We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Utsjoki
Save
Review Highlights
Absolutely perfect!

We travelled from Australia to Utsjoki Finland for our Northern Lights tour. Although we didnt get... read more

Reviewed today
kerrymcmullan
,
Sydney, Australia
via mobile
A magical place

If you are toying with the idea of coming on this tour, but not sure whether or not to do it, my... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
235nataliee
Read all 657 reviews
  
Reviews (657)
Filter reviews
657 results
Traveler rating
643
11
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
643
11
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages every night first night clear skies dog sledding frozen lake northern lights three nights one night bucket list snow suits cloud cover ivalo airport went the extra mile other guests daytime activities sami museum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 657 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2020

Despite frequent dense cloud cover and low solar indices for aurora sightings we were not disappointed! Angus went more than the extra mile - an intimate understanding of the weather and solar activity married with his personal enthusiasm and willingness to chase late into the night meant we successfully hunted down some decent aurora sightings several times.
And Finland by winter is more than just the lights - our comfortable warm cabin set above the frozen river border with Norway was a magic setting. We thoroughly enjoyed snowshoe walking in the forest, dogsled riding out on the frozen lake, and traditional Finnish saunas each afternoon. Even from Australia, we certainly hope to be back!

Date of experience: December 2019
2  Thank Kerri-Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

This was our first visit to the Arctic north of Finland and we were completely pleased with the trip. Angus was our perfect guide and we saw a magical aurora on the first night at our Asgard camp. Words aren't enough to describe what a magical experience it is to see these lights emerge and dance across the sky twisting and turning. We also loved being up on the Fell under the bright moonlight, snow shoeing through the forest and the ride with the huskies. Our cabin was super comfortable and we had a sauna most evenings we were there.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank FranPaulHenleyBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

I have visited Utsjoki for the 6th time with Aurora Service Tours and as usual it has been a total success. On this occasion my 15 year old niece came with me. Our guide this time was Angus and he really has what it takes and "goes the extra mile". We got to see auroras 3 nights out of 4. One was good, one was very good and the other one was epic! Cottages and extra activities are fantastic and we could not ask for more. Thanks a lot to a wonderful team!

Date of experience: January 2020
3  Thank minexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

Absolutely impressive tour. Professionally organized, in this case from Angus. He was able to keep his 100-%-auroar-success-rate. I will come back for sure. Thank you for this experience.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank stefanwTrier_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

We are a group of 7 people, 2 family, very close friend, one from Melbourne & Sydney.
We booked a 4 nights Valhalla tour. From the start to the end, everything was expected and the most beautiful part of the tour, was able to see the Aurora on our 3rd day stay at the cottage, right on top of our cottages (4 & 5) and we can see with our naked eyes. Awesome! And we were very lucky too!
Our tour guide, Nigel, was friendly and dedicated to all the things we asked, including drove us on the 3rd night,even we already saw the Aurora from our cottage, to continue to chase the Aurora in the middle of the night. Nigel even brought a small coffee table to serve us warm tea and biscuit, to make us more comfortable in enjoy the lifetime experience. Thanks Nigel.
During the tour, we also went to the Snow mobile & Huskies sledge, The experience also was amazing. We loved it! Thanks to all the staff at the Snow Mobile & Huskies sledge.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank TheSydneyGroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews