We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
The Enjoyable far Norht of Europe

An excellent holiday provider in an extremely beautiful location. The staff were both professional... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
James N
,
Perth, Australia
Fantastic stay at Aurora Holidays

I stayed at Aurora Holidays as part of a photo workshop. The cottages were comfortable and well... read more

Reviewed April 11, 2024
ChrisK427
,
Calgary, Canada
Read all 187 reviews
  
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveler rating
183
4
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
183
4
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages dog sledding northern lights bucket list kebab private sauna far north arctic ocean frozen tundra feel like family every night five nights light chasing absolutely everything dream come true would love to come back close friends
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 187 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2021

In late October I decided that I wanted to see the Northern Lights again, after checking with friends it became clear quickly that my best chances would be somewhere in Northern Lapland. Looking closer I found Tiina's family business with full board catering and of course the best chances to see the Lights. Tiina made sure to meet all my travel requirements and even got an extra driver to pick me up at Ivalo Airport as my flights got delayed. After driving 2 h through the arctic landscape we arrived at the shores of the Teno River and had some time to rest in my Finn Hut with its own sauna and all you need to feel right at home. The food was amazing and local stuff dominates the menu, with reindeer, arctic cod and fish from local lakes. But Tiina and the chef will make sure that you feel right at home there with vegan and vegetarian options provided. The first night we didn't see the aurora due to clouds. Next morning the skies started to clear and we did a snow shoe hike up to a hut on the fell where we had a fire and sausages. After resting and another amazing dinner the skies cleared and the Northern Lights began to shine faintly at first before filling the whole sky and dancing wonderfully above our heads. The happened the next two nights. As a photographer I was keen on exploring the area a bit an one day the Jonna took me on tour for three hours and the other day Tiina took us to Nuorgam up on a fell were we witness the beautiful arctic twilight. Also feeding the domestic reindeers was a cool experience and I learned a lot about the Sami culture.

Date of experience: December 2021
Thank christianhB5840UL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 13, 2021 via mobile

All of it, being somewhere with no light pollution meant we saw the northern lights four nights out of five. The accomodation, food and staff were perfect. It really couldn't have been better

Date of experience: December 2021
Thank 194nualam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 2, 2021

The host and her team are the best in class!

Utsjoki is a hidden gem for Aurora Chasing. Importantly, when the sky is clear, aurora chase is effortless by sitting around wood wire in a hut and monitoring the live stream for the first sign of green light and then walking several steps to river bank.

The cabins are spotless and filled with the host's thoughtfulness. What you need are all in there. Food is wonderfully prepared, healthy, and artistically presented.

Tiina, Rayann, and Lisa are wonderful souls.

Date of experience: November 2021
Thank weig680
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 6, 2021 via mobile

We booked an aurora tour on the last minute while still on the road, Tina answered so quickly it was perfect, we were very well welcomed, we met our second guide rayann ( bonus he was french) who was awesome too, they were a great duo and the trip who was supposed to be around 3h i think endend in a 6h trip accros norway, they were so motivated and never gave up to finally see 2 auroras after an epic chase. Lot of teaching everything was perfect.

Date of experience: November 2021
Thank morf2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 12, 2021

We looked for a fall getaway to see the Northern Lights. We found sites that cost less but offered less. Some had you make your own meals, some had no daytime activities, some were not in the best location for viewing.

Aurora Holidays had it all for a fair price: location (dark nights with unobstructed views, being far enough north the lights were overhead as well as on the horizon); three full meals plus snacks (gourmet quality food, presentation, and service); full service bar; clean new cabins; and the most warm and welcoming hostess and staff. We felt like and became a part of the family.

We experienced so much more than great views of the lights; we had guided hikes, tutoring in photography, learned about reindeer and herding, and enjoyed a peaceful and quiet place to rest and relax. It was a perfect getaway holiday, and during these covid concerns we felt safe and secure the whole time.

Tiina, thanks again from your Florida family.

Date of experience: October 2021
2  Thank Notsocranky8228
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews