We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing and wonderful experience in the North!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Harriniva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Harriniva
Certificate of Excellence
Belgium
Level Contributor
208 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Amazing and wonderful experience in the North!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2011

Wonderful journey in the middle of nowhere, but only 4 hours flight from Brussels with Blue 1. The transfer takes about 1 hour and then you finally arrive at the hotel Harriniva.
Ground floor rooms properly equipped with bathroom, shower, and good size. The atmosphere is decidedly mountain with wood everywhere.
The dog sled rides and snowmobiling are superb and the hotel graciously lends all the equipement you need to face the polar cold.
The temperaturestays allways around - 26 degrees celcius.
If you like speed, ask snowmobile 550CC, they are very effective.
We also tried ice Karting, beautiful experience if you like to slide.
The scenery is beautiful and maybe you will have the chance to see the aurora borealis as it was the case for us but not clearly.
We went as well to Lainio to visit the ice hotel and drink a glass of vodka and on the way back to Harriniva we stopped at Levi (ski village) to make some shopping.
In summary, our wonderful experience
Olivier

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliveerpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    90
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
86
116
26
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Me and my partner have both wanted to see the northern lights since we've known each other, so when we saw this trip we decided there would be no better time. We booked through the company activities abroad, who couldn't have done more for us...they talked us through the booking and what would happen next, and were really understanding about us panicing with the post strikes and worrying that our tickets would come in time (which they did).
The hotel was amazing from start to finish. Our transfer was waiting for us when we landed in kittila, and the hour long drive was magical, driving past snow covered forests and popular ski resorts. The hotel was 3km from the nearest town and 1km from the bridge border crossing to sweden.
When we arrived the reception staff were very helpful, we got checked in right away and settled in our room. We designed our own activity programme, so I wanted to check everything with the hotel staff and they were happy to do this for me, answering all my questions.
After something to eat, we went to pick up our snow gear for the week. The lady in the equipment hut was lovely, and even when i went back to get a different size suit was happy to help.
We did so many activities while we stayed here, and i couldn't find fault with any of them. We did cross country ski-ing, northern lights snowmobiling, husky sledding, reindeer sleigh rides, 50km snowmobile safari and went on a culture outing to a museum and ice hotel. All of these activities were brilliant, and we couldn't fault the guides that took us, they gave us plenty of advice and support throughout the activities.
The hotel itself was very nice. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and had adjustable heating. The rest of the hotel was just as good. The food was lovely. We had a buffet style breakfast and a set evening meal, and you could buy a lunch from the hotel restaurant.
Towards the end of the week I booked a massage at the hotels wellness centre (while my partner went to take some photographs of the area). The wellness centre offered a variety of massages, I chose the hot stone therapy massage. It was a fabulous way to relax after a week of full on activities.
When we checked out, the staff were very helpful with anything we wanted to know and the transfer to the airport was comfortable.
Altogether the holiday was amazing, something both of us will remember for the rest of our lives (and hopefully revisit eventually). This is definitely a hotel I would recommend to anyone wanting a holiday packed full of out-of-the-ordinary experiences. The only down side to this hotel is that there is not much to do after your evening meal.
One thing I would advise is wearing plenty of layers if you go snowmobiling, between the -28 degree temperature and the 70km/hr speeds you WILL feel the cold.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wiki_panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
161 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights at Easter 2010, good hotel and brilliant excursions / instructors. Husky safari & snowmobile tour with ice fishing were such fun. On the day where we had no excursions booked we borrowed cross country skis which was good fun but hard work! There is a 4km loop track that brings you back to the hotel or an alternate 10k route that takes you to the next village of Olos (we got a cab back from there). There are grooves cut into the track the whole way which were great for us as we have never tried to cross country ski before. Transfer from airport is about an hour by minibus so it's great to get that included in the package. Food at hotel was very good and I am a fussy eater (although lunch menu quite expensive). Great to have wifi in the room. Overall would definately recommend the time out package which was good value.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hooleyholmezonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

We went to Harriniva Wilderness Lodge for a week in March and we had a fantastic time! Like other travellers have said it is easily our best holiday ever too!

The hotel is basic in terms of room amenities but it was great to come back to a warm, friendly, welcoming hotel with a real charm about it. The staff were fab - both hotel staff and guides that took us out on various activities. They were all very friendly, had lots of info on the local area and would help wherever they could with any requests etc. They were ace, and really made the experience.

The restaurant served, on the whole, good food. The menu was fixed each night with a selection of 3 starters - usually salad or soup from the buffet, followed by a single fixed main course, and a selection of desserts - also from the buffet. Being a fixed main course there were a couple of meals that we weren't keen on due to personal tastes, but overall the food was great and there was plenty of it!

Breakfast was a buffet that included a range of cold meats, cheese, porridge, yogurt, cereals, toast and fruit, so plenty to choose from each day. Lunch offered a full menu that was outside of our half board package, but the food was well priced, really tasty and there was a pretty good selection to choose from.

The room was basic but very clean and cosy with comfortable beds and plenty of storage for all our clothes and outer gear. We requested a room with it's own sauna which made all the difference - we used it everyday, so definitely request one of those rooms if you can.

The winter gear we were provided with was excellent. The hotel can supply an outer suit, boots, mittens with inner liners, wool socks and balaclavas. We only needed the suit and boots, and both were of excellent quality. The boots were so fab, we're going to buy some for when the weather gets colder at home, as the grip was excellent.

We tried out most of the activities on offer and all were again brilliant! We enjoyed every single activity we did including husky sledding, snowmobiling, snow shoe walking, cross country skiing - the list goes on! With the husky's specifically we had a tour of the husky area itself and we were really impressed with how the huskys are cared for and their environment. If you are a bit scared of dogs, don't worry - with these huskys, they're raised from puppies to be comfortable around people, so they won't hurt you. They do, however, get very excited just before you leave to take them out with the guide. That can be a bit crazy, but as soon as they start running they go very quiet and settle down!

Tip - the hotel didn't stock any oil based sun cream when we were there, so definitely take this with you to save walking to the local town to buy some. Water based sun creams can freeze on your face, so definitely make sure that you take with you an oil based cream. The hotel didn't have any batteries and that sort of thing, so again take as many spares as you may need. Batteries wore down very quickly with the cold, especially in our video camera. We used at least double the amount of batteries when compared to a normal holiday - so definitely take spares! The scenery is amazing and with all the activities we did, we were always photographing or videoing something!

As part of our holiday we also spent a night at Lainio Snow Village which was also brilliant! There are activities that you can do while you are there including Ice Karting, Ice Sculpture Classes, Snow Show Walking, Snowmobiles etc. Some need to be booked in advance and Harriniva helped us with finding out what was available before we got there. In Lainio they do provide an outer suit, but no other clothing was offered. We found some of the paths to be pretty slippy in the ice hotel itself, so definitely bring with you some boots with good grip. The sleeping gear was really good - you get a sleeping bag and a fleece inner liner along with a full briefing on how to sleep in the ice rooms. Don't worry about needing lots of layers to sleep in - just the thermal layer is enough to keep you warm all night.

Overall the holiday was absolutely brilliant - we didn't want to come home! We loved trying all the new activities and enjoying the snow. We would do the whole holiday again without changing a single thing. The holiday was awesome and if you're thinking about going, and fancy a bit of an adventure - book it, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Crazycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2010

WOW. What a week. We went out to get married in the igloo at Harriniva and for a week of activities. Activities abroad were superb in there organisation and communication throughout the entire process, we can't thank them enough for there outstanding efforts and attention to detail. I would highly recommend booking with them. Our guide for the week was brilliant he made everyone feel welcome and safe and also escorted the group on all of the events during the week. Having been on the snowmobile's, reindeer and husky safari's i can recommend all three. The equipment provided was first class and did exactly what it said on the tin (kept you warm!). Better mention the wedding ! The wedding planner in Finland had everything under control which made for the most fantastic wedding day. It exceeded our expectations by such along way. In all the extra effort afforded by both the hotel/staff and Activities abroad made the entire week worth while. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stever2198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2010

I have just returned from the Wilderness Adventure Week at Harriniva and it was, without a doubt, the best experience I have had. Marianne, our adventure week guide, was brilliant. She was incredibly welcoming and knowledgeable. Raika, the husky guide, made me feel completely at ease working with his dogs, and Marco, Ona and Ronny who treated us to a reindeer and snowmobile experience respectively, were great. The hotel staff were friendly and took great care to ensure everyone enjoyed their stay.

The hotel itself has everything you need to enjoy a wilderness adventure. Fireplaces, sauna, bar and great food!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jo2926
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

We went to Harriniva just before Christmas and had the most fantastic holiday ever. The hotel was perfect - and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were friendly and the guides were excellent.

We went on the Adventure week and everything was perfectly organised - all the activities were full day, and the husky safari two full days. All our lunches were cooked around open fires by the guides and the evening meals were buffet style. Noy a huge amount of choice, but well cooked and you won't care anyway - in minus 30 you just need hot food! One night we upgraded to the A la Carte menu - beautiful! Well worth the extra money.

We were very impressed with the quality of the hired clothes. Snowsuit, boots, socks, hat, liner, gloves and liners. All incredibly warm. (The last night we stayed at the snow hotel and the hired clothes there were no where near as good and we realised how lucky we were at Harriniva)

We saw the Northern Lights 4 times while there - although not great shows because of the time of year. We recommend walking about 1/2 mile to the border with Sweden and watching the show from the bridge - much clearer and we only found it on the last day.

The only word of caution we have is that the week is very active. Its not suitable for people without a sense of adventure or those looking to be pampered for a week! (Although I had a massage and an outdoor hot tub while there!) The husky tour takes a lot of energy and hard work. I fell off the snowmobile and the huskies - it hurt like hell but still worth every second.

We met Santa on our last night and all got gifts, (even though the group was all adults!) We saw the work that went into the family visits to Santa's house and it was very impressive. Every family went on their own with a guide (no groups) through a candle lit forest on a sleigh. It really was magical.

We booked with Activities Abroad - who were good - but once we got there everything was run by the hotel so we could have easily saved money by booking direct. Once there the only thing to spend your money on is drinks at the bar and a few bits in the gift shop. (We highly recommend taking a hip flask and a bottle from duty free to sip at whilst out in the wilds!)

We started saving to go back as soon as we got home, I've never had a better holiday and I was really sad to leave.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo2926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muonio
10.1 mi away
Hotel Jeris
Hotel Jeris
#3 of 3 in Muonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
13.1 mi away
Lapland Hotel Pallas
Lapland Hotel Pallas
#2 of 3 in Muonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
19.4 mi away
Hotel Vuontispirtti
Hotel Vuontispirtti
#4 of 4 in Enontekio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Torassieppi Winter Village
1.5 mi away
Lomamaja Pekonen
Lomamaja Pekonen
#5 of 9 in Muonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sarkijarven Majat
Sarkijarven Majat
#4 of 9 in Muonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Harriniva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harriniva

Property: Hotel Harriniva
Address: Harrinivantie 35, Muonio 99300, Finland
Location: Finland > Lapland > Muonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Muonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Harriniva 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Harriniva is a family run business established in 1973. It provides versatile accommodation and restaurant services as well as unforgettable safari program services in the beautiful and unspoilt nature of Northern Lapland. The proprietors, Maria and Köpi Pietikäinen, and the whole Harriniva team welcome you to a unique and enjoyable experience of a lifetime! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Harriniva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harriniva Holiday Centre Hotel Muonio
Hotel Harriniva Finland/Lapland - Muonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing