We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short but sweet, our stay at Abisko Mountain Lodge!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abisko Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Short but sweet, our stay at Abisko Mountain Lodge!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

My partner and I booked for three nights at the end of March at the Abisko Mountain Lodge and stayed in one of the cabins, a couple of minutes' walk from the main hotel. After much deliberation we decided to book a cabin to allow us the extra space rather than stay in a room in the main hotel. The cabins have a sitting and dining area with kitchenette plus separate loo and basin on the ground floor and the sleeping area is on the first floor, with four single beds, which is ideal for a family or those, like us, who prefer the more spacious accommodation. There is also a sofa in the sitting area, which can be used as an additional bed if needed. There is no shower or bath in the cabins but across from our cabin was an attractive building with showers and saunas - separate ones for men and ladies - which were fine for our needs.

From the time of our initial booking enquiry to our departure following our stay at the Abisko Mountain Lodge we were treated more like friends than paying clients. All the staff, and particularly Mina, the owner, were informative, helpful and very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We had breakfast and dinner daily in the mountain lodge, despite having a rental car so we could have dined elsewhere if we had wanted to. Dinner was a set menu and the food was excellent. Wine is not cheap but the cost of living in Sweden isn't either! A nice touch was the complimentary tea and coffee with biscuits, available all day long.

We were shown a couple of rooms in the main lodge and, although we had opted for the extra space in the cabins, the rooms in the lodge were quite large enough for a short stay and had the added benefit of a shower in the room.

We were unfortunate not to see the Northern Lights but we knew in advance there was no guarantee that we would. However, our stay at the Abisko Mountain Lodge and the snow mobile and husky sledding activities made up for our disappointment and perhaps one day we will return, with better luck next time.....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CotswoldsArea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    113
    40
    8
    2
See reviews for
36
158
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We came for a 5 day heli skiing trip and found a very friendly and cozy place. The owners are amazing - super friendly, helping and at the same time they mix and mingle with the guests to exchange how the day went and what the weather will bring the next days.
The heli port is right outside. Dog sledding and skidoos can be organized, too. And of course the highlight are the days out in the backcountry with Skis.
The food ís fantastic. Every morning starts with a lovely breakfast with home made jams and fresh breakfast rolls and breads. The day ends with a full 3 course meal of slow food. The home made swedish crisp bread and the butter with grainy salt needs to be mentioned.
Since the Abisko Mountain lodge offers a large and open comunal sitting area where skiers, snowboarders, hikers, and the like from all over the world exchange their stories of the day, it doesn't matter that the rooms are a bit basic. But the beds are comfortable and all is very clean. All in all a very good place to experience northern Sweden.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hardy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

To be fair to the Mountain Lodge, nothing was likely to top our stay at Mattarahkka. That said, the Mountain Lodge had clean, comfy rooms, a good en-suite, and a communal sitting area. The food was excellent, although somewhat minimalistic (I do eat lots though, especially when it's cold out!). The main advantage to staying here is it's location in Abisko, a beautiful area in itself, I imagine in summer as much as in winter, but also the excellent probability of seeing aurora. We watched from the Sky Station, then when we got back to the lodge we couldn't go to bed because the display re-started whenever we were about to go in!
We did take advantage of the large sauna, which we had to ourselves :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R1deFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of an Aurora Zone package. We hoped to see the Northern Lights and the package also included a number of activities. Is this value for money? I can't answer that. If you want an opportunity to see the Aurora, this package provides it but is still a great holiday even if you don't see the lights.

The Abisko Mountain Lodge is a lovely place to stay. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The building is small (17 rooms and some cabins located nearby) and right on the edge of forest and open country for walks. Not that Abisko is large but there is a garage and Co-op within a few minutes walk of the lodge.

Lovely communal area with bar and comfy chairs and this is where you'll spend your time when not outside, sleeping or eating! The bedroom was small with (in our case) twin beds that we couldn't put side by side and a small en-suite shower room/toilet. It was perfectly adequate and indeed the beds and deceptively thin duvet are very very warm and comfortable. You'll probably live out of your suitcase whilst staying there. If you are expecting or hoping for a typical hotel room then choose another location!

When we arrived we were fitted up with warm out clothing, warm mittens and boots and a warm hat. We wore this for our activities and usually at other times when we left the hotel. It was very comfortable and very warm over two inner layers with a thermal base layer. For the energetic activities this might be one layer too many! It was warm enough on some days (when the cold wind wasn't blowing) for us to wear our own outdoor gear.

The dinners are a set three course menu. They were all delicious and ranged from poached cod to braised reindeer. We ordered the house red or white with dinner and this was enjoyable and not too expensive (for Sweden!). The Swedish bottled beers were very enjoyable and if you are really picky they serve bottled Old Speckled Hen.

The breakfasts were traditional Swedish buffet and there is cooked set lunch provided. Complementary hot coffee and tea is available at all times - just help yourself. No complaints about the food.

We were able to watch the aurora for over 4 hours on one night - it was still going when we went to bed at 2am.

The package included a number of activities. They were all 1/2 day activities so plan things to do during the other half of each day. The area is lovely to walk through and you can walk to the Abisko National Park visitor centre and the cable car. Walking across the frozen lake to the islands is interesting! Our activities were:

Ice fishing - didn't think lying on the ice watching a piece of fishing line would be interesting but we had a great guide in Klaus and the weather was wonderful and so it was an enjoyable afternoon.

Snowshoe walk - this was intended to take you to a viewpoint free of light polution to watch the lights. There was some activity on the night we did this but in fact there are other places close to the lodge where you can watch so this was more of an experience walking in snowshoes!

Snowmobile trek - we had a morning driving our own 2 person snowmobiles. The guide took us into the Abisko National Park. Stunning scenery and again wonderful sunny weather.

Husky Dog Sled - go for the drive your own team option, it's fantastic, My wife didn't want to drive the sled and we were expecting that she could sit in the sled whilst I drove. However these are single person sleds. The guide was happy to accommodate our circumstances and she was able to sit on his sled. If you are a couple and one of you wants to drive and one be a passenger you should state this when booming to ensure it can be accommodated.

Visit to a Sami village - again we weren't expecting a lot from this but it was very intersting, very enjoyable and not to be missed. Maria, the Sami reindeer herder who talked to us about the Sami life was superb. We also had an enjoyable Sami reindeer soup and their (very very very strong) coffee - I don't take sugar but I took three lumps in this!

It would have been a great holiday even if we hadn't seen the lights. Lovely accomodation, lovely staff at the lodge and on the activities, stunning scenery and interesting and enjoyable activities.

Room Tip: There are apparently double rooms and if you can't bear to be apart, even during your sleep, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrianTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We spent 2 nights in Abisko as we really wanted to see the northern lights and apparently it was one of the best locations for that. The rooms at the lodge are very basic but clean and adequate, the bathroom is basically a shower room with a loo and sink, but it's all you need. The arctic wear we were given was clean and of a high quality.

On our 1st evening we had a 3 course meal at the lodge and I have to say we were blown away. It was beautifully presented and the staff were very knowledgeable about the ingredients. The breakfast is the usual continental but with lots of choice and of a high standard. The lodge also has complimentary tea and coffee constantly available with home made biscuits, which is a bonus. The lounge areas are cosy and comfortable. The staff are all really helpful and speak perfect English which puts us to shame.

Unfortunately the weather while we were in Abisko was pretty bad with lots of snow so we didn't get to go on the chair lift to the sky station and there was no sign of the Aurora. The lodge seems very well organised and seeing as people are in and out all the time on different activities, it all seems to run very smoothly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heathergrahamsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Find this a very difficult one to write a review about because there were highs and lows. First plus points that made an impression - lovely friendly staff, owner - made us feel very welcome on arrival and subsequently during our stay. Not quite so good was room which was tiny, as was the "en suite" - and don't understand no shower gel, bath mat - and glass shelf so close to tiny sink - decapitating comes to mind when teeth brushing - but hey could sit on the loo and do my teeth - so guess that was an upside! Please move the glass shelf - it does not need to be so close to the sink. Room was warm and clean - but no bed making or cleaning during our stay - can live with that. Food sadly was not all we had hoped for - it is mooted as being "slow" food restaurant - so using local produce and cooking from fresh - but meals varied so much during our 4 nights. We don't eat "fast" food and always cook fresh at home so was expecting at least something akin to that - nothing "gourmet" I might add - simple and flavoursome. In part it was lovely, rolls and bread varieties seemingly freshly baked for breakfast, but "plastic" cheese slices and meat plus cardboard Brie - the local co-op had a large selection of cheeses - could they not have been offered! Dinner was set 3 course - no problem - but only if you can eat what's presented to you, Really dire mashed potatoes so totally deviod of flavour - could not eat at all. Fabulous cooked lamb shank it melted off the bone - but no gravy or even a little liquid of some sorts - fabulous tender reindeer - but with carboard mash - fabulous cooked fish - but with plain boiled potatoes and one carrot on the plate and chopped boiled egg on top - what - so bland in all respects it was a total waste - other than at the table to add salt to give it some oomph and flavour. Lunch of soup and what seemed like left over brekky food stuff - so all the same - I always make my own soup so appreciated the flavour of what was on offer, but only "lukewarm" -personal reference for hot soup in my case. Really disappointed with some of the food on offer. It only takes a minute to add something as in herbs, mustard, or the likes to lift the flavour!
Dog sled ride was superb, a must do and a lot of fun - ice fishing was intersting - had the sun been out could have stayed out there all day with fab views etc. Ice hotel was a marginal disappointment - carvings are wonderful - but it is all so commercialised - thankfully we did not opt to stay for the night and headed back to warm, cosy and friendly Abisko Mountain Lodge - where it was nice meeting all the other residents and chatting as we did every night there. Tea/Coffee on tap 24 hours to help yourself - so very grateful for that. But unless you go there to get involved in "adventures/trips" this is not a place to be if you want to relax indoors. If not booked beforehand with tour company - all added excursions are very expensive. Bar costs are horrendous - so bear that in mind if you lke a beer/wine before/during/after dinner - or at anytime - mortgage comes to mind! We did not see the Aurora - in spite of this area being mooted by NASA as virtually cloud free - nothing but cloud when we were there - so maybe if we had seen the magical "lights" all else would have taken a back seat and not been so "noticeable". Would we go back - "jury" out on that one for now.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sgnetma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schull, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The public areas of the lodge are delightful, airy and welcoming. The staff all friendly, helpful and efficient. The food is very good, local produce and traditional meals, the breakfast was perfectly swedish! The only drawback really is the tiny, tiny bedrooms which reminded us of a cabin on a cross channel ferry! Two smallish twin beds, no hanging space or storage space either. The bathroom (or wet space) was sufficient. Located up the hill from the village it is a great place to explore the area.

Room Tip: There seemed to be double rooms which would give you more space?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juzag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abisko
0.2 mi away
Abisko Guesthouse
Abisko Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Abisko
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
1.5 mi away
STF Abisko Mountain Station
17.9 mi away
Katterjokk
Katterjokk
#1 of 5 in Riksgransen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Gammelgarden Ski Lodge
Gammelgarden Ski Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bjorkliden
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
18.8 mi away
STF Hostel Riksgransen
STF Hostel Riksgransen
#2 of 5 in Riksgransen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abisko Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abisko Mountain Lodge

Property: Abisko Mountain Lodge
Address: Lapportsvagen 30, Abisko 981 07, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Norrbotten County > Abisko
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Abisko
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abisko Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Abisko Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abisko Mountain Hotel Abisko

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing