We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Abisko
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
  
Ways to Experience Lights Over Lapland
from $129.39
More Info
from $64.86
More Info
from $183.53
More Info
from $205.19
More Info
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveler rating
667
25
11
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
667
25
11
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews photo tour every night sd card guide chris professional photographer first night dog sledding once in a lifetime landscape photography amazing photos helicopter ride making sure two nights taking photos great shots ice hotel his team
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 712 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sarah was truly impressive, integrating atmospheric and weather information from multiple sources combined with her own experience and on-the-spot check ins with other other LOL guides to track conditions and predict the best location and time for us to see the aurora. And she succeeded! Her combination of knowledge, expertise, and experience was amazing. She combined all of this with an infectious spirit of adventure and fun to make this an unforgettable once-in-a-lifetime experience. The pre- and post-trip support from the staff at LOL was unbeatable too. They answered all of my questions and concerns and took good care of us while we were there. I can’t say enough good things about the people at LOL. They really made this one of our best vacations.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank DreamSquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed 4 nights in the STF through Lights Over Lapland that included the nightly aurora tours. Firstly, the customer service is excellent - we interfaced with Lotta and Rachel while booking and we had MANY questions. Responses were always swift and thorough, even providing information we didn't know we needed!

Rob, our guide, met us upon our arrival at the STF. Rob is an excellent guide, very knowledgeable about the aurora, photography, the lay of the land, and, of course, birch trees!

In addition to 4 nightly aurora tours, we went on a hike through the national park and also went snowmobiling. Both were excellent.

The aurora was faint while we were there but we felt that LOL went above and beyond to ensure an enjoyable and memorable stay. We were out for New Year's Eve and Rob and team made sure that we had a memorable way to bring in the new year - completely unexpected and not necessary, but really a testament to the quality of people and company.

We will be back and will absolutely book again through Lights Over Lapland.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank Scott U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did the 4 nights 5 days experience with Lights Over Lapland that included the nightly aurora tours, the Ice Hotel visit, dog sledding, walking in Abisko National park. We stayed at STF Abisko Turiststation which is a fabulous hotel

I loved the way LoL organised everything. It was smooth from the time we met our guide, Chris, at the train station. Chris is very passionate about his work and his energy was infectious. He also showed us how to shoot in interesting ways when out aurora hunting at night. For someone who is not into professional photography, these were fun and I got some good pics.

Unfortunately, the weather was quite cloudy and snowing on almost all the days. We did see the Aurora on 3 nights of 4 but with some cloud cover so no dazzling displays that we were hoping for. Of the 4 nights, we did one snowmobile ride into the park one night, walked somewhere close to the hotel (which is inside the national park) on the rest of the nights. New Year's Eve we were out at night and we even got some champagne to make a toast which was a pleasant surprise. Each night there was a teepee with a wood fire and lingonberry juice to keep us warm as we waited to see the aurora.

I also enjoyed the 530 pm dinners each evening with the group.

The overalls provided were really good and we also got ice grips for a couple of days. I took my own shoes and didn't rent theirs.

Overall, I loved the whole experience.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank NamrataBalwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Did two trips actually with them,one was Nightly photo aurora trip amd another one was wilderness aurora trip. We could see aurora on our Nightly tour with them. Both the nights Chris guided us.He was excellent to say the least. He made sure that we saw the lights and took us to a place where we saw and photographed it. Thank you Chris for your excellent hospitality and we will definitely come back someday.
Lights Over Lapland is the best in Abisko !
Go for it guys.

1  Thank pg271189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The morning just flew really fast. Our guide, Rob, took us to some great spots and viewpoints. We were more than thrilled with the photos we got and with what we learned about both photography and Abisko. Rob is very kind, patient and knowledgeable and will make sure you have a great time while capturing the most stunning images, made by yourself! Equipment is provided if you don't have a camera and you can easily translate the knowledge to another camera system if you ever decide to buy one later. If you are lucky to go with Rob he can recommend you something to your needs. The best way to explore the landscape through your own creativity. We got an amazing viewpoint of the Lapporten mountain, different perspectives of the common birch trees of the area and went to the Torneträsk Lake shore to capture some great ice formations. We got lucky and saw the most amazing multi colored sky with a beautiful view of the lake. It was a morning of fun but if there was a whole day photography tour we would definitely do it! Thank you Rob and Lightsoverlapland for the experience!

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank Rubarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews