern lights! We had already seen the lights three times prior to this but again managed to see them! So we really were spoilt! Day 6 - free day so we went for a lonnnnnnng walk!! And just took in everything and enjoyed the clean, fresh air....saw about 4 people in the space of 3 hrs!
From reception you can buy pints of milk - we took hot chocolate, tea, marshmallows out with us! We also took crackers, biscuits and some nibble type food. Definitely recommend it! Breakfast was plentiful with eggs, sausages, bacon, toast, jams, ham, cheese, cereal, porridge etc. We didn't bother with lunch as was expensive - just had late breakfast and loads of it! then dinner was always a mixtures of salads, soup, rolls etc to start then the main was brought to you - either fish or meat with potatoes or rice and veg. Then pudding always had fruit, moose or cakes and biscuits. Brilliant holiday all round - we were lucky to have fantastic weather! Would definitely recommend it!! Just take some food out with you to have in your cabin as this was a godsend to us! We stayed in a smaller hut around the lake - only couple of mins walk to main hotel - the bigger cabin were much further away with a big steep hill to contend with.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotto1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I confirm the general impression of the TripAdvisor travelers: between 4 and 5 stars. The hotel is isolated in nature in a beautiful site, and is perfect for the proposed activities.
If some reviewers have criticism on comfort or food, they have to know that the reasons to go to Lapland are not the same as going in Burgundy or in a Sheraton ... Comfort in cabins Jerisranta is excellent and correspond to the description of the website (http://www.harriniva.fi/en/accommodation/hotel-jeris). I cannot however judge the rooms in the main building. The food ranges from okay to very good and is perfect for a stay of several days (only bread is sometime not less good).
An hotel aims to provide an enjoyable night (Jeris does that very well, the hotel is very quiet), good food (which is the case) and a certain charm (cf. the situation and the cottages under the trees). The advantage of Hotel Jeris is to bring a flawless organization, as well as a variety of activities in the immediate vicinity.
Spending a week winter (what about the other seasons?) in Lapland is a must and the hotel Jeris is perfect for that.

A few notes and tips for future travelers.
- As stated on the website of the hotel, you have to walk a few minutes between the cottages and the restaurant. Rather than being a disadvantage, this allows once again to feel the fresh air of the country.
- Spa: a pool of ca. 10 x 3 m, 0.5 m deep, 30 °C (?) + a jacuzzi + 2 sauna + an open area in the frozen lake (I noted that only those outgoing hot sauna swim more than 5 seconds, say … 20 s)
- Wi-Fi only in the lobby, not in cabins
- We had Jeris Winter Week: perfect for an overview and a carefree enjoy of all the activities. Highly recommended.
- Provided warm clothes are essential for certain activities (snowmobile, huskies) and without doubt particularly when the weather is cold or windy (we had sunlight). Otherwise, good classical winter sports clothes are sufficient. For walking some a distance, a pair of good walking shoes (if large enough for two pairs of socks) is nicer than the heavy boots provided.
- Problem with glasses: your breath can deposit and freeze on them, which prevents you from seeing the beautiful landscape or ... the sled just stopped in front of you!
- Shooting pictures when the sun shines is not easy: you have to remove your gloves, as well as your sunglasses to see something on the camera screen
- Activities: you drive yourself snowmobiles and dog sleds, which requires continuous attention (but it's great!). Snowshoeing and cross-country skiing, although basic level, require a "normal" physical form (which some seniors have unfortunately lost)
- Auroras: they are rather rare to see (solar activity, solar wind speed, cloud cover, chance of an aurora at the time you leave, full or new moon, point of view on a clear horizon, vagaries of nature). But we have seen one. Wow!

In short, go for it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABSKBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed in one of the cabins in february. Very clean and cosy. We had a cabin near the lake, a few minutes walk to main building. Cold, but also nice walk.
It was very busy when we were there, so sometimes al little chaotic, but this has its charm :-)
Dinner is fine, you can have al little drink before and after near the fireplace. Beware when it is minus 28; a walk on the lake can easily become uncomfortable if you're not wel prepared (meaning dressed in very warm clothes). Sunset was around 5.30 early february.
No shop on site, missed opportunity IMO. You can take the bus to Muonio,but it leaves only 2 times a day. If you have back problems, think twice about taking the snowmobile tour, it can be very bumpy
All in all not to be missed, trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rockinSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday hunting the Northern Lights - Well! we found them in buckets loads, it was the most wonderful experience to see the lights dancing in the sky and popping like bulbs overhead, it was very very cold at minus 20 degrees but in our thermal suits which we hired we where lovely and warm. Our cabin Number - 14 Jeriskyla C was up a very steep hill. On arrival our luggage was transported to our cabin, thank goodness, but we had to walk up following our meal I have a bad hip and I found it a bit difficult as the gradiant was about a 1 in 2 for about 100 yards then it was a lovely walk through the trees - do take a torch as some of the light bulbs had gone, the clear skies and the thousands of bright stars made the journey at night so special.We did however decide that to go back to our cabin it was far easier to go by the main road, just turn right at carpark exit then take first left, we had a torch to warn any traffic , which was fairly rare. Our lodge which could sleep seven persons - was so cosy and warm that we had to open our windows, there was only two of us (we each wanted a bedroom) the cabin was fairly roomy BUT not for seven - I think it would have felt too cramped. We had booked half board and the food was good and plenty of it. Be warned the nearest food shops are in Muonio , the hotel does not sell any food except drinks,cakes /biscuits. We took the bus - this cost about 13 Euros each way for two people - the shops are just across from the bus stop - we had two hours to do our shopping and catch the bus back. We went for a lovely long walk to see the fishermens cottages, which was a bit disappointing but hey the lakes and the surrounding sceanery was fabulous, we had been told not to wander off the tracks - this was sound advise- as we walked around the cottages I lost my footing and fell in snow up to my waist - I am 5' 7'' tall...... It was really hard work getting out of the deep snow. We had taken a small flask of hot chocolate with brandy and biscuits, this was really warming, we kept our lining gloves on at all times. As we had already been to Finland before we had decided not to do the activites, so we went for lovely walks and enjoyed the fabulous views. We rented one of the Northern lights alarm telephones which alerted you to any sightings, this was really good as you could go to bed knowing that you wouldn't miss them. I can fully recommend Hotel Jeris - but if I went again I would stay in the hotel - no hill climbs, but then again would I miss the fabulous walk back to our snug little home. All the staff where really helpful in every way and really did go the extra mile. Our cabin was spotlessly clean, with a big walk in shower and sauna. The drying room/dressing room was a great idea as all our outside gear was kept in here, we hung our night clothes up in there as it was lovely to put warm pj's on after night sky watching. - we stayed 27/2/2013 - 4/3/2013

Room Tip: Ours was number 14 which was at the very top of the hill, I would ask for a lower one. If its a coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tillysmum815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at this this hotel in a cabin. The staff is very friendly. The cabin is comfortable with own kitchen, sauna and fireplace. The choice of the breakfast is not rich, but the dinner is very-very tasty. The cabins are very close to the Lake Jeris.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grisham73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muonio
22 mi away
Levi Hotel Spa
Levi Hotel Spa
#1 of 8 in Levi
665 reviews
7 mi away
Lapland Hotel Pallas
Lapland Hotel Pallas
#1 of 3 in Muonio
224 reviews
23.8 mi away
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
Lapland Hotel Akashotelli
#2 of 5 in Akaslompolo
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Hotel Hullu Poro - The Crazy Reindeer
24 mi away
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
Lapland Hotel Yllaskaltio
#3 of 5 in Akaslompolo
172 reviews
24.7 mi away
Golden Crown Levi Igloos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jeris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jeris

Address: Jerisjaerventie 91, Muonio 99300, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Muonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Muonio
Price Range: $116 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jeris 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jeris is a unique Lappish resort located next to Pallas-Ounas National Park directly by the beautiful Lake Jerisjarvi. It is an ideal destination for an active holiday with a wide range of safaris offered close to the unspoilt nature with Europe's purest air. Accommodation is offered in 26 comfortable wilderness style hotel rooms and 40 log cabins. Lakeside Spa brings into a complete relaxation with the fell view hot pools and traditional smoke sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jeris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jeris Hotel Muonio
Hotel Jeris Finland/Lapland - Muonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing